@Krieghund:
…
Sorry, P@nther, but that’s incorrect. The attacker cannot retreat, as the battle is over. From page 20 of the Europe Rulebook (italics are mine):
Once all units that can either fire at a valid target or retreat on one or both sides have been destroyed, the combat ends.
The text in my rulebook is different, Sir! It says:
@rulebook:
Once all units that can either fire or retreat on one or both
sides have been destroyed, the combat ends.
It’s the same text in my Pacific 1940 2nd Edition rulebook.
And there is no such addition in the latest FAQ (Nov. 24, 2014), either.
When did the “at a valid target” get in?
Are there any other changes we are possibly not aware of?