This is one of those rules that I honestly think has been miss-applied for a long time. A couple of clarifications…
A blitz - according to the rulebook, a blitz is when a tank moves 2 spaces during combat move phase. According to the rules, this can only be done as part of a combat move, and the first territory encountered must be hostile (enemy controlled). This is rarely observed… I see guys moving tanks 2 spaces all the time, thru a friendly territory to get a battle. But the rules say nothing about this being legal. There is a never a mention that I can find in Revised, Anniversary or the 1940s scenarios that suggests that a tank can move 2 spaces during non-combat.
Mech Inf - this is a new unit to the 1940s scenario … the rules state: “… when moving along with a tank, it (the mech inf) can enter an unoccupied enemy controlled territory as the first part of a two-space move that can end in a friendly or hostile territory.”
There is no mention of a mech inf moving 2 spaces by itself … the rules explicitly say it must be paired with a tank to be able to move 2 spaces. And, as with the tank, there is nothing in the rules that says a tank or a mech inf can move 2 spaces during non-combat – even though guys do it all the time.
Long and short… the mech inf in egypt can’t move to ethiopia in either combat or non-combat, since no tank is present to move with it. It does not matter to the combat, because you won that battle even without the mech inf. I just need to know where you want that unit to be placed.
If you disagree with this, feel free to post a question to one of the moderators for clarification. They’re pretty good about getting an answer to us quickly, and I will certainly abide by whatever they say. The whole 2-space movement, to me, has been misinterpreted from the start, but no one has ever really said much about it.
I will wait for an answer… no hurry.