Our gaming group has come to the conclusion that some bid is needed to balance the game for the Allies. In reading through the posts it seems to me that the general consensus is that the Allies need a bid of about 9-12.
My questions are:
Is a bid of 9-12 the current and reasonable amount? As we will not want to bid for a particular side, we will set a certain bid point for each game and then let people choose which side they want to be as some Players enjoy playing particular Powers. So what is a fair bid?My group usually goes 10-15, some where in the ball park of 8 to 14 is what everyone does.
Is this bid added as starting income to be spent on Turn 1?What Siparo said.
Is this bid added as units and money such as the Revised FIDA bid?Never played revised, and what is FIDA? Another government agency?
Is this bid added as units on the board with remainders as starting money?Siparo doesn’t do it, but my group allows it.
For any units placed on the board are there any restrictions? For example:
a) Must have a unit already in the territory / sea zone?
b) May not place more than X number of units?My group has 3 rules:
1. Must be one unit per territory/seazone.
2. Can only be placed in a territory/seazone where you already have units occupying it.
3. Can only be a unit that power has access to (china can be inf and art only).I would appreciate your kind thoughts and comments. Thank you…
Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2)
-
@Jon:
A territory was a friendly neutral at the start of a power’s turn. The power activates it during NCM. Can a facility (for simplicity, an airbase) be built there this turn?
Thank you
-w
Morning and welcome Jon Von Neumann.
The answer is no, I am afraid. You do need to have controlled it since the beginning of your turn. -
Thank you very much. Happy to know for sure.
-
I think i was tricked by some rule Lawyer. He said bombers attacking fighters alone just attack at 1, not 4. The 4 attack is only against land targets. I sent 2 German bombers to wipe out a UK fighter at Gibraltar. Tell me this rule is bunk. His reasoning is bombers cant “bomb” flying planes.
-
@Imperious:
I think i was tricked by some rule Lawyer. He said bombers attacking fighters alone just attack at 1, not 4. The 4 attack is only against land targets. I sent 2 German bombers to wipe out a UK fighter at Gibraltar. Tell me this rule is bunk. His reasoning is bombers cant “bomb” flying planes.
He’s thinking of the air battle rules before SBR
Bombers, tactical bombers, and fighters attack at 1, as do defending fighters.In conventional combat, it’s as it always has been. Bombers attack at 4, fighters defend at 4, bombers defend at 1…
If you are doing an SBR of a base at Gibraltar and you are doing an air to air battle before an SBR, then yes your bombers attack at 1 and his fighter defends at 1 (if he chooses to intercept).
However, if you are not doing SBR but are attacking a fighter, then your bombers attack at 4 and his fighter defends at 4
-
However, if you are not doing SBR but are attacking a fighter, then your bombers attack at 4 and his fighter defends at 4
Exactly as i knew, but i listened to him and didn’t make the attack.
-
@Imperious:
Exactly as i knew, but i listened to him and didn’t make the attack.
That’s probably best for you anyway, unless that UK fighter was going to do something particularly important that turn. :-)
-
Ok thanks.
-
Can UK and Anzac prevent Japan from loading their transports in combat move if UK moves a warship into a seazone (in this case z36) and Anzac declear war on them.
-
Can UK and Anzac prevent Japan from loading their transports in combat move if UK moves a warship into a seazone (in this case z36) and Anzac declear war on them.
yes. dirty tricks.
-
yes. dirty tricks.
Dirty is the way allies play :) Soviet pirate income from Somaliland, YARRR!
-
Can UK and Anzac prevent Japan from loading their transports in combat move if UK moves a warship into a seazone (in this case z36) and Anzac declear war on them.
yes. dirty tricks.
That’s awesome, I’ll have to remember it LOL. Any delay of Japan getting to the money islands will help.
-
Well, the trick is, it does constitute an unprovoked attack, and UK will not get the NO, and it costs you a destroyer, but if your opponent is unsuspecting it can be very effective, yes.
-
If russia non-combat into an american controlled korea, does this affect the mongolia rule?
-
If russia non-combat into an american controlled korea, does this affect the mongolia rule?
negative ghostrider
-
the pattern is full
-
How is damage calculated when doing an SBR on a major IC?
I know each surviving bomber gets to roll a dice, but sometimes I see a 7 or 8 for a dice. Why is that? -
@captain:
How is damage calculated when doing an SBR on a major IC?
I know each surviving bomber gets to roll a dice, but sometimes I see a 7 or 8 for a dice. Why is that?Strategic Bombers each inflict one die plus two (1d6+2) points of damage.
If you roll a 5, that’s 7. If you roll a 6, that’s 8. -
thanks for clarifying that!
-
Does a Japanese SBR on a Russian air base built in Amur activate the Mongolians?
-
Does a Japanese SBR on a Russian air base built in Amur activate the Mongolians?
Yes.
“Also, if Japan attacks any Soviet-controlled territory that is adjacent to any Mongolian territory…”
SBR is an attack.