I have not played Japan very often but I am not one to hit the US right off. I like to secure China and the DEI first. Cripple or take India and pressure the ANZAC’s is next while harrassing the US with landings in Alaska and the Philipeans. Alaska doesn’t really mean that much but most US palyers will not want Japanese forces in North America. Once Japan’s IPC level is up and I can build more capitol ships and planes, that is when I move to really hit the US fleet. An Aggressive US player will make this stratagy much harder to pull off though. the game I am currently playing, the Japan player did hit the Hawaiian fleet on round one and took it on round two. The US player has been so focused on the Japan player that the Italians have taken Brazil and the Germans have landed in the West Indies and convoy raided the east coast of the US. Britain has had no help and is barely hanging on. The round 1 DOW can work if you have the right kind of player in position. To give the US player credit, he has begun to make some better playes and is pushing back but he is having to regain alot of lost ground which really help the axis players be more aggressive.
Scramble rules question when Japan is attacked.
-
For the last two tuesdays we have been playing with the Alpha setup and rules. During the session today a fleet from India attacked the Japanese fleet in sea zone six. The Japanese scrambled three planes from Japan and three planes from Korea where I had built an air base. The Brits were wiped out. Then on the ANZAC turn (the same round) a small ANZAC fleet made the same attack. So all six of these same Japanese planes scrambled again. My question is whether this is a legal move? We plan to start a game next Monday using the new Alpha+1 setup. So I need to know if we played these two battles correctly. If any are interested I am going to post my thoughts on the huge pre-war U.S. income under house rules.
-
Yes, Japan could do that. However, note that if there were no Jap ships being attacked in Z6 and the UK was amphibiously invading either Japan or Korea, only the 3 plans from the attacked territory can scramble, unless both are being invaded.
-
Yes, Japan could do that. However, note that if there were no Jap ships being attacked in Z6 and the UK was amphibiously invading either Japan or Korea, only the 3 plans from the attacked territory can scramble, unless both are being invaded.
Yes in my example Japanese ships were being attacked both times.
-
I assume because you are posting in this section, it is for the new game, global 1940.
If you are, then no, it is not a legal move. Planes may not fly up from Korea, even with an air base. It is not considered an island. Even United Kingdom’s fighters may not fly up in the event of a amphibious assault. It says so in the rule book. Read the scrambling fighters section.
Sorry, I just saw “Alpha”… Not sure what that means or is, so depending on that…
-
He’s playing with Alpha rules, which allows Costal Sea zone scrambling with up to 3 Ftrs/Tacs.
-
Oh ok. My bad then… Thanks… Didn’t know there was Alpha rules, etc. :|
-
No worries :-D It’s in a bunch of other threads, but here’s the latest Alpha+1. Frankly though I like Alpha+ the best so far. I think it’s the most balanced. Haven’t tried +1 yet though.
Alpha+1 here:
http://www.harrisgamedesign.com/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=40&t=4060





