Brando, why would you leave 1 inf in each territory? The only ones that matter are rostov and Baltic States. You will lose 6 ipcs in units for not much gain in epl/bess.
I leave 1 Inf in each territory, so the Axis/enemy can’t just walk in. Inf have a 33% chance of a hit. Prevents a country from just taking a territory w/1 Inf. Usually the attacking country has to attack w/2 ground units, just in case your Inf gets a hit. Also prevents the enemy from sending just one ground unit on a long walk across your territories(i.e. when Japan starts marching across the Soviet Far East). I don’t always do this. Like in China, I consolidate the Chinese Inf whenever possible. But in Russia, I always try to leave at least 1 Inf in each territory. One thing to point out, I don’t leave 1 Inf in each territory, unless the enemy has a chance to take that territory.
Because they only have a 33% chance to hit, I would not want to risk giving away nearly free infantry kills to Germany unless they are defending something valuable. Each infantry you put in his way is 1 less body defending something critical for a 33% chance to kill 1 thing.
It’s not just a 33% chance of killing something. It’s making the enemy commit more than 1 Inf/1 ground unit to take the territory How would this hurt a country like germany that will have mechs constantly reinforcing and the positioning does not screw him?. Maybe you didn’t read my entire post. Again, I don’t always leave 1 Inf behind in each territory(i.e. China and other territories) Japan can just send 1 inf and air, it really won’t hurt him if he wants to.. However, leaving 1 Inf behind on such things as islands, even 1 IPC islands. Your enemy would most likely have to commit at least 2 ground units to take the islandIt depends on the value of the island and the likelihood he/she would go for it.. Therefore, forcing your opponent to commit more resources to take territories and have less units to use elsewhere. I understand what you mean, but this is also a game of economics and efficiency. If your opponent does not need to go for it, or is not even affected by it, the one infantry won’t be an issue.Like I said in my explanation, Soviet Far East is a good example. There are 13 IPC’s from Soviet Far East to Vologda/Samara. If your strategy is to leave these unguarded for Japan to just take w/1 Inf, then go for it. In my opinion, over the 26 years I’ve played A&A, it’s the wrong stategySince russia can easily stop japan from taking it unless Japan commits more to the front, it really is not an issue. Also, with mongolia, it won’t be unguarded.
Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2)
-
@P@nther:
At the beginning of the game Germany and Italy are already allied and both at war.
Germany may move units into Italian territories right from the beginning (and vice versa).When Italy captures a Russian territory this territory becomes Italian.
So Germany may move units into this Italian territory.HTH :-)
Thought as much. Just wanted to be sure :P.
-
Great clarification here. I don’t think this has ever happened for me though.
It’s pretty hard to find something not already considered in the rules!
Yeah, I’m with you
Up voteI had to insert a comment into my PDF copy of the rules because it’s one of those things I’m pretty sure I’ll forget by the time it ever comes up again
-
Yes, thank you to everyone, it was a question from one of my YouTube subscribers that made me think deeper and question the retreat options in that situation.
-
Can the Flying Tigers (the Chinese plane) overfly the sea zones adjacent to China?
@A&A:
At the beginning of the game, China has a United States fighter unit located on the map. This represents the American volunteer group the Flying Tigers. This fighter is considered part of the Chinese forces for purposes of movement and combat. It cannot leave the territories that Chinese occupation is restricted to, even to attack and return. If it is destroyed, the US player cannot replace this fighter unit for China.
I think they can’t (fly over the sea), but I’m not entirely sure. Does movement that starts in Chinese territory and ends in Chinese territory actually constitute “leaving” Chinese territory when it uses a sea zone? I’m not talking attack-and-return, which is clearly excluded by the rules, and would indeed require a combat move out of Chinese territory - but I wonder about normal movement.
It’s hardly ever relevant in practical play of course, but it would shorten the distance between Manchuria and Kiangsu or Kwantung. -
Chinese fighter absolutely cannot ever fly over sea - only Chinese land + Hong Kong and Burma
Rule says “It cannot leave the territories that Chinese occupation is restricted to”
-
Thank you…. though the rule isn’t 100% clear to me, because the concept of “leaving” isn’t really described in the rules. Anyway, it implies that Manchuria to Kiangsu is a distance of 3 to the Chinese plane, and 2 to all other planes.
Thanks for the confirmation. -
Any time
Leaving means…… leaving. At all
-
Can a transport that was already loaded with 2 inf from the turn before amphibious assault and only unload one of the inf? I know if you load them during combat phase and attack they both have to unload, but these were pre-loaded from the turn before.
-
Can a transport that was already loaded with 2 inf from the turn before amphibious assault and only unload one of the inf? I know if you load them during combat phase and attack they both have to unload, but these were pre-loaded from the turn before.
See
@rulebook:
During an amphibious assault, a transport must either
offload all units that were loaded during the Combat
Move phase or retreat during sea combat. It can also
offload any number of units owned by the transport’s
power that were already on board at the start of the turn.HTH :-)
-
Actual game situation in TripleA lobby:
Allied navy with shipping of many nations (US and UK carriers with planes and supporting BB, Cruisers and DD; ANZAC Cruiser; French DD; UK and US Transports; Russian Inf on UK transport) in SZ 95.
No Russian shipping.
No Italian ships.
Russian turn; Russian inf unloads onto Sicily, no defenders.
Three Italian fighters in southern Italy.Can the Italian fighters scramble? We think not, as the shipping is not involved in the battle (it is the Russian turn).
TripleA gave the option to do so. Scramble declined for above reason.If scramble is allowed who do they attack? just the UK Transport with the Russian Inf? Its not the UK turn.
Can we get an OFFICIAL ruling from Gamerman01 or Krieghund or another rules deputy.
Thank you
-
Actual game situation in TripleA lobby:
Allied navy with shipping of many nations (US and UK carriers with planes and supporting BB, Cruisers and DD; ANZAC Cruiser; French DD; UK and US Transports; Russian Inf on UK transport) in SZ 95.
No Russian shipping.
No Italian ships.
Russian turn; Russian inf unloads onto Sicily, no defenders.
Three Italian fighters in southern Italy.Can the Italian fighters scramble? We think not, as the shipping is not involved in the battle (it is the Russian turn).
TripleA gave the option to do so. Scramble declined for above reason.If scramble is allowed who do they attack? just the UK Transport with the Russian Inf? Its not the UK turn.
Can we get an OFFICIAL ruling from Gamerman01 or Krieghund or another rules deputy.
Thank you
Please see the Official FAQ:
@Official:
Scrambling
Q. Say the United Kingdom launches an amphibious assault from a US transport without any
supporting UK sea or air units in the sea zone, and then the defender scrambles. What
happens?
A. In effect, nothing happens. The US transport doesn’t participate in the sea battle because it’s not the
US’s turn. Since there are no attacking sea or air units, there is no sea battle. However, the sea zone
can’t be cleared of defending combat units, so the amphibious assault can’t proceed.So yes, the Italians may scramble. If doing so, the Russians may not unload from the UK Transport.
That’s all.HTH :-)
(Edit: two typos)
-
Clear and concise.
Makes sense – now.Thanks P@nther
-
Thanks, P@nther
-
Gotta a question from a youtube subscriber and wanted to pass it on here…
I’m confused on the submarine rules of the game regarding sneak attacks had a game where in a sea battle my brother had a bunch of subs and i brought in subs couple destroyers planes battleships and a couple of cruisers. Now i know my destroyers negated his subs ability to submerge or sneak attack and allowed my planes to fire at his subs but the way the rules read because i had destroyers in the fight it also negated my ability to submerge or sneak attack him even though he had no destroyers… Because in the book it says if the opposing side has a destroyer in the battle the attacking or defending subs can’t submerge or sneak attack… So does that mean because i had destroyers and he didn’t my subs can still sneak attack and submerge and his can’t or does that mean because i had destroyers in the battle and he didn’t that neither of us can submerge or sneak attack because the wording of that paragraph makes no sense to me because why would my own destroyers negate my subs abilities but the way its written looks like it would_
-
@Young:
because i had destroyers and he didn’t my subs can still sneak attack and submerge and his can’t
This is correct
-
To clarify, the rule in question (on page 19 of the Europe Rulebook) says, “However, if the opposing side has a destroyer in the battle, the attacking or defending submarines can’t submerge or make a Surprise Strike.”
“Opposing side” refers to the defender where the attacker concerned and to the attacker where the defender is concerned. Therefore, attacking subs can’t submerge or make a Surprise Strike when the defender has a destroyer, and defending subs can’t submerge or make a Surprise Strike when the attacker has a destroyer.
Hope this helps.
-
Thanks for that guys, I have passed on your comments.
-
I’m making some cards as a game aid to remember the turn sequence and other things that happen during a turn. Would this list “technically” be correct?
1. Research & Development (Optional)
2. Purchase new units
3. Repair damaged units
- facilities
- capital ships
4. All air units take off
5. Combat movement phase
6. Scramble defending air units
7. Resolve Combat
- strategic bombing raids
- amphibious assaults
- general combat
8. Non-combat movement
9. Mobilize new units
10. All air units land
11. Collect income
12. Conduct convoy disruptions -
#2 and #3 Purchase and repair should be together (are simultaneous)
#4 and #10 are confusing
If you want to make it clear that defender planes have to be landed before the turn owner’s non-com is done, put it right before #8
#6 add kamikazes
#7 YES
#11 and #12 are simultaneous and should be together -
I find that it helps new players to separate and breakdown actions as long as it doesn’t effect game play. I moved the repair damaged units ahead of purchase new units because an IC likely gets fixed before purchasing new units, but I understand keeping them together if you’re playing with the “can’t go back once a phase is finished or has been skipped” rule. However, getting convoyed before or after collecting your income can’t have too much of an effect, I just think it’s important to help new players remember what can happen throughout a single turn sequence. About #4 & #11… you would be surprised how many new players believe that air units on carriers must move with the carriers, they also forget that planes can land on new carriers, or new planes can land on existing carriers.
1. Research & Development (Optional)
2. Repair damaged units
- facilities
- capital ships
3. Purchase new units
4. All air units take off
5. Combat movement phase
6. Scramble defending air units
7. Deploy Kamikaze tokens
8. Resolve Combat
- strategic bombing raids
- amphibious assaults
- general combat
9. Non-combat movement
10. Mobilize new units
11. All air units land
12. Collect income
13. Conduct convoy disruptions





