Brando, why would you leave 1 inf in each territory? The only ones that matter are rostov and Baltic States. You will lose 6 ipcs in units for not much gain in epl/bess.
I leave 1 Inf in each territory, so the Axis/enemy can’t just walk in. Inf have a 33% chance of a hit. Prevents a country from just taking a territory w/1 Inf. Usually the attacking country has to attack w/2 ground units, just in case your Inf gets a hit. Also prevents the enemy from sending just one ground unit on a long walk across your territories(i.e. when Japan starts marching across the Soviet Far East). I don’t always do this. Like in China, I consolidate the Chinese Inf whenever possible. But in Russia, I always try to leave at least 1 Inf in each territory. One thing to point out, I don’t leave 1 Inf in each territory, unless the enemy has a chance to take that territory.
Because they only have a 33% chance to hit, I would not want to risk giving away nearly free infantry kills to Germany unless they are defending something valuable. Each infantry you put in his way is 1 less body defending something critical for a 33% chance to kill 1 thing.
It’s not just a 33% chance of killing something. It’s making the enemy commit more than 1 Inf/1 ground unit to take the territory How would this hurt a country like germany that will have mechs constantly reinforcing and the positioning does not screw him?. Maybe you didn’t read my entire post. Again, I don’t always leave 1 Inf behind in each territory(i.e. China and other territories) Japan can just send 1 inf and air, it really won’t hurt him if he wants to.. However, leaving 1 Inf behind on such things as islands, even 1 IPC islands. Your enemy would most likely have to commit at least 2 ground units to take the islandIt depends on the value of the island and the likelihood he/she would go for it.. Therefore, forcing your opponent to commit more resources to take territories and have less units to use elsewhere. I understand what you mean, but this is also a game of economics and efficiency. If your opponent does not need to go for it, or is not even affected by it, the one infantry won’t be an issue.Like I said in my explanation, Soviet Far East is a good example. There are 13 IPC’s from Soviet Far East to Vologda/Samara. If your strategy is to leave these unguarded for Japan to just take w/1 Inf, then go for it. In my opinion, over the 26 years I’ve played A&A, it’s the wrong stategySince russia can easily stop japan from taking it unless Japan commits more to the front, it really is not an issue. Also, with mongolia, it won’t be unguarded.
Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2)
-
@Young:
On turn 2, Italy DOW on Russia by attacking and controlling Bessarabia with 1 infantry unit remaining. On turn 3, Germany moves 10 infantry and 10 tanks into Italy controlled Bessarabia while still neutral with Russia.
It is now Russia’s turn in round 3 and they have 1 Italian infantry in Bessarabia (whom they are at war with) along with 20 German units (whom they are not permitted to attack)… what are Russia’s options?
Russia must declare war on Germany to attack Bessarabia. You can never attack only part of the land units in a territory - it is only at sea where you can ignore units of powers with which you are not at war. On land you must be at war with everyone you are attacking - the territory owner, and the owner of any units in the territory.
Thanks, is there a page number where I can find this? I read page 15 of the Europe book, but it was not clear about Russia being able to attack Germany before turn 4 if Germany has not DOW against Russia.
-
Page 36 of the Europe rulebook, under the Global Rules section, says:
“The Soviet Union may not declare war on any European Axis power before turn 4 unless first declared war upon by a European Axis power or London is captured by an Axis power.”
Thus, since Italy declared war on Russia to take Bessarabia, the Russians can declare war on Germany.
-
Page 15, blue box, combat paragraph, first sentence
-
Perfect, thank’s guys.
-
A really quick question!!!
Is the second edition the standard rule for Global play? Me + friends are meeting up to play, and this is our first global game in years… (I have the first edition game).
Thank you!
-
It is probably better balanced playing te second edition, as Japan had lost about 8 Air units. If you can download the rules and set up, play with the newer ones.
Have fun. -
@wittmann:
It is probably better balanced playing te second edition, as Japan had lost about 8 Air units. If you can download the rules and set up, play with the newer ones.
Have fun.Thank you, I will start printing the rules/setup^! (found here : http://www.axisandallies.org/forums/index.php?topic=28703.0)
-
You definitely want 2nd edition rules and setup
It is superior in every way, except the Mongolia rules can be confusing -
@Young:
On turn 2, Italy DOW on Russia by attacking and controlling Bessarabia with 1 infantry unit remaining. On turn 3, Germany moves 10 infantry and 10 tanks into Italy controlled Bessarabia while still neutral with Russia.
It is now Russia’s turn in round 3 and they have 1 Italian infantry in Bessarabia (whom they are at war with) along with 20 German units (whom they are not permitted to attack)… what are Russia’s options?
Russia must declare war on Germany to attack Bessarabia. You can never attack only part of the land units in a territory - it is only at sea where you can ignore units of powers with which you are not at war. On land you must be at war with everyone you are attacking - the territory owner, and the owner of any units in the territory.
How can Germany move into Bessa if they’re not at war with Russia? Because it’s Italian now? That doesn’t seem to make sense to me because it was originally Russian.
Separate question: Is the US allowed to move it’s Philippine and Hawaii navies into the sea zone off Queensland (sea zone 54) on round 1 or is that prohibited by the “Powers not at war with one another” blue box that restricts the US from Japanese areas? US couldn’t use the naval base, but can it still be in that sea zone on the way to Philippines or somewhere else?
-
How can Germany move into Bessa if they’re not at war with Russia? Because it’s Italian now?
Yes.
That doesn’t seem to make sense to me because it was originally Russian.
Doesn’t matter. It’s Italian now.
Separate question: Is the US allowed to move it’s Philippine and Hawaii navies into the sea zone off Queensland (sea zone 54) on round 1 or is that prohibited by the “Powers not at war with one another” blue box that restricts the US from Japanese areas? US couldn’t use the naval base, but can it still be in that sea zone on the way to Philippines or somewhere else?
Yes, you can move the navy anywhere that doesn’t border a Japanese holding. Again, original doesn’t matter - it’s current only
Can’t use the naval base of Australia because Australia is not an ally of the USA yet, right.
-
Paris, France is captured by Germany. Since the French capital has been captured, can an Allied power move a land unit into any French territory during “Non-Combat”, place a control marker on it and take the IPC from that territory?
Based on the rule book it appears that the French territory would need to be captured by an Axis power first before an Allied power can liberate it and then take the IPC value. But, the rule book seems a bit vague; looking for clarification.
-
Paris, France is captured by Germany. Since the French capital has been captured, can an Allied power move a land unit into any French territory during “Non-Combat”, place a control marker on it and take the IPC from that territory?
No. Same as any Ally whose capital is under enemy control, you can’t convert their territories to your own (can’t take control).
You need the Axis to take control of it, and then you can. Quirky, but A&A has been played this way since the beginning, more than 30 years running.
Based on the rule book it appears that the French territory would need to be captured by an Axis power first before an Allied power can liberate it and then take the IPC value. But, the rule book seems a bit vague; looking for clarification.
Oh, yes, that’s right.
-
Maybe worth mentioning:
Dutch territories are the special exception. Only Britain/ANZAC can move in on a non-com phase and take control of the territory. The US can’t do it, nor can the French or Russians if your game got super weird. The Dutch territories are still 100% allied territories though, as if they belonged to a power with their capital taken, so you can land planes on them if they are still Dutch-controlled without issue.
-
All well said, but we have learned that the Dutch territory in South America can NOT be taken over by UK/ANZ :-P
-
Well, that may be. Damn!
But you can still land planes there as if it were an allied nation from the start of the game.
Now, why exactly you’d ever want to do that, or why you’d want a facility there when you have the ton of other options, I don’t know.
-
Airbase protection of fleet, or naval base, perhaps
Stranger things have happened -
Maybe if you just wanted to hurt British Guiana’s feelings, I guess?
-
Throw out the welcome mat and hope the Axis captures it so you can take it back. Then the Americans can take control :evil:
-
Hi Yall,
so, I still can’t use the search function of this site, and so I didn’t search up that question either, but oh how i tried^^
So I play TripleA a lot and I just noticed, that in the notes to the g40.2 map it says:
“(PE) Transports can only be loaded in 1 phase (not both), and unloaded in 1 phase (not both).”
the (PE) standing for player-enforced.But my understanding was, that one could load and unload a transport during combat move phase.
Which one is correct?
Thanks
The Odor
-
You’re both right, you just misinterpreted the Triple A note
It means you can’t load in the combat movement phase and then unload in the non-combat phase and that you can’t unload one ground unit in one phase and another unit from the transport in a different phase