Brando, why would you leave 1 inf in each territory? The only ones that matter are rostov and Baltic States. You will lose 6 ipcs in units for not much gain in epl/bess.
I leave 1 Inf in each territory, so the Axis/enemy can’t just walk in. Inf have a 33% chance of a hit. Prevents a country from just taking a territory w/1 Inf. Usually the attacking country has to attack w/2 ground units, just in case your Inf gets a hit. Also prevents the enemy from sending just one ground unit on a long walk across your territories(i.e. when Japan starts marching across the Soviet Far East). I don’t always do this. Like in China, I consolidate the Chinese Inf whenever possible. But in Russia, I always try to leave at least 1 Inf in each territory. One thing to point out, I don’t leave 1 Inf in each territory, unless the enemy has a chance to take that territory.
Because they only have a 33% chance to hit, I would not want to risk giving away nearly free infantry kills to Germany unless they are defending something valuable. Each infantry you put in his way is 1 less body defending something critical for a 33% chance to kill 1 thing.
It’s not just a 33% chance of killing something. It’s making the enemy commit more than 1 Inf/1 ground unit to take the territory How would this hurt a country like germany that will have mechs constantly reinforcing and the positioning does not screw him?. Maybe you didn’t read my entire post. Again, I don’t always leave 1 Inf behind in each territory(i.e. China and other territories) Japan can just send 1 inf and air, it really won’t hurt him if he wants to.. However, leaving 1 Inf behind on such things as islands, even 1 IPC islands. Your enemy would most likely have to commit at least 2 ground units to take the islandIt depends on the value of the island and the likelihood he/she would go for it.. Therefore, forcing your opponent to commit more resources to take territories and have less units to use elsewhere. I understand what you mean, but this is also a game of economics and efficiency. If your opponent does not need to go for it, or is not even affected by it, the one infantry won’t be an issue.Like I said in my explanation, Soviet Far East is a good example. There are 13 IPC’s from Soviet Far East to Vologda/Samara. If your strategy is to leave these unguarded for Japan to just take w/1 Inf, then go for it. In my opinion, over the 26 years I’ve played A&A, it’s the wrong stategySince russia can easily stop japan from taking it unless Japan commits more to the front, it really is not an issue. Also, with mongolia, it won’t be unguarded.
Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2)
-
Right
-
Question RE: scramble.
I think I know the answer is no, but…. one can only hope.
If US parks its fleet on ncm next to an enemy airbase and then the UK attacks the territory with an amphib and the defender scrambles, does the US fleet participate in the pre-amphib naval combat?
It would be sweet if it could, but I gather the use of the word “attacker” in the scramble rule means only ships actually attacking and not just sailing around.
-
Right. Only the units of the power taking the turn can be considered/used.
Note that if your units are on an allied transport and there are enemy surface ships or scrambled aircraft present, and you have none of your own naval or air units to bring to the zone in combat movement, you can not unload.
-
ag, what I expected.
-
Is the Yukon territory inaccessible? Meaning, you can’t put units there? I’m trying to move an American AA gun from Alberta to Yukon in TripleA and it’s not letting me. Does that also mean that a Japanese tank can’t blitz from Alaska to Alberta? Thanks!
-
yukon territory is impassable, or merged with british columbia, however you prefer to see it.
-
Is the Yukon territory inaccessible? Meaning, you can’t put units there? I’m trying to move an American AA gun from Alberta to Yukon in TripleA and it’s not letting me. Does that also mean that a Japanese tank can’t blitz from Alaska to Alberta? Thanks!
Yukon territory does not even exist in 2nd edition.
He just grayed it out in Triple A rather than redraw the map. -
Thanks Boldfresh and Gamerman!
-
Can the Soviets collect the SZ125/Archangel NO if they are at war with Italy, still neutral with Germany, but a German submarine is in SZ125?
-
Can the Soviets collect the SZ125/Archangel NO if they are at war with Italy, still neutral with Germany, but a German submarine is in SZ125?
That’s a good question.
First of all, the Soviets do not need to be at war with Germany to collect the NO, because the rule book says “when the Soviet Union is at war in Europe”
The NO rule says there must be no Axis warships in Z125, which would indicate the answer is the Soviets do not collect the NO.
However, normally you can ignore units of powers with which you are not at war.
So I don’t know. I do know that if there was no German sub, the Soviets would still collect, because only being at war with Italy is enough.
You’ll need Kreighund or someone who knows what Krieghund has said in the past.
-
Can the Soviets collect the SZ125/Archangel NO if they are at war with Italy, still neutral with Germany, but a German submarine is in SZ125?
That’s a good question.
First of all, the Soviets do not need to be at war with Germany to collect the NO, because the rule book says “when the Soviet Union is at war in Europe”
The NO rule says there must be no Axis warships in Z125, which would indicate the answer is the Soviets do not collect the NO.
However, normally you can ignore units of powers with which you are not at war.
So I don’t know. I do know that if there was no German sub, the Soviets would still collect, because only being at war with Italy is enough.
You’ll need Kreighund or someone who knows what Krieghund has said in the past.
No. Even though Germany and the USSR are not themselves at war, Germany can still interdict Allied aid to the Soviets.
-
Is Eire supposed to be connected to the UK through Scotland via land? I guess when looking at the map I would have never guessed it, but in my latest League game my opponent non-commed a mech infantry from UK to Eire through Scotland with no boats involved.
Just curious. Thanks!
-
Is Eire supposed to be connected to the UK through Scotland via land? I guess when looking at the map I would have never guessed it, but in my latest League game my opponent non-commed a mech infantry from UK to Eire through Scotland with no boats involved.
Just curious. Thanks!
absolutely, you can walk from scotland to eire.
-
And yes, I was very surprised to learn the same thing awhile back
-
if japan declares war on the usa on J2 and there is an american destroyer off queensland and anzac ftrs on the AB, are they able to scramble?
ie, can japan declare war only on USA and not UK/anzac therefore not allowing the anzac ftrs to scramble?
-
if japan declares war on the usa on J2 and there is an american destroyer off queensland and anzac ftrs on the AB, are they able to scramble?
ie, can japan declare war only on USA and not UK/anzac therefore not allowing the anzac ftrs to scramble?
Yes. If Japan declares war on the USA and not UK/ANZAC, then the ANZ fighters could not scramble.
-
Airbase and naval bases only hold up to 6 damage?
-
That is right Cow.
-
usa has a carrier, a fighter, and a loaded transport in sz112 which contested as germany built a destroyer and sub into sz112 on it’s turn.
usa conducts combat in sz112 and amphibiously assualts western germany.
usa fighter hits which must be taken on the destroyer.
germany destroyer and sub miss.
now it is a usa carrier and fighter vs a sub.what happens at this point?
can usa ignore the sub and amphibiously assault west germany?
can usa retreat to another seazone as they started in sz112?
is the usa forced to keep attacking until the sub sinks the carrier? -
if you can’t kill the sub, i don’t think you can land the men to assault. you can only ignore the sub if it is the only thing in the zone. once the sub is fighting, it has to be killed to land troops.