Brando, why would you leave 1 inf in each territory? The only ones that matter are rostov and Baltic States. You will lose 6 ipcs in units for not much gain in epl/bess.
I leave 1 Inf in each territory, so the Axis/enemy can’t just walk in. Inf have a 33% chance of a hit. Prevents a country from just taking a territory w/1 Inf. Usually the attacking country has to attack w/2 ground units, just in case your Inf gets a hit. Also prevents the enemy from sending just one ground unit on a long walk across your territories(i.e. when Japan starts marching across the Soviet Far East). I don’t always do this. Like in China, I consolidate the Chinese Inf whenever possible. But in Russia, I always try to leave at least 1 Inf in each territory. One thing to point out, I don’t leave 1 Inf in each territory, unless the enemy has a chance to take that territory.
Because they only have a 33% chance to hit, I would not want to risk giving away nearly free infantry kills to Germany unless they are defending something valuable. Each infantry you put in his way is 1 less body defending something critical for a 33% chance to kill 1 thing.
It’s not just a 33% chance of killing something. It’s making the enemy commit more than 1 Inf/1 ground unit to take the territory How would this hurt a country like germany that will have mechs constantly reinforcing and the positioning does not screw him?. Maybe you didn’t read my entire post. Again, I don’t always leave 1 Inf behind in each territory(i.e. China and other territories) Japan can just send 1 inf and air, it really won’t hurt him if he wants to.. However, leaving 1 Inf behind on such things as islands, even 1 IPC islands. Your enemy would most likely have to commit at least 2 ground units to take the islandIt depends on the value of the island and the likelihood he/she would go for it.. Therefore, forcing your opponent to commit more resources to take territories and have less units to use elsewhere. I understand what you mean, but this is also a game of economics and efficiency. If your opponent does not need to go for it, or is not even affected by it, the one infantry won’t be an issue.Like I said in my explanation, Soviet Far East is a good example. There are 13 IPC’s from Soviet Far East to Vologda/Samara. If your strategy is to leave these unguarded for Japan to just take w/1 Inf, then go for it. In my opinion, over the 26 years I’ve played A&A, it’s the wrong stategySince russia can easily stop japan from taking it unless Japan commits more to the front, it really is not an issue. Also, with mongolia, it won’t be unguarded.
Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2)
-
In 2nd edition, you can never have a major complex in Kiangsu, as it is not considered an original Japanese territory. It has a Chinese symbol on it, as does Manchuria. The only additional major complex Japan may ever have, in 2nd edition, is in Korea.
-
Id say im pretty new to axis and allies global second edition. I usually end up playing britain and find myself overstretching / spreading myself to thin. Wich provinces and initial strategies are recomended if i want to succed as britain. Like… Wich provinces can i leave and wich ones should i aim for/keep? Help a brother out! :)
-
Welcome to A&A.org, Sabregolf
The FAQ is meant for rules questions only, not strategy
You can peruse the G40 boards and start your own discussion thread there - I’m sure you’ll get replies and ideas.
There are many different strategies for Britain, and a LOT depends on when the Axis DOW. A common, effective strategy, is to focus on Italy early and keep them down. Obviously you want to get the 5 IPC NO, which requires you hold all original territories, but if the Axis really want to deny this to you, there may not be much you can do about it for quite awhile, if ever.
There’s a lot more to talk about, but like I said, I’m afraid this is the wrong thread for that - thanks! If you have any rules questions, though, this is the right place!
-
like i said im pretty new, G40 boards ? internet is a big place and g40 gives me alot of results. mind linking something ? i really appreciate the tip thanks =)
-
like i said im pretty new, G40 boards ? internet is a big place and g40 gives me alot of results. mind linking something ? i really appreciate the tip thanks =)
Try these:
http://www.axisandallies.org/forums/index.php?topic=33623.0
http://www.axisandallies.org/forums/index.php?topic=33523.0
http://www.axisandallies.org/forums/index.php?topic=32940.0 -
thanks i really appreciate it =) !
-
Is aircraft mvmt separate from ship mvmt? Can ships move two spaces and then aircraft move four spaces after ship mvmt in the combat phase? I’m pretty sure it only applies for non-combat but I’m not sure about combat.
-
Aircraft and ships move completely independently of each other.
I like to think of it as once your turn starts, the planes take off of the carriers. They can then move their 4 movement points, and the carriers can move their 2 or 3 movement points. You don’t get to move the planes with the carrier 2 spaces and then planes an 4 additional spaces. They each move on their own.There is an exception though if you have planes on an allied carrier. For example, say the Anzac have landed 2 fighters on a USA carrier.
On the USA turn, those planes are treated as cargo on the carrier. The carrier can move its 2 or 3 spaces and it takes the fighters with them. Then, on the Anzac turn the fighters get their normal 4 movement points. -
Great, that answers my question.
-
Quick questions:
Can infantry(and other 1 move units) load and offload from transports in a single round, since loading and offloading is described as a special rule?
Assuming US planes can reach europe in turn 1, since the no trespassing SZ 102 apply only to ships, what would happen in this scenario:
1 - Germany does not take over normandy in turn 1, leaving it to Italy to capture, so the U.S. land its Strategical Bomber there. Would an attack there draw US into war?
2 - US Move its Strategical bomber to london in its 1st turn. Would Germany be forced to declare war on US to attempt sealion? (this is assuming the p. 15 rule that says a power can’t attack a territory controlled by or containing units belonging to a power with which it is not at war) -
Assuming US planes can reach europe in turn 1, since the no trespassing SZ 102 apply only to ships, what would happen in this scenario:
1 - Germany does not take over normandy in turn 1, leaving it to Italy to capture, so the U.S. land its Strategical Bomber there. Would an attack there draw US into war?
2 - US Move its Strategical bomber to london in its 1st turn. Would Germany be forced to declare war on US to attempt sealion? (this is assuming the p. 15 rule that says a power can’t attack a territory controlled by or containing units belonging to a power with which it is not at war)You can’t move any US land/air units onto any non-US territory until the US is at war.
-
USA could only send units to Europe on USA1 after a Japan or Germany DOW (Japan DOW on UK/ANZ and/or USA)
-
Quick questions:
Can infantry(and other 1 move units) load and offload from transports in a single round, since loading and offloading is described as a special rule?
Yes, they can. You can load ground units onto transports, move the transports if desired, and unload the same ground units all in the same phase/turn.
Assuming US planes can reach europe in turn 1, since the no trespassing SZ 102 apply only to ships, what would happen in this scenario:
1 - Germany does not take over normandy in turn 1, leaving it to Italy to capture, so the U.S. land its Strategical Bomber there. Would an attack there draw US into war?Italy cannot attack Normandy (that has a USA bomber on it) without declaring war on the USA. As Wheatbeer said, the USA would have to be at war with at least 1 Axis power to legally move anything to Normandy.
2 - US Move its Strategical bomber to london in its 1st turn. Would Germany be forced to declare war on US to attempt sealion? (this is assuming the p. 15 rule that says a power can�t attack a territory controlled by or containing units belonging to a power with which it is not at war)
Yes, you have to declare war on all powers with ground units on a territory before attacking that territory.
-
Hey guys, this is my first time posting anywhere on this forum so bear with me if this has been asked already or I’m posting in the wrong area but I couldn’t find my answer anywhere.
Me and my buddies have been very long time (occasional) players of A&A since like '87 and after a fairly long hiatus I’m trying to get us back into it. We’ve played the new 1942 and I now want us to tackle G40 (both 2nd edition).
My question is, are the 2nd edition rulebooks that come with the games the complete definitive versions of the rules? I assume that they include all the Alpha +3 stuff that I’ve read about but are there any additional updates or errata for the 2nd edition rules now? I can’t find anything anywhere so I’m assuming the printed rule books are complete but I just want to double check here before we play so I know that we are totally up date.
Thanks guys and kudos to a great site.
-
2nd edition rulebooks definitely include Alpha3. It pretty much is Alpha3, except for like 2 very minor tweaks after Alpha3 that makes 2nd edition different than Alpha3.
The only thing you’d be missing is the answers to questions that are commonly asked about the 2nd edition rulebook, and that is pretty much what this thread is for. So if you have any questions about your 2nd edition rulebooks, you can certainly ask them here.
But the short answer is - yes, the 2nd edition rulebooks are good and you don’t need to find supplements to be complete.
-
Cool. I kind of figured that but thank you for the clarification.
If we come upon some wacky strategies that I can’t figure out the procedures for and I can’t find a similar solution already posted then “I shall return!”
See what I did there…. :-D
Thanks again.
-
I cannot remember. If I war with neutrals do I have to attack them before flying units over them or can I just go? Like Afghanistan for example? Flying air between Russia and India
-
you cannot fly over them in combat on the turn you attack them, except to attack them. you can, however, fly over any neutral WHICH YOU HAVE ATTACKED THAT TURN in noncom.
-
You can never fly over a neutral that has never been attacked. (Note that if a power takes control of a neutral, it is no longer neutral)
You can attack a strict neutral and then fly off in a different direction in that non-com move, effectively flying over it.
Example: You can attack Afghanistan for the first time with units that include fighters from Moscow, and those fighters can then continue on to India in non-com. Once Afghanistan has been attacked by anything at all, air from both sides may freely fly over it for the rest of the game. However, other strict neutrals that have not been attacked, say Spain for instance, are still neutral and no one on either side may fly over.
Players really have to keep track of which strict neutrals have been attacked and which have not, for flyover purposes (and landing purposes). The TripleA engine does not take this into account - does not track it for you. Players could use the game notes function to track it.
-
I remember now. Such a funny rule.





