Brando, why would you leave 1 inf in each territory? The only ones that matter are rostov and Baltic States. You will lose 6 ipcs in units for not much gain in epl/bess.
I leave 1 Inf in each territory, so the Axis/enemy can’t just walk in. Inf have a 33% chance of a hit. Prevents a country from just taking a territory w/1 Inf. Usually the attacking country has to attack w/2 ground units, just in case your Inf gets a hit. Also prevents the enemy from sending just one ground unit on a long walk across your territories(i.e. when Japan starts marching across the Soviet Far East). I don’t always do this. Like in China, I consolidate the Chinese Inf whenever possible. But in Russia, I always try to leave at least 1 Inf in each territory. One thing to point out, I don’t leave 1 Inf in each territory, unless the enemy has a chance to take that territory.
Because they only have a 33% chance to hit, I would not want to risk giving away nearly free infantry kills to Germany unless they are defending something valuable. Each infantry you put in his way is 1 less body defending something critical for a 33% chance to kill 1 thing.
It’s not just a 33% chance of killing something. It’s making the enemy commit more than 1 Inf/1 ground unit to take the territory How would this hurt a country like germany that will have mechs constantly reinforcing and the positioning does not screw him?. Maybe you didn’t read my entire post. Again, I don’t always leave 1 Inf behind in each territory(i.e. China and other territories) Japan can just send 1 inf and air, it really won’t hurt him if he wants to.. However, leaving 1 Inf behind on such things as islands, even 1 IPC islands. Your enemy would most likely have to commit at least 2 ground units to take the islandIt depends on the value of the island and the likelihood he/she would go for it.. Therefore, forcing your opponent to commit more resources to take territories and have less units to use elsewhere. I understand what you mean, but this is also a game of economics and efficiency. If your opponent does not need to go for it, or is not even affected by it, the one infantry won’t be an issue.Like I said in my explanation, Soviet Far East is a good example. There are 13 IPC’s from Soviet Far East to Vologda/Samara. If your strategy is to leave these unguarded for Japan to just take w/1 Inf, then go for it. In my opinion, over the 26 years I’ve played A&A, it’s the wrong stategySince russia can easily stop japan from taking it unless Japan commits more to the front, it really is not an issue. Also, with mongolia, it won’t be unguarded.
Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2)
-
However, if you are not doing SBR but are attacking a fighter, then your bombers attack at 4 and his fighter defends at 4
Exactly as i knew, but i listened to him and didn’t make the attack.
-
@Imperious:
Exactly as i knew, but i listened to him and didn’t make the attack.
That’s probably best for you anyway, unless that UK fighter was going to do something particularly important that turn. :-)
-
Ok thanks.
-
Can UK and Anzac prevent Japan from loading their transports in combat move if UK moves a warship into a seazone (in this case z36) and Anzac declear war on them.
-
Can UK and Anzac prevent Japan from loading their transports in combat move if UK moves a warship into a seazone (in this case z36) and Anzac declear war on them.
yes. dirty tricks.
-
yes. dirty tricks.
Dirty is the way allies play :) Soviet pirate income from Somaliland, YARRR!
-
Can UK and Anzac prevent Japan from loading their transports in combat move if UK moves a warship into a seazone (in this case z36) and Anzac declear war on them.
yes. dirty tricks.
That’s awesome, I’ll have to remember it LOL. Any delay of Japan getting to the money islands will help.
-
Well, the trick is, it does constitute an unprovoked attack, and UK will not get the NO, and it costs you a destroyer, but if your opponent is unsuspecting it can be very effective, yes.
-
If russia non-combat into an american controlled korea, does this affect the mongolia rule?
-
If russia non-combat into an american controlled korea, does this affect the mongolia rule?
negative ghostrider
-
the pattern is full
-
How is damage calculated when doing an SBR on a major IC?
I know each surviving bomber gets to roll a dice, but sometimes I see a 7 or 8 for a dice. Why is that? -
@captain:
How is damage calculated when doing an SBR on a major IC?
I know each surviving bomber gets to roll a dice, but sometimes I see a 7 or 8 for a dice. Why is that?Strategic Bombers each inflict one die plus two (1d6+2) points of damage.
If you roll a 5, that’s 7. If you roll a 6, that’s 8. -
thanks for clarifying that!
-
Does a Japanese SBR on a Russian air base built in Amur activate the Mongolians?
-
Does a Japanese SBR on a Russian air base built in Amur activate the Mongolians?
Yes.
“Also, if Japan attacks any Soviet-controlled territory that is adjacent to any Mongolian territory…”
SBR is an attack.
-
How would this scenario play out? 3 UK inf and 3UK art are loaded on three US transports attacking western germany from SZ 112, (UK’s turn) with a large US navy in the same sea zone and no UK navy or air. Germany scrambles to defend the sea zone but my question is are the German air able to sink US transports? If so that seems a little strange that the America navy would sit by while one of their transports are sinking. Also since it is an American transport on UKs turn it can’t retreat so what happens?
I would play it as, the UK has to sit on the US ships until they receive their own orders to attack. The ships they are offloading from are still manned, and there for would still be able to defend. And besides, you CAN’T single out or choose who you are attacking in a country/territory/SZ, you attack the whole space and everything in it. If the SZ that they are offloading from is loaded with friendly ships, they still get to defend the space. Its that way in every other case in the game. Friendly powers occupying the same space can defend at the same time, but can only attack during their own individual turns. Also in the case of an ACC with two Friendly planes on it (all 3 can defend that SZ, ACC and the 2 friendly planes, but the friendly planes can only attack on their own turn and with out being able to move the ACC that they took off from).
-
UK is the attacker in this scenerio.Rules don’t allow a friendly power to participate in your attack.That’s what I think.
-
UK is the attacker in this scenerio.Rules don’t allow a friendly power to participate in your attack.That’s what I think.
Right. The fleet is not defending against a scramble, the scramble is the defense against the attack.
In this scenario, if Germany scrambles then the attack is not allowed. No ships are sunk, no dice are rolled, no combat takes place.
-
Interesting.
Makes me think of other questions.
#1 If UK is also using other land based units to attack,do the air units that were scrambled(were they actually scrambled if the attack is cancelled?)get to defend?#2 What if UK has air units on friendly carriers .Can Uk use those units to protect the trannies?





