From the rules page 16
“A trn can pick up cargo, move 1 or 2 sz, and unload the cargo all in the same move. THE CARGO CAN BE PICKED UP BEFORE, DURING OR AFTER THE TRANSPORT MOVES.”
So what can a trn do during non-combat?
- It can pick up cargo
- It can move
- It can unload (ends the turn)
All those statements above are always true. There is nothing in the rules that states that if you do X you can’t do Y. You have the option to do none, some or all of those actions in any given order except when you unload because then the turn is over.
Those who wrote the rules must write that list of actions in one order or other so I see this just as a list of options for the trn with no particular order. If they had written it “A trn can move 1 or 2 sz, pick up cargo and unload cargo all in the same move.” would you really have played it that way? If you read that list by the letter then all the trn can do IS pick up/move 1-2 steps/unload and NOTHING ELSE!
However the second statement (even in bold to make it obvious) makes this clear that this IS NOT the intention of those who wrote the rules. Here they say that you can pick up cargo whenever you like during your turn (BTW, here they use OR again when it should be AND as well as they do on page 21 “either load OR unload” because you can pick up 1 inf, move, pick up one more) and not just at the start before you move as the list implies. That clarification wasn’t needed for unload (they thought that but boy how wrong they where) because it ends the turn for the trn so obviously unload (if it happens) will always be done last in the turn.
So where is all this rambling heading at? My point is that you read the rules wrong if you think those actions for the trn is stated in some particular order. So the conclusion is that IT IS FULLY LEGAL TO MOVE/MOVE/LOAD/UNLOAD in Non-Combat as well.