@Stalingradski:
Fellas, we have a problem. When I was looking over the dice results on my phone today at work, I noticed that there were two US bombardments in the Phillipines battle (one of them hit)… and there weren’t supposed to be any at all because of the single kamikaze. Apparently this old platform we’re using isn’t up to date on that rule. Please let me know if I’m wrong. I didn’t notice it last night when I played, because I was too wrapped up in the moment.
I’d like input from all concerned, but I see two choices:
#1 Take away one hit from the attacker for the first round of combat, add a defensive unit back in for round two, and roll for it to see if it hits. If it does, we have to take away a US unit for round 3, and consult the order of dice rolls, etc… not an easy task, but I think it’s doable.
#2 Reroll the battle with the dicey here, edit the map accordingly, and go from there.
The second option is much easier, but I have to say very selfishly that there’s a very small chance we’ll get those results again. This situation sucks, because even if there had been one more Japanese unit to roll, the battle would have unfolded in a pretty similar fashion. My instinct is that if one Japanese unit (a fighter) existed for two more rounds to fight, it would have hit once, and there would be one more Japanese unit left in defense for the final battle (an armor). I’d like other minds to grapple with this.
Thoughts? Am I even applying the kamikaze rule properly?
Yes, Kamis have this property : they cancel all bombard from boats, just as scrambling 1 plane does.
Since i’ve no doubts that there isn’t any malicious intention here, i would say, let’s leave it as it is…
solution 1 is complicated. Solution 2 is unfair for you.
When i said, in an earlier post, that you would need a miracle, i had in mind that i can still use 5 kamis vs Anzac cruiser, and that i can still scramble…
ANZAC PLAY :
Exemple 1: you don’t send planes into sz35 to escort your Cruiser, i scramble 3 fgt and use all my kamis = there is no amphibious assault !
Exemple 2: you send just 1 plane in sz35, i scramble and use my kamis, and there is very probably no amphibious assault.
Exemple 3: you send 2 planes in sz35, then i don’t scramble, i just kill the cruiser with kamis, and we have a battle: 1tnk + 3fgt vs 1tnk, 2tac, 3fgt…
So i think it’s over, but we never now, miracles happen sometimes…
So, you can leave it as it is, there is no problem. If you happen to win this battle, i say you deserve it and we’ll be happy to play some more rounds !