Brando, why would you leave 1 inf in each territory? The only ones that matter are rostov and Baltic States. You will lose 6 ipcs in units for not much gain in epl/bess.
I leave 1 Inf in each territory, so the Axis/enemy can’t just walk in. Inf have a 33% chance of a hit. Prevents a country from just taking a territory w/1 Inf. Usually the attacking country has to attack w/2 ground units, just in case your Inf gets a hit. Also prevents the enemy from sending just one ground unit on a long walk across your territories(i.e. when Japan starts marching across the Soviet Far East). I don’t always do this. Like in China, I consolidate the Chinese Inf whenever possible. But in Russia, I always try to leave at least 1 Inf in each territory. One thing to point out, I don’t leave 1 Inf in each territory, unless the enemy has a chance to take that territory.
Because they only have a 33% chance to hit, I would not want to risk giving away nearly free infantry kills to Germany unless they are defending something valuable. Each infantry you put in his way is 1 less body defending something critical for a 33% chance to kill 1 thing.
It’s not just a 33% chance of killing something. It’s making the enemy commit more than 1 Inf/1 ground unit to take the territory How would this hurt a country like germany that will have mechs constantly reinforcing and the positioning does not screw him?. Maybe you didn’t read my entire post. Again, I don’t always leave 1 Inf behind in each territory(i.e. China and other territories) Japan can just send 1 inf and air, it really won’t hurt him if he wants to.. However, leaving 1 Inf behind on such things as islands, even 1 IPC islands. Your enemy would most likely have to commit at least 2 ground units to take the islandIt depends on the value of the island and the likelihood he/she would go for it.. Therefore, forcing your opponent to commit more resources to take territories and have less units to use elsewhere. I understand what you mean, but this is also a game of economics and efficiency. If your opponent does not need to go for it, or is not even affected by it, the one infantry won’t be an issue.Like I said in my explanation, Soviet Far East is a good example. There are 13 IPC’s from Soviet Far East to Vologda/Samara. If your strategy is to leave these unguarded for Japan to just take w/1 Inf, then go for it. In my opinion, over the 26 years I’ve played A&A, it’s the wrong stategySince russia can easily stop japan from taking it unless Japan commits more to the front, it really is not an issue. Also, with mongolia, it won’t be unguarded.
Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2)
-
I am actually curious if I break the pact if I send air only or if not taking the territory matters.
-
@Cow:
I am actually curious if I break the pact if I send air only or if not taking the territory matters.
any attack breaks the pact. does not matter what the outcome of the attack is.
-
Finally got around to reading it.
Never really cared because it is just 6 infantry and the amount of income gained is totally worth it provided Japan gets a stack of men handed to him.
-
SBR question
The rule book says that after the air battle, the attacker divides his bombers in groups to send to specific facilities for bombing. Then it talks about AA fire from the facilities, and says the attacker chooses his own casualties.
Does this mean that you roll separate AA for each facility?
Example:
I attack London with 4 tacs and 1 strat bomber.
No interceptors sent.
I divide my bombers into groups. 2 tacs at the air base, 2 tacs at the naval base, and 1 strat bomber at the IC.Is it
- Can you roll 5 dice all together and if there are any 1’s I can choose any tac I want?
or - do you roll 2 dice for the air base, then 2 dice for the naval base, then 1 die for the IC? So if the IC hits, I have to lose the strat bomber
I’ve always thought it was #2 but I am not 100% sure.
Thanks - Can you roll 5 dice all together and if there are any 1’s I can choose any tac I want?
-
SBR question
The rule book says that after the air battle, the attacker divides his bombers in groups to send to specific facilities for bombing. Then it talks about AA fire from the facilities, and says the attacker chooses his own casualties.
Does this mean that you roll separate AA for each facility?
Example:
I attack London with 4 tacs and 1 strat bomber.
No interceptors sent.
I divide my bombers into groups. 2 tacs at the air base, 2 tacs at the naval base, and 1 strat bomber at the IC.Is it
- Can you roll 5 dice all together and if there are any 1’s I can choose any tac I want?
or - do you roll 2 dice for the air base, then 2 dice for the naval base, then 1 die for the IC? So if the IC hits, I have to lose the strat bomber
I’ve always thought it was #2 but I am not 100% sure.
ThanksIt’s number 2. Tacs would not be able to be valid targets at a factory as they cannot bomb the factory, so they need to be tracked at their individual targets. You also can’t say, “oh, I’ll take all the casualties from the group hitting the naval base, because the air base and factory are more important”
- Can you roll 5 dice all together and if there are any 1’s I can choose any tac I want?
-
Yeah, as I thought, but when it came up in a game and I re-read the rules I was not 100% confident….
Thanks
-
A follow up question:
Is it legal to send tactical bombers on SBR along with Strat bombers when the bases have already been bombed out to 6 maximum damage?
(The purpose of sending tactical bombers that can do no bombing damage is to participate in an anticipated air war with interceptors) -
I suppose you could because you could have him be going to tactical bomb an air or navel base but it already have full damage so he can’t damage it any more.
-
I suppose you could because you could have him be going to tactical bomb an air or navel base but it already have full damage so he can’t damage it any more.
common sense would tell you that you can send the tac and that after it participates in the air war, it has to take aa fire from the base even though it cannot damage it any more. but common sense does not always dictate.
-
I agree, but the rules don’t address it. Which makes me think you can do it, because the rules don’t prohibit it, but like you said - how many times is the actual intended rule different than it looks in the rule book? A lot of times.
-
I have a question regarding retreats at land and sea.
If an army of land units attack an adjacent territory containing 8 infantry and 1 aa gun, and the attacker rolls 8 hits, then the defender decides to lose the 8 infantry and save the aa gun, does the attacker retain the option to retreat (assuming it still has survivors)? Or does the fact that the aa gun has no defense roll mean that attacker captures the territory automatically?
What about at sea with transports?
The rules say “You don’t have to continue rolling dice until all transports receive hits. This will speed up combats.”What if for some reason you killed all the enemy defenders, but still had warships or planes of your own left, and wanted to retreat instead of killing the defenseless transports? Do you still have the option to retreat if you have killed everything except the transports?
-
Page 20, Europe manual
Condition A - Attacker and/or Defender Loses All Units
Once all units that can either fire or retreat on one or both sides have been destroyed, the combat ends.Defenseless transports
In a sea battle, if the defender has only transports remaining and the attacker still has units capable of attacking, the defending transports are all destroyed, along with their cargo.You cannot retreat from only transports or only AA guns, because “all units that can fire have been destroyed” and the combat ends.
Under the defenseless transport rule, there is no option to retreat - it says that the defending transports are all destroyed. Same is true for AAA guns - you can’t retreat when the defender has no firing capabilities. -
I agree, but the rules don’t address it. Which makes me think you can do it, because the rules don’t prohibit it
Correct.
but like you said - how many times is the actual intended rule different than it looks in the rule book? A lot of times.
Name one that’s not covered in the FAQs.
-
There are a lot of situations that come up, and you look in the rule book and can’t find the answer for sure.
That’s why we’ve had a zillion questions and posts in the FAQ threads. A lot of them can not be definitively answered using only the rule book. Many times I’ve had to say “because Krieghund said”.
For example - you can use a transport to establish a retreat route, but you must have at least 1 unit with attack power to do it. I only know this because I asked you - there is no way to determine this from the rule book, and nobody thought of it for the FAQ.
I don’t think you should feel particularly defensive when I make these critical observations about the rule book. There are so many situations and nuances and tactics that can be used in this game, and Larry kept changing the rules, I don’t see how a few people could write a 35 page rule book without leaving some holes. We are all very impressed with your comprehensive knowledge of all things Axis and Allies.
-
There are a lot of situations that come up, and you look in the rule book and can’t find the answer for sure.
That’s why we’ve had a zillion questions and posts in the FAQ threads. A lot of them can not be definitively answered using only the rule book. Many times I’ve had to say “because Krieghund said”.
Most of the time that’s because people don’t try hard enough to find the answers. When I see a question that truly can’t be answered by the rules and FAQ, I add it to the FAQ.
For example - you can use a transport to establish a retreat route, but you must have at least 1 unit with attack power to do it. I only know this because I asked you - there is no way to determine this from the rule book, and nobody thought of it for the FAQ.
Page 32 of the Europe 1940 Rulebook:
Transports may not attack without being accompanied by at least 1 unit with an attack value, unless they are conducting an amphibious assault from a friendly sea zone that is free of enemy submarines.
-
Oops - you’re so right. I hadn’t noticed the transport rule was improved and changed in the 2nd edition rule book. Great!
-
Player A sends a bomber on a strategic bombing raid against the UK. Does a player A have to announce which facility he is attacking?
-
@Last:
Player A sends a bomber on a strategic bombing raid against the UK. Does a player A have to announce which facility he is attacking?
Not right away, no.
The defender has to decide about interceptors without knowing what facility will be attacked.
After the air battle, then the bombers are divided in groups and assigned targets.
Player A doesn’t announce which facility he is attacking until right before the AA fire.
Each facility fires AA at the group attacking it.Note that TripleA does NOT do this correctly according to the rules. You may have to roll the AA manually using the site’s built in dice roller to get the proper results.
-
Thanks Gamerman. Although I am glad to know I didn’t break any rules I still feel kind of guilty. In my league game with captain walker I bombed an airbase to negate a scramble. When I asked for interceptors he said no that I could bomb the IC. I did not correct him and felt like I should have. I am still learning the game and perhaps he is as well.
-
You shouldn’t feel guilty that he anticipated an attack against the IC and then you went and hit the air base.
You do know that scrambling takes place before bombing, right? Did you mean to negate a scramble for a later turn?