The Germans have no destroyer present, therefore the defending air units can not hit the sub, and of course the sub can never hit planes. Think of it in terms of the combined arms rule, air units can only hit subs if they are combined with at least 1 participating destroyer, the difference with this particular combined arms is that it works while attacking and defending. In the scenario that you described, the sub would destroy the remaining transport without rolling and the defending fighters can do nothing.
Krieg: sub question
-
So here’s the scenario: Germany builds two subs in the Baltic in SZ 114 on G3, with no declaration of war against Russia, where the Russians have moved their destroyer on R1 (playing the latest Alpha setup). Germany declares war on Russia on G4. In the combat move phase of G4, the Germans want to move their two subs out of SZ 114 (where they are currently alongside the Russian destroyer) to attack the Russian BB and TR in SZ 115. Does the Russian destroyer stop the Germans from moving, forcing the two subs to attack the destroyer, or can the Germans move their subs out of the Russian destroyer seazone and into the Russian BB/TR seazone to conduct combat against the Russian navy?
Longtime reader, second-time poster. Thanks Krieg!
-
I think they can leave 114 and attack 115
-
So here’s the scenario: Germany builds two subs in the Baltic in SZ 114 on G3, with no declaration of war against Russia, where the Russians have moved their destroyer on R1 (playing the latest Alpha setup). Germany declares war on Russia on G4. In the combat move phase of G4, the Germans want to move their two subs out of SZ 114 (where they are currently alongside the Russian destroyer) to attack the Russian BB and TR in SZ 115. Does the Russian destroyer stop the Germans from moving, forcing the two subs to attack the destroyer, or can the Germans move their subs out of the Russian destroyer seazone and into the Russian BB/TR seazone to conduct combat against the Russian navy?
Longtime reader, second-time poster. Thanks Krieg!
Where did the Russians get a destroyer to move on R1?
-
Welcome, C_Moss_80!
Calvin’s right, they can move out. Destroyers never stop enemy subs from leaving a sea zone. They only stop their movement when they enter it.
-
Another Russian/German naval question. Pretty sure I know but want to clearify….
Russian Battleship (while NOT at war with Germany), moves in the same sea zone as a Brittish Battleship… Germans attack that sea zone. Is this a declaration of war? Or do I simply ignore the Russian Battleship and only attack the Brit ship…
I want to say I ignore the Russian Battleship and proceed with normal combat toward the Brits.
-
You ignore the Russian battleship.
-
Thanks!