Brando, why would you leave 1 inf in each territory? The only ones that matter are rostov and Baltic States. You will lose 6 ipcs in units for not much gain in epl/bess.
I leave 1 Inf in each territory, so the Axis/enemy can’t just walk in. Inf have a 33% chance of a hit. Prevents a country from just taking a territory w/1 Inf. Usually the attacking country has to attack w/2 ground units, just in case your Inf gets a hit. Also prevents the enemy from sending just one ground unit on a long walk across your territories(i.e. when Japan starts marching across the Soviet Far East). I don’t always do this. Like in China, I consolidate the Chinese Inf whenever possible. But in Russia, I always try to leave at least 1 Inf in each territory. One thing to point out, I don’t leave 1 Inf in each territory, unless the enemy has a chance to take that territory.
Because they only have a 33% chance to hit, I would not want to risk giving away nearly free infantry kills to Germany unless they are defending something valuable. Each infantry you put in his way is 1 less body defending something critical for a 33% chance to kill 1 thing.
It’s not just a 33% chance of killing something. It’s making the enemy commit more than 1 Inf/1 ground unit to take the territory How would this hurt a country like germany that will have mechs constantly reinforcing and the positioning does not screw him?. Maybe you didn’t read my entire post. Again, I don’t always leave 1 Inf behind in each territory(i.e. China and other territories) Japan can just send 1 inf and air, it really won’t hurt him if he wants to.. However, leaving 1 Inf behind on such things as islands, even 1 IPC islands. Your enemy would most likely have to commit at least 2 ground units to take the islandIt depends on the value of the island and the likelihood he/she would go for it.. Therefore, forcing your opponent to commit more resources to take territories and have less units to use elsewhere. I understand what you mean, but this is also a game of economics and efficiency. If your opponent does not need to go for it, or is not even affected by it, the one infantry won’t be an issue.Like I said in my explanation, Soviet Far East is a good example. There are 13 IPC’s from Soviet Far East to Vologda/Samara. If your strategy is to leave these unguarded for Japan to just take w/1 Inf, then go for it. In my opinion, over the 26 years I’ve played A&A, it’s the wrong stategySince russia can easily stop japan from taking it unless Japan commits more to the front, it really is not an issue. Also, with mongolia, it won’t be unguarded.
Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2)
-
Yeah, I’ve already offered them a retreat, but they insisted they could lose and remain in the SZ, under the cover of an airbase.
Thanks for the quick reply.
-
I have a question concerning neutrals. It’s been asked before but I can’t find it.
What if
- UK has several fighters on United Kingdom;
- the airbase on United Kingdom is operative; and
- the Germans launch an amphibious assault on Eire from SZ109.
Can the UK scramble to SZ109?
And what if (hypothetically) Eire was originally a strict Neutral that became pro-ally because the Axis attacked another true Neutral such as Sweden?
And what if (hypothetically) Eire was originally a strict Neutral that was unsuccesfully attacked in a previous turn, and was now again under attack?
-
I have a question concerning neutrals. It’s been asked before but I can’t find it.
What if
- UK has several fighters on United Kingdom;
- the airbase on United Kingdom is operative; and
- the Germans launch an amphibious assault on Eire from SZ109.
Can the UK scramble to SZ109?
Definitely yes
And what if (hypothetically) Eire was originally a strict Neutral that became pro-ally because the Axis attacked another true Neutral such as Sweden?
No difference
And what if (hypothetically) Eire was originally a strict Neutral that was unsuccessfully attacked in a previous turn, and was now again under attack?
No difference. In all 3 examples, Eire is pro-Allies. You didn’t even make me look up whether you can scramble to defend a strict neutral, which could possibly happen. I’m not 100% sure off hand, btw, but I’m thinking you can. So basically you can act to stop any combat action by your enemies
-
All right, thanks: friendly nations can be assisted with scrambles.
I’m still wondering about a 4th case, inspired by Gamerman’s comment.
- Can a strict neutral be assisted with a scramble? For example, the UK has an airfield on Cairo and the Japanese attack Saudi Arabia, the 1st attack on a strict neutral during that game.
The rulebook states that air units can be scrambled to help friendly units. So my question can also be interpreted as: does a strict neutral become friendly to the other side the instant an attack is declared against it during the Combat-Move-Phase.
-
I know Krieghund has answered this before but I must not have made a note in my rulebook. I will try a search of this thread now, and there’s a good chance I can find it - hang on
Eh - not finding it, I guess we need him to answer it again
-
From the 2nd Edition Europe Rulebook, page 11:
Strict neutrals are treated in exactly the same way as unfriendly neutrals, with one exception. An attack by either alliance on a strict neutral territory (whether successful or not) will result in all remaining strict neutrals immediately becoming pro-Allies or pro-Axis, depending on who violated the strict neutral’s neutrality.
So, yes, they are treated in the same way for this purpose.
-
Thank you both, Krieghund and Gamerman. It seems the rules can still mystify me in cases that don’t happen very often. :-)
-
I’m the US and I want to attack Spain with a large landing force. May I load one transport with an infantry and an AA gun, send that transport during the combat movement phase where the infantry exits on shore during the amphibious assault, and in the non combat movement phase… can I unload the AA gun from the same transport that landed an infantry earlier?
-
@Young:
I’m the US and I want to attack Spain with a large landing force. May I load one transport with an infantry and an AA gun, send that transport during the combat movement phase where the infantry exits on shore during the amphibious assault, and in the non combat movement phase… can I unload the AA gun from the same transport that landed an infantry earlier?
I have no citation from the rule book, but one from earlier in this thread.
http://www.axisandallies.org/forums/index.php?topic=28562.msg1027632#msg1027632Maybe this helps, maybe not :-D
-
@Young:
I’m the US and I want to attack Spain with a large landing force. May I load one transport with an infantry and an AA gun, send that transport during the combat movement phase where the infantry exits on shore during the amphibious assault, and in the non combat movement phase… can I unload the AA gun from the same transport that landed an infantry earlier?
I don’t believe so, because that would required loading the AA gun onto the transport during combat movement, and I thought AA guns are not allowed to move during combat movement unless already loaded onto a transport.
Marsh
-
Marshmallow’s right about not being able to load AA during the combat move, but even if it had been previously loaded on an earlier turn you can’t unload an infantry during amphibious assault and the AAA later on the noncombat movement.
Once a transport moves or unloads, it is DONE for the turn
-
Thanks for the clarification.
-
I want to upgrade a minor IC to a Major IC in Kiangsu. Can I build units in the IC and then upgrade same turn? Can upgrade and then place more than 3 units in the same turn?
-
I want to upgrade a minor IC to a Major IC in Kiangsu. Can I build units in the IC and then upgrade same turn? Can upgrade and then place more than 3 units in the same turn?
This is against the rules. As Kiangsu is originally controlled by China:
@rulebook:
A minor industrial complex can be upgraded to a major one at
a cost of 20 IPCs. The industrial complex to be upgraded must be located on an originally controlled (not captured) territory
that you have controlled since the beginning of your turn and that has an IPC value of 3 or higher.Upgrading factories takes place in the “Mobilize New Units”-Phase, see:
@rulebook:
The number of combat (land, air, or sea) units that can be
produced by each industrial complex each turn is limited
to 10 for major industrial complexes and 3 for minor ones.
(If you are upgrading a minor industrial complex to a major
one, you may still only mobilize up to 3 combat units from
that industrial complex this turn.)HTH :-)
-
Thanks for your answers.
I thought since it was Japan controlled since the start of the game that it didn’t apply, but I see your point.
Then I need to come up with a different plan… ;)
-
Yes, we all also had to get the same clarification in the past (from Krieghund, which is official)
What was meant by originally controlled, was what is printed on the map board.
So the only major complex Japan can legally build, is on Korea -
I thought since it was Japan controlled since the start of the game that it didn’t apply, but I see your point.
Tricky, indeed… Kiangsu is a Chinese territory that Japan has captured before the game begins.
It is the (Chinese) emblem printed on the map that is relevant here.Enjoy your game :-)
-
Hah! Glad to know I’m not the only one making this faulty assumption. :)
Thanks! I think I’ll still beat him… Just have to get creative on the other side of the rules! :-D
-
For this clarification, see page 8 of either the Europe or Pacific Rulebook:
When the rules refer to the “original controller†of a territory, they mean the power whose emblem is printed on the territory. All other spaces are neutral and are not aligned with any power.
-
My friend is attempting t take the Money Islands with the US.
I thought only UK and ANZAC may do that?