Thanks for your reply. The rules around this are subtle for me.
In the 1941 rules, “Order of Play” > “Step 7. Conclude Combat” > “Liberating a Territory”, it says:
“If the original controller’s capital is in enemy hands at the end of the turn in which you would otherwise have liberated the territory, you capture the territory instead.”
I’d like to understand whether this rules agrees with what you wrote. Could you advise?
Thanks again.
For completeness, here the entire section under “Liberating a Territory”:
“Liberating a Territory
If you capture a territory that was originally controlled by another power on your side, you “liberate” the territory. You do not take control of it; instead, the original controller regains the territory and adjusts that power’s national production level accordingly. Any industrial complex in that territory reverts to the original controller of the territory.
If the original controller’s capital is in enemy hands at the end of the turn in which you would otherwise have liberated the territory, you capture the territory instead. You adjust your national production level instead of that power’s, and you can use any industrial complex there until the original controller’s capital is liberated. “