A lot of posters seemed stunned at this scenario, never scene it ever happen or even could happen. Now that I mulled it over last night and looked at the rules and so forth it is very obvious to me why no one has ever scene this scenario. Because the scenario makes no logical sense.
Italy DOW on Russia and moves in 2 tanks into Eastern Poland.
Russia is now at war with Italy and can DOW on Germany at the start of their next turn, turn 3.
Germany on Turn 3 does not DOW on Russia and just non combats into Eastern Poland.
Russia at the start of Turn 3 DOW on Germany and off we go.There is no logical reason why Russia would not DOW on Germany at the start of Turn 3, none.
Heck you could argue that it makes no logical sense that Germany did not DOW on Russia at the start of G3 since Italy brought Russia into the war and Russia WILL DOW on Germany on R3.
Hi PainState,
From my perspective, if I was planning on doing a G3 Barbarossa AND I wanted to drive towards the south, then yes, it makes sense to not DOW. My stack will be together except for the minimum required mobile units and maybe 1 AAA in Poland so Russia doesn’t attack Poland to get their NO for occupying an Axis territory. But E. Poland will be real strong because the German air will be there and maybe bombers will also be in range of a raid on the Moscow factory. Also, 5 IPCs is more income than I’d probably get as Germany on the 1st turn.
There are a few disadvantages of course. 1, Russian blockers can’t be attacked. 2, the Scandinavian units are behind. But for me that’s ok, I just use them to lay siege anyways. I never expect to get Moscow on turn 6 anymore. I assume that the UK/Anzac and that lone French fighter are going to get to Moscow.Â
Rules clarifications - another post
-
Hey guys. Gonna post my questions as a I read through the rule book. Any help is appreciated. Canals/Straits. I assume that once Morocco is seized no Allied ships can pass through this strait, correct? Silly question but want to make sure.
-
LOL! OK, never mind question 1. I jumped the gun and should have read the whole section before posting my question. I see that is whoever owns Gibraltar can use the strait and Morocco has no impact. My bad, lol.
-
US starts with 35IPC. Once in war do they only get the NO’s or does their income bump up + they still get their NO’s? We have started a game and are quite confused. If their IPC’s go up once at war AND they get their NO’s then they get a whole lot of IPC’s. Please explain.
Regards,
Captain Crunch -
The ipc bump IS an NO
-
According to Larry’s most recent posting the US NO’s are below. So the US only gets their starting 35 IPC’s and then add the NO’s below when at war, correct? Nothing else. We are under the impression it was 35 starting plus 30 when at war PLUS the NO’s on top of that 65 for a possible 90+depending on the NO’s accomplished.
United States
When at War
1. Collect 15 IPCs per turn for complete control of the continental US and Mexico (WUS, CUS, EUS).
2. Collect 5 IPC per turn if the Allies control 5 of the 7 following islands. Midway, Wake, Marianas, Iwo Jima, Caroline, Solomon Islands and Guam.
3. Collect 5 IPCs per turn for controlling the Philippines
4. Collect 5 IPCs per turn for controlling Hawaii, Alaska, the Aleutian Islands, Line Islands, and Johnston Island
5. Collect 5 IPCs for turn for controlling Southern Mexico, Central America (Panama)and the West indies -
@Captain:
According to Larry’s most recent posting the US NO’s are below. So the US only gets their starting 35 IPC’s and then add the NO’s below when at war, correct? Nothing else. We are under the impression it was 35 starting plus 30 when at war PLUS the NO’s on top of that 65 for a possible 90+depending on the NO’s accomplished.
United States
When at War
1. Collect 15 IPCs per turn for complete control of the continental US and Mexico (WUS, CUS, EUS).
2. Collect 5 IPC per turn if the Allies control 5 of the 7 following islands. Midway, Wake, Marianas, Iwo Jima, Caroline, Solomon Islands and Guam.
3. Collect 5 IPCs per turn for controlling the Philippines
4. Collect 5 IPCs per turn for controlling Hawaii, Alaska, the Aleutian Islands, Line Islands, and Johnston Island
5. Collect 5 IPCs for turn for controlling Southern Mexico, Central America (Panama)and the West indiesYou are correct. It’s the base 35 (assuming they still own all of their original territories that comprise of that 35 ipc’s), plus 30 for being at war, plus whatever amount per NO they have fulfilled for that turn.
-
@Captain:
According to Larry’s most recent posting the US NO’s are below. So the US only gets their starting 35 IPC’s and then add the NO’s below when at war, correct? Nothing else. We are under the impression it was 35 starting plus 30 when at war PLUS the NO’s on top of that 65 for a possible 90+depending on the NO’s accomplished.
United States
When at War
1. Collect 15 IPCs per turn for complete control of the continental US and Mexico (WUS, CUS, EUS).
2. Collect 5 IPC per turn if the Allies control 5 of the 7 following islands. Midway, Wake, Marianas, Iwo Jima, Caroline, Solomon Islands and Guam.
3. Collect 5 IPCs per turn for controlling the Philippines
4. Collect 5 IPCs per turn for controlling Hawaii, Alaska, the Aleutian Islands, Line Islands, and Johnston Island
5. Collect 5 IPCs for turn for controlling Southern Mexico, Central America (Panama)and the West indiesYou are correct. It’s the base 35 (assuming they still own all of their original territories that comprise of that 35 ipc’s), plus 30 for being at war, plus whatever amount per NO they have fulfilled for that turn.
Incorrect; the +30 was originally an NO that was split into the NOs listed. Thus, the US collects 35+NO’s for whatever they have.
-
Calvin’s right.
-
You all have been discussing NOs for global and starting income for Europe on this thread which I thought was for global. Unless I have completly lost it the starting income for global is 52 IPCs. Have I missed out on some new change or what?@calvinhobbesliker:
@Captain:
According to Larry’s most recent posting the US NO’s are below. So the US only gets their starting 35 IPC’s and then add the NO’s below when at war, correct? Nothing else. We are under the impression it was 35 starting plus 30 when at war PLUS the NO’s on top of that 65 for a possible 90+depending on the NO’s accomplished.
United States
When at War
1. Collect 15 IPCs per turn for complete control of the continental US and Mexico (WUS, CUS, EUS).
2. Collect 5 IPC per turn if the Allies control 5 of the 7 following islands. Midway, Wake, Marianas, Iwo Jima, Caroline, Solomon Islands and Guam.
3. Collect 5 IPCs per turn for controlling the Philippines
4. Collect 5 IPCs per turn for controlling Hawaii, Alaska, the Aleutian Islands, Line Islands, and Johnston Island
5. Collect 5 IPCs for turn for controlling Southern Mexico, Central America (Panama)and the West indiesYou are correct. It’s the base 35 (assuming they still own all of their original territories that comprise of that 35 ipc’s), plus 30 for being at war, plus whatever amount per NO they have fulfilled for that turn.
Incorrect; the +30 was originally an NO that was split into the NOs listed. Thus, the US collects 35+NO’s for whatever they have.
Calvin’s right.
-
35 is the base US income in E40. I sort of missed that. The NO split would then have to be revised for the half game
-
@Captain:
According to Larry’s most recent posting the US NO’s are below. So the US only gets their starting 35 IPC’s and then add the NO’s below when at war, correct? Nothing else. We are under the impression it was 35 starting plus 30 when at war PLUS the NO’s on top of that 65 for a possible 90+depending on the NO’s accomplished.
United States
When at War
1. Collect 15 IPCs per turn for complete control of the continental US and Mexico (WUS, CUS, EUS).
2. Collect 5 IPC per turn if the Allies control 5 of the 7 following islands. Midway, Wake, Marianas, Iwo Jima, Caroline, Solomon Islands and Guam.
3. Collect 5 IPCs per turn for controlling the Philippines
4. Collect 5 IPCs per turn for controlling Hawaii, Alaska, the Aleutian Islands, Line Islands, and Johnston Island
5. Collect 5 IPCs for turn for controlling Southern Mexico, Central America (Panama)and the West indiesYou are correct. It’s the base 35 (assuming they still own all of their original territories that comprise of that 35 ipc’s), plus 30 for being at war, plus whatever amount per NO they have fulfilled for that turn.
Incorrect; the +30 was originally an NO that was split into the NOs listed. Thus, the US collects 35+NO’s for whatever they have.
Argh, I can’t keep up with the continuing changes to the OOB rules. /sigh.





