Our gaming group has come to the conclusion that some bid is needed to balance the game for the Allies. In reading through the posts it seems to me that the general consensus is that the Allies need a bid of about 9-12.
My questions are:
Is a bid of 9-12 the current and reasonable amount? As we will not want to bid for a particular side, we will set a certain bid point for each game and then let people choose which side they want to be as some Players enjoy playing particular Powers. So what is a fair bid?My group usually goes 10-15, some where in the ball park of 8 to 14 is what everyone does.
Is this bid added as starting income to be spent on Turn 1?What Siparo said.
Is this bid added as units and money such as the Revised FIDA bid?Never played revised, and what is FIDA? Another government agency?
Is this bid added as units on the board with remainders as starting money?Siparo doesn’t do it, but my group allows it.
For any units placed on the board are there any restrictions? For example:
a) Must have a unit already in the territory / sea zone?
b) May not place more than X number of units?My group has 3 rules:
1. Must be one unit per territory/seazone.
2. Can only be placed in a territory/seazone where you already have units occupying it.
3. Can only be a unit that power has access to (china can be inf and art only).I would appreciate your kind thoughts and comments. Thank you…
Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2)
-
Great. Thanks again!
-
One other quick question as I’m making my notes. With Industrial Complexes, Air Bases and Naval Bases, are you limited to the number of markers there are (like with the combat pieces such as planes and tanks etc) or if you run out of IC, AB and NB markers can you just substitute a cardboard piece, or something, if you want to keep building them. I checked the FAQ’s, the rules and did a search and I couldn’t find anything. We haven’t played G40 yet, maybe no one comes close to building that many IC’s or bases….
-
There is no limit, Napping Soldier. You can build as many as you like, but only one each per territory, of course.
-
You are not allowed to build naval bases in a territory with no access to a sea zone…
-
@wittmann:
, but only one each per territory, of course.
Yeah, I knew that part (and about the naval bases) but thanks for being thorough guys. :-)
-
Please help me understand this scenario:
Germany takes moscow and achieves 8 VCs. Russians follow by immediately taking Volgograd, but then Italy takes volg back during that same round. Now it’s Germany’s turn again, does axis achieve the win? Is this considered “controlling any 8 european VCs for a complete round of play”?
I’d appreciate a quick, authoritative reply as I’m in the middle of a game and need to know before continuing.
-
No…the axis don’t win. They won’t fulfill the vc requirement until Italy’s turn.
-
Walker is correct - must maintain 8 VC’s throughout a full round of play, in this case Italy to Italy
-
Guys, thank you for the quick reply! So then the TripleA version of global 1940 2nd ed has implemented it wrong then?
-
Yes, TripleA unfortunately implements many things wrong.
-
What else do you know is wrong?
-
https://docs.google.com/document/d/1cS3hFwoBP0rWr3208jw1LAtCvHYa9Ji9uU8PwbCMIwM/edit
My comprehensive list is here. Most of these are noted in the TripleA game notes now
I would be happy to answer any questions you have after reading this list
-
This is great. Thank you so much!
-
Hi guys - question re: Scrambles
scenario:
SZ 113 is being attacked by amphibious assault. A FTR and Carrier are brought in from UK, and transports carrying amphibious units are landing in Germany. SZ 113 is already occupied by US carrier as well. Germany scrambles 2 TAC from West Germany to defend SZ 113.
Now, do the US ships also participate in the defence against the scramble, or is it just the UK units?
Thanks!
-
Just the UK units.
-
Well that’s a dumb rule… So I could have an entire armada sitting off the coast but the scramble only attacks those units from one country? Yet another combined units gap in the rules!
-
Axis and Allies rules have always been that only one power attacks at a time.
The naval units are considered attackers. It just feels like the USA boats should be defending because of the scramble, but it’s just the UK attacking those scrambled units - the scrambled aircraft are defending -
If you forget to land your aircraft and a few turns passed…. do those air units crash n burn?
-
cow, it was uk pac and all you did was italy which had nothing to do with india or the entire pacific. when i got back to the pacific with anzac, thats when i realized the tripleA error.
-
I am actually curious what the official answer to this is. Because the rules contradict. Also if we do land planes where do we land them? Adjacent territory or player choice? It also contradicts the other rule that removes unlanded fighters from the game.