Our gaming group has come to the conclusion that some bid is needed to balance the game for the Allies. In reading through the posts it seems to me that the general consensus is that the Allies need a bid of about 9-12.
My questions are:
Is a bid of 9-12 the current and reasonable amount? As we will not want to bid for a particular side, we will set a certain bid point for each game and then let people choose which side they want to be as some Players enjoy playing particular Powers. So what is a fair bid?My group usually goes 10-15, some where in the ball park of 8 to 14 is what everyone does.
Is this bid added as starting income to be spent on Turn 1?What Siparo said.
Is this bid added as units and money such as the Revised FIDA bid?Never played revised, and what is FIDA? Another government agency?
Is this bid added as units on the board with remainders as starting money?Siparo doesn’t do it, but my group allows it.
For any units placed on the board are there any restrictions? For example:
a) Must have a unit already in the territory / sea zone?
b) May not place more than X number of units?My group has 3 rules:
1. Must be one unit per territory/seazone.
2. Can only be placed in a territory/seazone where you already have units occupying it.
3. Can only be a unit that power has access to (china can be inf and art only).I would appreciate your kind thoughts and comments. Thank you…
Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2)
-
Thanks!
-
Can I move land units from Greece into Turkey without a transport, pretty sure I can’t, but someone wants me to ask.
-
@Young:
Can I move land units from Greece into Turkey without a transport, pretty sure I can’t, but someone wants me to ask.
Yes you can walk from Greece to Turkey. Absolutely no transports needed.
-
@Young:
Can I move land units from Greece into Turkey without a transport, pretty sure I can’t, but someone wants me to ask.
Yes you can walk from Greece to Turkey. Absolutely no transports needed.
Ok, thanks for that… gonna have to edit my tutorial video. :-( my bad
-
Any time, YG
-
I know this isn’t the place to post this…but does anybody know what LHTR for carrier production rules are?
Some of us are going to play a team game of World at War and that’s a game option. And I’m not sure if we want that or not. -
I’m pretty sure it means that you can place fighters on new carriers. That didn’t use to be allowed. This would include newly purchased fighters and also existing fighters landing on new carriers. Back in the original, new carriers were always without planes because they weren’t allowed. I believe LHTR was to change that and allow planes
-
That’s correct. However, it may also refer to the fact that carriers cost 16 IPCs in LHTR.
-
thanks for the answers. We’ll go ahead and use those rules.
-
Whether its Europe or global, if Germany makes an attack on Russia, sea or land units, Russia automatically enters the war, correct?
And, when at war, does an axis Sub prevent Russia from collecting the SZ 125 N.O? -
Answering for global only,
You have to declare war on a power to attack any of its things or take its territory.
When Russia is at war, any Axis sub in 125 disrupts the Russian NO, yes, even if Russia is not at war with the power who owns the sub. -
What happens to the IPC’s if you lose your capital but on your turn you take a capital? Example: UK takes Berlin but on Germany’s turn they take Moscow.
-
What happens to the IPC’s if you lose your capital but on your turn you take a capital? Example: UK takes Berlin but on Germany’s turn they take Moscow.
Germany will get Russia’s cash.
@rulebook:
Capturing and Liberating Capitals
If a power captures a territory containing an enemy
capital (Washington, London, Moscow, etc.), follow the
same rules as for capturing a territory. Add the captured
territory’s income value to your national production level.
In addition, you collect all unspent IPCs from the treasury
of the original controller of the captured capital. For
example, if Germany conquers Russia, and the Soviet
Union has unspent IPCs, those IPCs are immediately
transferred to Germany’s player. You collect these IPCs
even if your own capital is in enemy hands. -
- Can a lone transport load ground units if an enemy sub is present in the sz during the non combat phase?
I know they can’t during the combat phase without another naval unit present. Right? Would a sub count?
- A German tank enters an empty french owned Normandy during the combat phase. It cannot blitz because the facilities prevent this correct?
3)I know tanks can blitz through unoccupied hostile territory to another territory but that all takes place during the combat phase. A tank or mech can never move during the combat phase and the non combat phase correct? Thank you.
-
- Can a lone transport load ground units if an enemy sub is present in the sz during the non combat phase?
Yes. Could do it in the combat phase too.
I know they can’t during the combat phase without another naval unit present. Right? Would a sub count?
No, this is not for LOADING but for UNLOADING that a sub stops unescorted transports. The sub has to be in the sea zone that the amphibious assault would be launched from. A sub counts as escort, as does a carrier.
- A German tank enters an empty french owned Normandy during the combat phase. It cannot blitz because the facilities prevent this correct?
Correct, facilities and AAA guns prevent blitzing.
3)I know tanks can blitz through unoccupied hostile territory to another territory but that all takes place during the combat phase. A tank or mech can never move during the combat phase and the non combat phase correct? Thank you.
Correct. A tank may complete a blitzing move into a friendly territory on the 2nd move, all during the combat phase. Actually, that’s when it MUST move to the friendly territory, if it is to do so
-
In the A&A P40 FAQ from wizards.com one of the errata says:
" (…) Following any such unprovoked declaration of war by Japan, the United States will receive an immediate one-time bonus payment of 30
IPCs, representing the total mobilization and transfer of military assets within the continental United States."Does this apply to AAG40 aswell?
-
No, FADM. That is only on Pacific. The standard at war NOs count in Global.
That special 30 was introduced, as it was found Japan could sneak the US and capture its capital. Is for balance in Pacific only. -
Was not only because of a rush at San Francisco, but because J1 was the no-brainer DOW turn without it. And the game being imbalanced toward Japan in general. It was introduced to fix all of those factors, in my understanding.
-
How does the French DOW on Japan work? Can France declare war on Japan at anytime? Does that have a bearing on any of the other Pacific combatants or Japan’s prewar NO?
-
so the payment is done immediate after DOW from Japan. Then on the Collect Income phase USA gets it’s normal NO. Am i getting it right?
@wittmann:
No, FADM. That is only on Pacific. The standard at war NOs count in Global.
That special 30 was introduced, as it was found Japan could sneak the US and capture its capital. Is for balance in Pacific only.