I have played about a dozen games of Alpha +2 (Axis usually wins, but that is another topic)
We have never used the kamikaze rules, not even once! In OOB, it wasn’t exactly clear how they were to be used properly, Alpha does clarify the kamikaze rules. But they seem kinda… cheap. I mean, I get six free Kamikaze rolls if the US combat move’s into sz 6? That’s… crazy. We just never opted to play with these, and my opponent and I play both the Axis and the Allies, so its fair either side.
Given that the Axis often win our games, we thought the kamikaze rules made the Axis even stronger. Just wondering if anybody out there thinks the same, or maybe you guys do use kamikaze? I just never see it factored in when people discuss Pacific strategy on this forum. With six kamikaze, you can really leave a smaller force on sz 6 then is normally required, and this changes the dynamics of the Pacific campaign. Thoughts?