Brando, why would you leave 1 inf in each territory? The only ones that matter are rostov and Baltic States. You will lose 6 ipcs in units for not much gain in epl/bess.
I leave 1 Inf in each territory, so the Axis/enemy can’t just walk in. Inf have a 33% chance of a hit. Prevents a country from just taking a territory w/1 Inf. Usually the attacking country has to attack w/2 ground units, just in case your Inf gets a hit. Also prevents the enemy from sending just one ground unit on a long walk across your territories(i.e. when Japan starts marching across the Soviet Far East). I don’t always do this. Like in China, I consolidate the Chinese Inf whenever possible. But in Russia, I always try to leave at least 1 Inf in each territory. One thing to point out, I don’t leave 1 Inf in each territory, unless the enemy has a chance to take that territory.
Because they only have a 33% chance to hit, I would not want to risk giving away nearly free infantry kills to Germany unless they are defending something valuable. Each infantry you put in his way is 1 less body defending something critical for a 33% chance to kill 1 thing.
It’s not just a 33% chance of killing something. It’s making the enemy commit more than 1 Inf/1 ground unit to take the territory How would this hurt a country like germany that will have mechs constantly reinforcing and the positioning does not screw him?. Maybe you didn’t read my entire post. Again, I don’t always leave 1 Inf behind in each territory(i.e. China and other territories) Japan can just send 1 inf and air, it really won’t hurt him if he wants to.. However, leaving 1 Inf behind on such things as islands, even 1 IPC islands. Your enemy would most likely have to commit at least 2 ground units to take the islandIt depends on the value of the island and the likelihood he/she would go for it.. Therefore, forcing your opponent to commit more resources to take territories and have less units to use elsewhere. I understand what you mean, but this is also a game of economics and efficiency. If your opponent does not need to go for it, or is not even affected by it, the one infantry won’t be an issue.Like I said in my explanation, Soviet Far East is a good example. There are 13 IPC’s from Soviet Far East to Vologda/Samara. If your strategy is to leave these unguarded for Japan to just take w/1 Inf, then go for it. In my opinion, over the 26 years I’ve played A&A, it’s the wrong stategySince russia can easily stop japan from taking it unless Japan commits more to the front, it really is not an issue. Also, with mongolia, it won’t be unguarded.
Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2)
-
That’s correct. However, it may also refer to the fact that carriers cost 16 IPCs in LHTR.
-
thanks for the answers. We’ll go ahead and use those rules.
-
Whether its Europe or global, if Germany makes an attack on Russia, sea or land units, Russia automatically enters the war, correct?
And, when at war, does an axis Sub prevent Russia from collecting the SZ 125 N.O? -
Answering for global only,
You have to declare war on a power to attack any of its things or take its territory.
When Russia is at war, any Axis sub in 125 disrupts the Russian NO, yes, even if Russia is not at war with the power who owns the sub. -
What happens to the IPC’s if you lose your capital but on your turn you take a capital? Example: UK takes Berlin but on Germany’s turn they take Moscow.
-
What happens to the IPC’s if you lose your capital but on your turn you take a capital? Example: UK takes Berlin but on Germany’s turn they take Moscow.
Germany will get Russia’s cash.
@rulebook:
Capturing and Liberating Capitals
If a power captures a territory containing an enemy
capital (Washington, London, Moscow, etc.), follow the
same rules as for capturing a territory. Add the captured
territory’s income value to your national production level.
In addition, you collect all unspent IPCs from the treasury
of the original controller of the captured capital. For
example, if Germany conquers Russia, and the Soviet
Union has unspent IPCs, those IPCs are immediately
transferred to Germany’s player. You collect these IPCs
even if your own capital is in enemy hands. -
- Can a lone transport load ground units if an enemy sub is present in the sz during the non combat phase?
I know they can’t during the combat phase without another naval unit present. Right? Would a sub count?
- A German tank enters an empty french owned Normandy during the combat phase. It cannot blitz because the facilities prevent this correct?
3)I know tanks can blitz through unoccupied hostile territory to another territory but that all takes place during the combat phase. A tank or mech can never move during the combat phase and the non combat phase correct? Thank you.
-
- Can a lone transport load ground units if an enemy sub is present in the sz during the non combat phase?
Yes. Could do it in the combat phase too.
I know they can’t during the combat phase without another naval unit present. Right? Would a sub count?
No, this is not for LOADING but for UNLOADING that a sub stops unescorted transports. The sub has to be in the sea zone that the amphibious assault would be launched from. A sub counts as escort, as does a carrier.
- A German tank enters an empty french owned Normandy during the combat phase. It cannot blitz because the facilities prevent this correct?
Correct, facilities and AAA guns prevent blitzing.
3)I know tanks can blitz through unoccupied hostile territory to another territory but that all takes place during the combat phase. A tank or mech can never move during the combat phase and the non combat phase correct? Thank you.
Correct. A tank may complete a blitzing move into a friendly territory on the 2nd move, all during the combat phase. Actually, that’s when it MUST move to the friendly territory, if it is to do so
-
In the A&A P40 FAQ from wizards.com one of the errata says:
" (…) Following any such unprovoked declaration of war by Japan, the United States will receive an immediate one-time bonus payment of 30
IPCs, representing the total mobilization and transfer of military assets within the continental United States."Does this apply to AAG40 aswell?
-
No, FADM. That is only on Pacific. The standard at war NOs count in Global.
That special 30 was introduced, as it was found Japan could sneak the US and capture its capital. Is for balance in Pacific only. -
Was not only because of a rush at San Francisco, but because J1 was the no-brainer DOW turn without it. And the game being imbalanced toward Japan in general. It was introduced to fix all of those factors, in my understanding.
-
How does the French DOW on Japan work? Can France declare war on Japan at anytime? Does that have a bearing on any of the other Pacific combatants or Japan’s prewar NO?
-
so the payment is done immediate after DOW from Japan. Then on the Collect Income phase USA gets it’s normal NO. Am i getting it right?
@wittmann:
No, FADM. That is only on Pacific. The standard at war NOs count in Global.
That special 30 was introduced, as it was found Japan could sneak the US and capture its capital. Is for balance in Pacific only. -
No, he’s saying that in the G40 game, there’s no payment for the USA when Japan declares war. The USA just gets to start collecting its NO bonuses during USA’s collect income phase.
cond1024, if I recall correctly, France can declare war on Japan whenever it wants to, but it has no bearing on anything else.
-
sorry I meant it AAP 2nd. as per the prior question.
No, he’s saying that in the G40 game, there’s no payment for the USA when Japan declares war. The USA just gets to start collecting its NO bonuses during USA’s collect income phase.
cond1024, if I recall correctly, France can declare war on Japan whenever it wants to, but it has no bearing on anything else.
-
so the payment is done immediate after DOW from Japan. Then on the Collect Income phase USA gets it’s normal NO. Am i getting it right?
Yes. The immediate payment is in addition to USA NO
(Note to all - this is a P40 question in the G40 thread)
-
How does the French DOW on Japan work? Can France declare war on Japan at anytime? Does that have a bearing on any of the other Pacific combatants or Japan’s prewar NO?
French DOW has no effect except that France is at war with Japan (and therefore Japan cannot ignore the French destroyer)
Beware NOT declaring war with France - players have depended on the French destroyer to block an assault on India in the early going while neglecting to declare war with France. You don’t want that to happen to you.
Japan can also declare war on France with no other effects. Note that it takes an ATTACK on FIC to end the 10 IPC NO, the declaration alone doesn’t do it. It is possible for Japan to sink the French destroyer and still collect this NO for trade with USA.
-
If southern Italy is captured (the Capital) can Germany then move into Northern Italy and collect the 4 ipc’s? That is until Italy’s capital is liberated.
-
If southern Italy is captured (the Capital) can Germany then move into Northern Italy and collect the 4 ipc’s? That is until Italy’s capital is liberated.
If the allies take Northern Italy and Southern Italy and Germany liberates Northern Italy after that, it becomes German (like any other country: if a territory is retaken and the original capital is taken by the enemy the territory becomes of the party that took it).
-
If southern Italy is captured (the Capital) can Germany then move into Northern Italy and collect the 4 ipc’s? That is until Italy’s capital is liberated.
Yes, and so could Japan :-)
Also, Germany can use the facilities on North Italy, which would include the minor IC