The Germans have no destroyer present, therefore the defending air units can not hit the sub, and of course the sub can never hit planes. Think of it in terms of the combined arms rule, air units can only hit subs if they are combined with at least 1 participating destroyer, the difference with this particular combined arms is that it works while attacking and defending. In the scenario that you described, the sub would destroy the remaining transport without rolling and the defending fighters can do nothing.
Load Transports question
-
If I move into SZ110 as with my German Fleet, can I load onto the transports from Normandy after defeating the British navy that is currently there?
-
Yes, you can load, but do you mean load during Combat Movement or Noncombat Movement?
-
If the UK fleet has surface warships, you can only load the transports in noncombat movement, if they move into the sea zone in noncombat movement. If the UK fleet consists of only subs and/or transports, you can move the transports in and load them in either combat or noncombat movement. Of course, if you do it in combat movement, you do it before the sea battle and you must be doing an amphibious assault.
-
I might be reading that wrong but I thought you couldn’t load transports in a hostile sea zone. What I’m getting from this is you can in the noncombat phase??
Obviously loading a transport in a hostile sea zone in the noncombat move phase is just asking to get it sunk but I wasn’t aware that was even legal…. -
I think Krieghund means that you can load transports in non-combat after a battle where you destroy all enemy surface ships, given that taschuler said “after defeating the British navy that is currently there”.
-
Exactly. If the enemy units are all destroyed in the Conduct Combat phase, the sea zone will be friendly in the Noncombat Move phase.