XPAD-01 Dairy Qyrn (AXIS) vs Team MountainHIGH

  • TripleA

    This game will be over by the time that makes it to india jeez man.

  • TripleA

    the question is can usa really afford to invest more in the atlantic? you can hold two seperate naval positions. I am pretty sure a placed destroyer does not prevent me from loading then again I do not have a ruling from kreig.

  • TripleA

    I am going off of RAW, but I will try to see if I can get an official ruling from kreig.

  • Customizer

    @Cow:

    the question is can usa really afford to invest more in the atlantic? you can hold two seperate naval positions. I am pretty sure a placed destroyer does not prevent me from loading then again I do not have a ruling from kreig.

    the way I understand it is this:

    you can either:

    1. Kill the destroyer, then load and unload IN non-combat phase.  (meaning you get no amphibious assaults this turn, but at least you can load from west germany and/or berlin)

    or

    2. You move out of the sea zone, load, then come back into it, and unload for an amphibious assault.  (meaning you can not load from west germany)

  • Customizer

    option 1, loading in noncombat, you would have to move the destroyers out of the sea zone though, because otherwise they are in the combat and can no longer move (they could still be loaded though, if i know the rules correctly).

  • Customizer

    @Cow:

    you are 1 vc from victory and I am 2. let me do what I do, trust me on this one, I am pretty sure you got this but I want to have fun.

    fair enough

    USA is in a tough pickle in the pacific.  he can only do 1 of the battles I gave him, he can’t do both.  and I don’t see any way for him to defend both australia and hawaii no matter what he does.

  • TripleA

    the rules state you cannot move into a contested sea zone and then load, says nothing about already being in a contested sea zone.

  • TripleA

    the rules don’t say you can fly over enemy territories, yet we do this.

  • TripleA

    At the beginning of the Combat Move phase, you may
    already have sea units in spaces containing enemy units that
    were there at the start of your turn. For example, an enemy
    may have built new sea units in a sea zone where you have
    surface warships. When your turn comes around again, you
    are sharing that sea zone with enemy forces.
    If you are sharing a sea zone with enemy surface warships
    (not submarines and/or transports), this situation requires
    you to do one of the following:
    • Remain in the sea zone and conduct combat,
    • Leave the sea zone, load units if desired, and conduct
    combat elsewhere,
    • Leave the sea zone, load units, and return to the same sea
    zone to conduct combat (you cannot load units while in a
    hostile sea zone), or
    • Leave the sea zone and conduct no combat.
    Once these sea units have moved and/or participated in
    combat, they cannot move or participate in the Noncombat
    Move phase of the turn.

    Here is what is not clear. 1st it states surface warships which transports are not. 2nd I am choosing to remain in the seazone, it does not state I cannot load units if I decide to do that.

  • TripleA

    A transport can load units while in any friendly sea zone along its route, including the sea zone it started in.

    This is under the transport section.

  • TripleA

    No where in the rules does it state a player cannot load transports in a shared sea zone.

    So if you can get an official ruling from kreig that states otherwise then sure I cannot load. Also means once allies own korea japan can never load units from japan… which would make no freaking sense.

  • TripleA

    I have played thousands of games these rules have always been the same.

  • TripleA

    I need to see an official ruling that states otherwise.


  • @Cow:

    I need to see an official ruling that states otherwise.

    Go to that thread again, I found a ruling from kreig himself. I’ll do the allies later, I spent time hunting corroboration in the FAQ since you were throwing a hissy fit and I didn’t want to proceed until all parties were satisfied with the rulings. Let me know if you’re ready to accept that you didn’t understand the rules and have been playing your ‘thousands’ of games on a flawed understanding of this rule.

  • Customizer

    to be fair to cow, i don’t think you could build naval units in a hostile sea zone in classic and revised….


  • @Veqryn:

    to be fair to cow, i don’t think you could build naval units in a hostile sea zone in classic and revised….

    Right, I address that in the other thread.

  • TripleA

    The only time that you can load transports in a hostile sea zone is in the combat movement phase in which you declare war.  This may only be done under those conditions if the transport started the turn in that sea zone and the sea zone has just become hostile as a result of the declaration of war.

    This is Kreig’s ruling back in may of last year, he is a developer so he should be right, however I cannot find where the exception is stated in his rules. Since this game has no official faq pdf that I know of, it just aggrevates me, mostly because the rules don’t make it clear. All the other games I bought were finished products except this one and this was the most expensive of the bunch and it takes the longest to play.

    I am not pissy at you seth, don’t take it personal. I just don’t ever remember something stopping a player from loading boats in revised and classic and I do remember this came up in aa50 several times and I never got a fucking answer, but a single cheesy russian destroyer placed in the baltic sea apparently stops sea lion in aa50, which is really exciting news (sarcasm). One would think that this would go in the FAQ pdf.

    I cannot be upset, I can only be disappointed. A game should try to promote action not deter it. More importantly a game should also be a finished product when released.

    I still want kreig to explain this, because I am remaining in the sea zone and conducting combat… the finished product does not say I cannot load my transports. It would take an intepretation of the rules to say otherwise and why would someone intepret the rules that way? Top this off with exception that is not stated in the rules. So before the exception to the rules came out countries not at war moved naval units to prevent transports from loading? Can you see where I am getting at?

  • TripleA

    Also Kreig’s rules are on a forum, which can get edited by any moderator. It is not an official pdf nor is it in the rulebook. Rules clarifications should be in a FAQ pdf. Changes to the rules should be in an errata. However if Larry Harris came out and said something then I could go, “oh hey he meant it to be this way and he is the guy with his name on the front of the box, it is his game.”

    Anyway do your turn seth. Place your destroyer, I won’t load the transports. I am pretty sure you need all the firepower you can get in the pacific. At least I get some free kills plus I can still smash that later or sink those ships you got there.

  • TripleA

    Also this is Garg’s tournament, he solves all rules disputes.

    I am sure Kreig is a cool guy, but Larry Harris created this game.

  • TripleA

    I am pretty sure that garg will go with kreig, but so far I have always been wrong about what garg will do.

Suggested Topics

  • 92
  • 5
  • 59
  • 70
  • 98
  • 126
  • 29
  • 43
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures

35

Online

17.8k

Users

40.4k

Topics

1.8m

Posts