If Japan attacks J1, putting the US at war, do they have a Major IC to place with US1? Or does it happen during the collect income phase, like the bonuses, making it operational US2?
That sounds like the way i understand the rules. Moving to an adjacent sea zone then moving to a land territory in that sea zone is 2 moves. Therefore not allowed.
The rules specifically state on page 34 that UK NO IPCs go to the Europe economy, and there is no provision in the rules for any IPCs to be transferred between the two economies under any circumstances.
Ozteas 1941 is well reviewed. If you’re comfortable with some players being at peace at the start, that is also worth a look. Starts like round 3 of 1940.
Although if you prefer the simplicity of everyone fighting right away, go to g42!