Brando, why would you leave 1 inf in each territory? The only ones that matter are rostov and Baltic States. You will lose 6 ipcs in units for not much gain in epl/bess.
I leave 1 Inf in each territory, so the Axis/enemy can’t just walk in. Inf have a 33% chance of a hit. Prevents a country from just taking a territory w/1 Inf. Usually the attacking country has to attack w/2 ground units, just in case your Inf gets a hit. Also prevents the enemy from sending just one ground unit on a long walk across your territories(i.e. when Japan starts marching across the Soviet Far East). I don’t always do this. Like in China, I consolidate the Chinese Inf whenever possible. But in Russia, I always try to leave at least 1 Inf in each territory. One thing to point out, I don’t leave 1 Inf in each territory, unless the enemy has a chance to take that territory.
Because they only have a 33% chance to hit, I would not want to risk giving away nearly free infantry kills to Germany unless they are defending something valuable. Each infantry you put in his way is 1 less body defending something critical for a 33% chance to kill 1 thing.
It’s not just a 33% chance of killing something. It’s making the enemy commit more than 1 Inf/1 ground unit to take the territory How would this hurt a country like germany that will have mechs constantly reinforcing and the positioning does not screw him?. Maybe you didn’t read my entire post. Again, I don’t always leave 1 Inf behind in each territory(i.e. China and other territories) Japan can just send 1 inf and air, it really won’t hurt him if he wants to.. However, leaving 1 Inf behind on such things as islands, even 1 IPC islands. Your enemy would most likely have to commit at least 2 ground units to take the islandIt depends on the value of the island and the likelihood he/she would go for it.. Therefore, forcing your opponent to commit more resources to take territories and have less units to use elsewhere. I understand what you mean, but this is also a game of economics and efficiency. If your opponent does not need to go for it, or is not even affected by it, the one infantry won’t be an issue.Like I said in my explanation, Soviet Far East is a good example. There are 13 IPC’s from Soviet Far East to Vologda/Samara. If your strategy is to leave these unguarded for Japan to just take w/1 Inf, then go for it. In my opinion, over the 26 years I’ve played A&A, it’s the wrong stategySince russia can easily stop japan from taking it unless Japan commits more to the front, it really is not an issue. Also, with mongolia, it won’t be unguarded.
Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2)
-
I think he was saying to move the carrier specifically so he could retreat it later and NOT have one available to retrieve the fighters.
Given Gamer’s response, I am going to say it is legal because the carrier was available for landing at the time the combat movement phase ended, just because he were “forced” to retreat it does not negate it being available at the end of the combat movement phase as a valid landing zone for the planes.
-
@Cmdr:
I think he was saying to move the carrier specifically so he could retreat it later and NOT have one available to retrieve the fighters.
I don’t know about that, but the reason for moving the carrier to Z6 is irrelevant, I think
Given Gamer’s response, I am going to say it is legal because the carrier was available for landing at the time the combat movement phase ended, just because he were “forced” to retreat it does not negate it being available at the end of the combat movement phase as a valid landing zone for the planes.
Yes, it is certainly legal to combat move the carrier to Z6 and then retreat it. But the planes will be stuck in Z6 and will not be able to move one more space to land on the retreated carrier.
It would be available for landing space for planes if it is undamaged, however the planes that moved to Z6 using all 5 movement points CANNOT follow the carrier and land on it. They are out of fuel.
-
Thank you very much, that was exactly what I wanted to know. And it was more about the princible, not the specific example.
Another question: The rules state:“Land units belonging to friendly powers must load on their controller’s turn…”.
In your own turn, you must take your own units from the land adjacent to your freighter, you cannot move a tank from a land far away before. However, if you board an allied freighter, you a are supposed to move there yourself - so, can a British tank move from Burma to Shan State and then board an ANZAC transport vessel in SZ 37 in one single (British) turn?
-
can a British tank move from Burma to Shan State and then board an ANZAC transport vessel in SZ 37 in one single (British) turn?
No. Mech and tanks cannot move to a different territory on land and then board a transport in one move.
-
Can USA put figters og troops on british land i the pacific when its not at war with japan?
-
Hi Bombah. I am afraid not.
US units can only sit in US’ territories while at peace.
It has no allies until it is at war; only Allies can land in each other’s territories. -
oki thank you:-)
Can i take a transports from seazone 39 and pick up troops in west India and then put them on Sumatra in one turn? i have 3 moves because of the harbour?
-
That is correct Bombah.
-
@wittmann:
Can USA put figters og troops on british land i the pacific when its not at war with japan?
Hi Bombah. I am afraid not.
US units can only sit in US’ territories while at peace.
It has no allies until it is at war; only Allies can land in each other’s territories.To be clear, if the US is at war with anyone it is no longer neutral and may move units into territories belonging to another Allied power. The US can move units into UK and/or ANZAC territories in the Pacific if it’s at war with Germany and/or Italy, even if it’s not at war with Japan.
-
Superb! :-D thanks
-
how many times Can a transports load/unload in a turn? 2 or 3?
Can the american fleet on the pacific side sail where they want except in seazones adjacent to japanese soil?
-
Afternoon Bombah.
A transport has one move, either in the Combat phase, if landing amphibiously, or in Noncombat, if reinforcing or converting a Friendly Neutral.
A transport can pick up from up to two territories, but can only unload into one. Once it has unloaded, its turn is over. It does not get another go.
The loading and unloading are part of its one go.While not at war, On the Pacific side an American naval unit can move anywhere on the map, but it cannot end its move in a SZ containing a Japanese territory.
-
@wittmann:
A transport has one move, either in the Combat phase, if landing amphibiously, or in Noncombat
Transports may also move in the combat movement phase to avoid combat (finds itself with an enemy surface warship in its zone at the beginning of the turn). If they do, they cannot move again in the noncombat phase. I won’t go into the rest of the details since it would be beyond the scope of the question, but wanted to clarify that transports do not necessarily have to be doing an amphibious assault to move in the combat movement phase.
-
Thanks Gamerman.
-
Thanks for the reply guys:-)
-
Japan attacks USA fleet that contains 3 transports along with other units
after a few rounds of combat, japan has ships left and usa 1 transport left.
can japan retreat?
-
you cannot retreat if the remaining defensive units have zero defense value - the only cases you cannot retreat are when transports or aa guns are the only units remaining.
-
argh!
-
Just need a quick refresher with subs blocking a transports unloading and loading capability. I think it states that a sub can prevent a lone transport from loading or unloading during both noncombat and combat phases? My understanding is you need a ship present with the transport to negate this and can the ship be a sub? Thanks!
-
Just need a quick refresher with subs blocking a transports unloading and loading capability. I think it states that a sub can prevent a lone transport from loading or unloading during both noncombat and combat phases? My understanding is you need a ship present with the transport to negate this and can the ship be a sub? Thanks!
this only applies to trying to make a combat landing from an unescorted transport. during the combat movement phase undefended transports can ignore subs, as they also can in the noncombat phase. so loading of units in combat or noncombat and offloading in noncombat is unaffected by subs. the only thing you cannot do is make a landing from an unescorted transport if an enemy sub is in the sea zone.





