Generally pacific builds consists of a 2 to 1 ratio of subs-destroyer. Following turn is 5-6 bombers. This forces Japan to start building fleet instead of troops for India/China crush.
I just had to give som additional thumbs up fo9r this comment :D Buying other combat ships than subs, dds (Or CW + ftrs) is rarely correct. the 2 to 1 ratio shos that sean knows how fodder works and how it is the most important thing in these battles.
The only reason to stop buying the subs is if japan for some reason dont respond with fleetbuilding and only buys planes instead. But then you should win anyways :D
which is why i said that it didn’t work against a too planeheavy japan. on theory, the DDs + other surface ships ofc needs to be enough to stop all the planes of japan + 2 rounds of plane only builds of japan.
What would prevent japan from attacking your fleet of subs-destroyers with air and a few destroyers. With 20+ planes they can whipe out your whole fleet with minimal losses as subs cant even hit the planes.
I normaly go for a carrier heavy fleet followed by subs destroyers for attacking power. Ideally i want my carriers to bait an early attack from japan that i can crush in the counter and get his carriers and BB out of the way so anzac and UKP can clean up the rest.
Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2)
-
@wittmann:
Can USA put figters og troops on british land i the pacific when its not at war with japan?
Hi Bombah. I am afraid not.
US units can only sit in US’ territories while at peace.
It has no allies until it is at war; only Allies can land in each other’s territories.To be clear, if the US is at war with anyone it is no longer neutral and may move units into territories belonging to another Allied power. The US can move units into UK and/or ANZAC territories in the Pacific if it’s at war with Germany and/or Italy, even if it’s not at war with Japan.
-
Superb! :-D thanks
-
how many times Can a transports load/unload in a turn? 2 or 3?
Can the american fleet on the pacific side sail where they want except in seazones adjacent to japanese soil?
-
Afternoon Bombah.
A transport has one move, either in the Combat phase, if landing amphibiously, or in Noncombat, if reinforcing or converting a Friendly Neutral.
A transport can pick up from up to two territories, but can only unload into one. Once it has unloaded, its turn is over. It does not get another go.
The loading and unloading are part of its one go.While not at war, On the Pacific side an American naval unit can move anywhere on the map, but it cannot end its move in a SZ containing a Japanese territory.
-
@wittmann:
A transport has one move, either in the Combat phase, if landing amphibiously, or in Noncombat
Transports may also move in the combat movement phase to avoid combat (finds itself with an enemy surface warship in its zone at the beginning of the turn). If they do, they cannot move again in the noncombat phase. I won’t go into the rest of the details since it would be beyond the scope of the question, but wanted to clarify that transports do not necessarily have to be doing an amphibious assault to move in the combat movement phase.
-
Thanks Gamerman.
-
Thanks for the reply guys:-)
-
Japan attacks USA fleet that contains 3 transports along with other units
after a few rounds of combat, japan has ships left and usa 1 transport left.
can japan retreat?
-
you cannot retreat if the remaining defensive units have zero defense value - the only cases you cannot retreat are when transports or aa guns are the only units remaining.
-
argh!
-
Just need a quick refresher with subs blocking a transports unloading and loading capability. I think it states that a sub can prevent a lone transport from loading or unloading during both noncombat and combat phases? My understanding is you need a ship present with the transport to negate this and can the ship be a sub? Thanks!
-
Just need a quick refresher with subs blocking a transports unloading and loading capability. I think it states that a sub can prevent a lone transport from loading or unloading during both noncombat and combat phases? My understanding is you need a ship present with the transport to negate this and can the ship be a sub? Thanks!
this only applies to trying to make a combat landing from an unescorted transport. during the combat movement phase undefended transports can ignore subs, as they also can in the noncombat phase. so loading of units in combat or noncombat and offloading in noncombat is unaffected by subs. the only thing you cannot do is make a landing from an unescorted transport if an enemy sub is in the sea zone.
-
Just need a quick refresher with subs blocking a transports unloading and loading capability. I think it states that a sub can prevent a lone transport from loading or unloading during both noncombat and combat phases? My understanding is you need a ship present with the transport to negate this and can the ship be a sub? Thanks!
this only applies to trying to make a combat landing from an unescorted transport. during the combat movement phase undefended transports can ignore subs, as they also can in the noncombat phase. so loading of units in combat or noncombat and offloading in noncombat is unaffected by subs. the only thing you cannot do is make a landing from an unescorted transport if an enemy sub is in the sea zone.
Cool thanks! Does a sub count as a legal “escort” for the transport to unload?
-
Just need a quick refresher with subs blocking a transports unloading and loading capability. I think it states that a sub can prevent a lone transport from loading or unloading during both noncombat and combat phases? My understanding is you need a ship present with the transport to negate this and can the ship be a sub? Thanks!
this only applies to trying to make a combat landing from an unescorted transport. during the combat movement phase undefended transports can ignore subs, as they also can in the noncombat phase. so loading of units in combat or noncombat and offloading in noncombat is unaffected by subs. the only thing you cannot do is make a landing from an unescorted transport if an enemy sub is in the sea zone.
Cool thanks! Does a sub count as a legal “escort” for the transport to unload?
yes
-
Can USA take Denmark during combat and cross the canal during non combat on the same turn? I know UK can cross it as soon as his turn comes.
-
@Cow:
Can USA take Denmark during combat and cross the canal during non combat on the same turn? I know UK can cross it as soon as his turn comes.
No. Page 9 of the rule book says:
If your side (but not necessarily your power) controlled a canal or narrow strait at the start of your turn, you may move sea units through it (you can’t use it in the same turn that you capture it).
If the USA took Denmark during combat, it was Axis-controlled at the start of the USA’s turn, so it can’t be crossed during non-combat.
-
Can you move into Japan seazone with fighters from carriers in your combat phase, saying you would land the fighters there when you move in with the carriers in your non combat phase? This would negate the Kamikaze token tremendously…
-
[q
uote author=Cephir link=topic=28562.msg1219919#msg1219919 date=1385939062]
Can you move into Japan seazone with fighters from carriers in your combat phase, saying you would land the fighters there when you move in with the carriers in your non combat phase? This would negate the Kamikaze token tremendously…The answer to your question is yes.
-
Can you move into Japan seazone with fighters from carriers in your combat phase, saying you would land the fighters there when you move in with the carriers in your non combat phase? This would negate the Kamikaze token tremendously…
Yup. Common tactic is to send aircraft with destroyers and submarines for meat shields specifically to negate the kamikaze attack. Otherwise, you run the risk of having carriers get damaged from Kamikaze runs and having planes splash into the ocean.
-
scrambling fighters is in response to an actual combat not a combat movement correct? Example: transport leaves from sz110 picks up Inf on Denmark and returns to 110 to amphib Normandy. Fighters from West Germany cannot scramble to prevent the Denmark pickup?