Game History
Round: 3 Purchase Units - Americans Americans buy 1 fighter, 4 infantry and 2 transports; Remaining resources: 0 PUs; Combat Move - Americans Turning on Edit Mode EDIT: Turning off Edit Mode 1 destroyer and 1 submarine moved from British Convoy 2 Sea Zone to Strait of Gibraltar Sea Zone 1 destroyer moved from Denmark Strait Sea Zone to Soviet Convoy Sea Zone 1 bomber moved from United Kingdom to Soviet Convoy Sea Zone 1 fighter moved from Finland to Soviet Convoy Sea Zone 1 artillery and 1 infantry moved from United States to U.S. Eastern Coast Sea Zone 1 artillery, 1 infantry and 1 transport moved from U.S. Eastern Coast Sea Zone to South Atlantic Sea Zone 1 artillery and 1 infantry moved from South Atlantic Sea Zone to Morocco Americans take Morocco from Germans Combat - Americans Turning on Edit Mode EDIT: Removing units owned by Germans from Strait of Gibraltar Sea Zone: 1 submarine EDIT: Removing units owned by Americans from Strait of Gibraltar Sea Zone: 1 submarine EDIT: Removing units owned by Germans from Soviet Convoy Sea Zone: 2 submarines EDIT: Removing units owned by Russians from Soviet Convoy Sea Zone: 1 submarine EDIT: Changing ownership of Soviet Convoy Sea Zone from Germans to Russians EDIT: Turning off Edit Mode Battle in Soviet Convoy Sea Zone Americans attack with 1 bomber, 1 destroyer and 1 fighter Battle in Strait of Gibraltar Sea Zone Americans attack with 1 destroyer Non Combat Move - Americans 1 aaGun and 5 infantry moved from United States to U.S. Eastern Coast Sea Zone 4 infantry and 2 transports moved from U.S. Eastern Coast Sea Zone to Atlantic Sea Zone 4 infantry moved from Atlantic Sea Zone to United Kingdom 1 aaGun, 1 infantry and 1 transport moved from U.S. Eastern Coast Sea Zone to South Atlantic Sea Zone 1 aaGun and 1 infantry moved from South Atlantic Sea Zone to Morocco 1 fighter moved from United Kingdom to Norway 1 bomber moved from Soviet Convoy Sea Zone to United Kingdom 1 fighter moved from Soviet Convoy Sea Zone to Norway Place Units - Americans 1 fighter and 4 infantry placed in United States 2 transports placed in U.S. Eastern Coast Sea Zone Turn Complete - Americans Americans collect 41 PUs; end with 41 PUsG40 Botider (Axis) vs BigBadBruce (Allies) +NOs -Tech Gm1
-
1 nit … the mech inf from egypt can’t “blitz” to ethiopia by itself. mech inf moves 2 spaces when paired (and moved) with a tank.
the ethiopia results still stand, 'cuz you didn’t hit any 1’s in the battle anyway. but the mech inf needs to be relocated – he can’t get to ethiopia without a tank’s assistance if my reading of the rules is correct. let me know if i missed something…
italy coming later today…
-
1 nit … the mech inf from egypt can’t “blitz” to ethiopia by itself. mech inf moves 2 spaces when paired (and moved) with a tank.
the ethiopia results still stand, 'cuz you didn’t hit any 1’s in the battle anyway. but the mech inf needs to be relocated – he can’t get to ethiopia without a tank’s assistance if my reading of the rules is correct. let me know if i missed something…
italy coming later today…
It is not a blitz. A blits is when you attack, besides a a blitz can never occur during non combat moves.
MInf has 2 move pts, therefore can move 2 territoires during non combat moves. I feel the move is legal. If I recall right, I even double check the rules beside doing so… but I’m away now and I don’t have my rulebook with me. -
This is one of those rules that I honestly think has been miss-applied for a long time. A couple of clarifications…
A blitz - according to the rulebook, a blitz is when a tank moves 2 spaces during combat move phase. According to the rules, this can only be done as part of a combat move, and the first territory encountered must be hostile (enemy controlled). This is rarely observed… I see guys moving tanks 2 spaces all the time, thru a friendly territory to get a battle. But the rules say nothing about this being legal. There is a never a mention that I can find in Revised, Anniversary or the 1940s scenarios that suggests that a tank can move 2 spaces during non-combat.
Mech Inf - this is a new unit to the 1940s scenario … the rules state: “… when moving along with a tank, it (the mech inf) can enter an unoccupied enemy controlled territory as the first part of a two-space move that can end in a friendly or hostile territory.”
There is no mention of a mech inf moving 2 spaces by itself … the rules explicitly say it must be paired with a tank to be able to move 2 spaces. And, as with the tank, there is nothing in the rules that says a tank or a mech inf can move 2 spaces during non-combat – even though guys do it all the time.
Long and short… the mech inf in egypt can’t move to ethiopia in either combat or non-combat, since no tank is present to move with it. It does not matter to the combat, because you won that battle even without the mech inf. I just need to know where you want that unit to be placed.
If you disagree with this, feel free to post a question to one of the moderators for clarification. They’re pretty good about getting an answer to us quickly, and I will certainly abide by whatever they say. The whole 2-space movement, to me, has been misinterpreted from the start, but no one has ever really said much about it.
I will wait for an answer… no hurry.
-
Nevermind my first answer I got confused with another game.
Here my real answer :
Ok, I did ask, it’s a good point to clarify and if I’m wrong I rather know now so I don’t commit same mistake again. -
no sweat… i can live with whatever. frankly, i don’t understand why a mech inf shouldn’t be able to move 2 spaces without a tank. i mean, is it mechanized or not? but the way i understand the rule is it must be paired with a tank. let me know what answer you get… forward me the reply. contemplating italy’s move anyway…
-
proceeding… where the british mech inf is located doesn’t affect italian turn…
italy 1
purchase
none… save $10combat
south france (inf, rtl)
2 inf, 2 rtl, arm northern italygreece (4 inf)
2 inf, arm albania
ftr, tbmb northan italy
ftr southern italyalexandria (inf)
inf, rtl tobruktunis (inf)
inf, rtl libyaalgeria (inf)
inf, arm tobruk via trn sz97> sz96 > sz92
ca sz95 > sz92 for bombardmentmorocco (inf)
inf, minf tobruk via trn sz97 > sz96 > sz92
ca, bb sz97> sz92 for bombardmentgibraltar ( )
2 inf southern italy via trn sz95 > sz92kenya ( )
inf somaliland -
south france
2 inf/2 rtl @ 2, arm @ 3
Rolls: 4@2 1@3; Total Hits: 14@2: (4, 5, 4, 1)1@3: (4)
vs
inf/rtl @ 2
Rolls: 2@2; Total Hits: 02@2: (3, 6) -
french infantry killed…
south france
2 inf/2 rtl @ 2, arm @ 3
Rolls: 4@2 1@3; Total Hits: 24@2: (6, 2, 5, 3)1@3: (1)
vs
rtl @ 2
Rolls: 1@2; Total Hits: 01@2: (6) -
south france taken w/out loss … minor ic and naval base seized
greece
2 inf @ 1, arm/2 ftr @ 3, tbmb @ 4
Rolls: 2@1 3@3 1@4; Total Hits: 32@1: (6, 6)3@3: (4, 2, 2)1@4: (2)
vs
4 inf @ 2
Rolls: 4@2; Total Hits: 14@2: (3, 3, 3, 2) -
3 greek infantry killed,… 1 italian infantry killed…
greece
inf @ 1, arm/2 ftr @ 3, tbmb @ 4
Rolls: 1@1 3@3 1@4; Total Hits: 31@1: (1)3@3: (6, 3, 6)1@4: (2)
vs
inf @ 2
Rolls: 1@2; Total Hits: 01@2: (6) -
greece taken w/ loss of inf
alexandria
inf/rtl @ 2
Rolls: 2@2; Total Hits: 12@2: (6, 2)
vs
inf @ 2
Rolls: 1@2; Total Hits: 01@2: (3) -
alexandria taken w/out loss
tunis
inf/rtl @ 2
Rolls: 2@2; Total Hits: 12@2: (4, 2)
vs
inf @ 2
Rolls: 1@2; Total Hits: 01@2: (4) -
tunis taken w/out loss
algeria
inf @ 1, arm/ca @ 3
Rolls: 1@1 2@3; Total Hits: 21@1: (1)2@3: (2, 6)
vs
inf @ 2
Rolls: 1@2; Total Hits: 11@2: (1) -
algeria taken w/ loss of inf
morocco
inf/minf @ 1, ca @ 3, bb @ 4
Rolls: 2@1 1@3 1@4; Total Hits: 22@1: (5, 4)1@3: (2)1@4: (1)
vs
inf @ 2
Rolls: 1@2; Total Hits: 01@2: (3) -
morocco taken w/out loss
gibraltar taken w/out opposition… naval and air bases seized
kenya taken w/out oppositionnoncombat
2 ftr, tbmb greece > southern italy
sub, 2 dd sz95 > sz92deployment
nonecollect
$18 (territories) + $5 (north africa morocco to alexandria) + $5 (greece / gibraltar / southern france) + $10 saved = $38i still show the mech inf in ethiopia per your combat move that being resolved. you can put him wherever you want per the answer you get to your question. france is up …
-
thanks for posting the question… i saw where someone responded. i am not familiar with that person… i sent a pm to krieghund, who is one of the board moderators and game designers/testers, and asked him to look at the thread and comment. i added my own post, which goes deeper than simply our question, to the broader issue of whether armor (and mech inf) are ever supposed to be able to move 2 spaces in non-combat. it is a common-place move, but i can’t find it discussed anywhere in the rules or faqs. anyway, i went ahead with italy and left the mech inf in ethiopia. you can move him back to egypt if you want, doesn’t matter to me. you’re up with france…
-
well, i can’t say krieghund’s answer to our question made the issue any clearer… if anything, i am more confused. but long and short, the mech inf stays in ethiopia. france is up…
-
I deducted from Italian cash in hand. I think you forgot 3 convoy in z93 and 1 convoy in z72. Am I right?
France
Non combat moves
z72 > z81 : DD
FWA> FCA : Inf
SYR > JOR : Inf
z93 > z94 : Cr -
I deducted from Italian cash in hand. I think you forgot 3 convoy in z93 and 1 convoy in z72. Am I right?
Yep… that would be correct… $34 for Italy.
-
Up to you with Germany, isn’t? Just wondering





