• The convoy routes in the original AAP? I never played that version.

    Just took a look at the rules though, so basically it’s like a territory that you have to hold. If you hold an enemies’ convoy box you do that much damage to their economy. And it’s a separate sea-zone, am I getting that about right?


  • i think so, i have played Europe 1999 edition and thats how we played it then


  • yes. at least i think. that is how i plaed it.

    if you hold it you dont collect the income.
    but the represented player does


  • The setup chart doesn’t say which territory the 4 Finnish infantry start in (I would assume Helsinki)

    yes he said that a while back.

    Can a single mech/tnk activate 2 minor axis in one turn? Or does it have to stop in the first Minor Axis it activates?

    i dont think so. i belive he said something about this before

    If Poland is not attacked or survives the attack from Germany on round 1 it becomes Pro-Allied, does that refer to Warsaw or all of Poland? If only the units in East Poland survive the attack can they attack Germany (or Russia if they survive a Russian attack on Round 1)?

    you’d matter as well end the game if Germany cant take Poland on the 1st turn, but the UK player will represent the pols if (in the rare chance that they dont get taken)


  • @cminke:

    yes. at least i think. that is how i plaed it.

    if you hold it you dont collect the income.
    but the represented player does

    Right, so by holding it you prevent the other player from receiving that income, but you don’t steal it for your own.


  • Lol some more questions:

    1. Can mechanized infantry blitz by itself?
    2. Does mech boost artillery +1 in movement only on blitz? Or can it tow artillery through a friendly space and then into combat?
    3. If Russia is at war with Japan can Communist Chinese and Russian forces attack the same territory at the same time?
    4. Do UK/ANZAC/French forces attack at the same time?
    5. It says that the UK can move at the same time as Russia as long as Russia isn’t at war with Germany and Japan isn’t at war with the UK. So that means for the first round at least the UK can move it’s forces out of position from Japanese attack?

    Thanks for all of your answers.

  • '14

    @Sgt.:

    @cminke:

    yes. at least i think. that is how i plaed it.

    if you hold it you dont collect the income.
    but the represented player does

    Right, so by holding it you prevent the other player from receiving that income, but you don’t steal it for your own.

    Correct

  • '14

    @Sgt.:

    Lol some more questions:

    1. Can mechanized infantry blitz by itself?Mech Inf. move at a 2, combat or NCM
    2. Does mech boost artillery +1 in movement only on blitz? Or can it tow artillery through a friendly space and then into combat?
    Mech Inf can tow artillery , 1/1 pairing of course.
    3. If Russia is at war with Japan can Communist Chinese and Russian forces attack the same territory at the same time?
    Yes, C.China move at same time as Russia.
    4. Do UK/ANZAC/French forces attack at the same time?Yes
    5. It says that the UK can move at the same time as Russia as long as Russia isn’t at war with Germany and Japan isn’t at war with the UK. So that means for the first round at least the UK can move it’s forces out of position from Japanese attack?No, Because Japan has already moved with the Germans! If Germany and Russia are not at war, then Germany and Japan can move at the same time. On turn 1, Germany and Japan move first. If Japan does not attack Russia then Russia and UK/Commonwealth move at same time. Once Russia is brought into the war they move in between germany and Japan and UK moves after Japan.

    Thanks for all of your answers.

  • '14

    @cminke:

    The setup chart doesn’t say which territory the 4 Finnish infantry start in (I would assume Helsinki)

    yes he said that a while back.Yes, Helsinki

    Can a single mech/tnk activate 2 minor axis in one turn? Or does it have to stop in the first Minor Axis it activates?

    i dont think so. i belive he said something about this beforeIt’s a NCM so Technically it can!

    If Poland is not attacked or survives the attack from Germany on round 1 it becomes Pro-Allied, does that refer to Warsaw or all of Poland? If only the units in East Poland survive the attack can they attack Germany (or Russia if they survive a Russian attack on Round 1)?

    you’d matter as well end the game if Germany cant take Poland on the 1st turn, but the UK player will represent the pols if (in the rare chance that they dont get taken)Only if Warsaw isn’t taken. If Warsaw is taken Poland as a whole is defeated.

  • '14

    @Sgt.:

    A couple of questions:

    1. Can a single mech/tnk activate 2 minor axis in one turn? Or does it have to stop in the first Minor Axis it activates?

    2. Was looking for an explanation of the convoy rules and couldn’t find one, forgive me if this has already been answered.If you have a naval unit in an enemy convoy box that country loses those IPC’s.  Thats it!!

    Do those convoy boxes function to link the surrounding seazones to a convoy path? So if I have 1 Italian sub in sz27 and 1 ss in sz32 I can do 4 convoy damage against the UK? Does the 3 IPC limit mean a limit of 3 from each sea zone or 3 total?All IPC’s

    3. If Poland is not attacked or survives the attack from Germany on round 1 it becomes Pro-Allied, does that refer to Warsaw or all of Poland? If only the units in East Poland survive the attack can they attack Germany (or Russia if they survive a Russian attack on Round 1)?

    4. Is Iceland Pro-Allied?Owned by Denmark, Strict neutral and if Germany takes Denmark then Iceland is allied.

    5. Is the fortification in Reims disabled if part of the German attack comes from Holland? Or does the whole attack have to come from Holland in order for the Maginot Line to be ignored?Yes, the whole attack will have to come from Holland.

    6. The setup chart doesn’t say which territory the 4 Finnish infantry start in (I would assume Helsinki).

    Thanks a bunch!


  • Thanks very much for all of your answers. The game will proceed! And Kong has to take back that sneaky attack on Riems and roll it again  :-)

  • '14

    Lol, yea. Unless you seperate who is attacking from where!! If half your forces ate comming from Riems and the other half from Holland, then half your forces are going up against the maginot line! My rule is all or none.


  • All or none is better.


  • Hey got a quiestion:

    Vichy rule:

    If a French territory is captured by vichy french in the dice rolling, lets say Northen Algeria, then the IPC goes to Germany right? or has vichy france able to purchase units as well?

  • '14

    All Vichy IPC’s go to Germany. Vichy do not collect income.


  • A few more questions  :-D

    1. Does Communist China have any starting IPCs? Nationalist China doesn’t so it would make sense that the commies don’t get it either.
    2. Does Italy get the NO for no allied surface warships in the Med even if it’s not at war?
    3. Does FEC get the NO for owning Calcutta, Hong Kong, Singapore even if it’s not at war?
    4. If a capital is captured do the IPCs go to the bank or to the victor?
    5. Are Mexico and Eire Pro-Allied?

  • '14

    @Sgt.:

    A few more questions  :-D

    1. Does Communist China have any starting IPCs?no Nationalist China doesn’t so it would make sense that the commies don’t get it either.
    2. Does Italy get the NO for no allied surface warships in the Med even if it’s not at war?only after they join the axis
    3. Does FEC get the NO for owning Calcutta, Hong Kong, Singapore even if it’s not at war?FEC will get this NO because they are at war with Germany!
    4. If a capital is captured do the IPCs go to the bank or to the victor?I will clear this up in my next rule revision. The conqouring nation will collect the money and not the bank.
    5. Are Mexico and Eire Pro-Allied?No, they are strict neutral


  • Excellent thanks!


  • Starting up another game and a player had almost as many questions as I had.

    1. If a minor axis power is conquered, does the conquering power collect the IPCs in the bank?
    2. What territory in Finland has to be captured before it is considered “conquered”? Helsinki or all.
    3. The US is limited to moving in a US held seazone prior to going to war. Does a US convoy zone count?
    4. If Holland is not captured on Round 1 can the UK still non-com into the DEI and capture the territories?
    5. “Rule II 1. Industrial Complex states that Pro-Allied countries cannot place IC’s in their country, when activated they are absorbed into the occupying countries’ army and income.” Is that referring to Yugoslavia losing it’s factory if liberated by an Ally before and Axis? Or does that mean that you can’t build IC’s in Pro-Allied countries after liberating them? But can you build factories in Pro-Axis countries? What about allied powers’ territories that have been liberated while their capital is controlled by the enemy, can you build factories there?
    6. If Japan declares war on Russia can it no longer play it’s turn before Russia on the turn it declares war?
    7. When Germany first attacks Russia it can select one territory to surprise attack, can it select a sea zone?
    8. Do the strat bombing rules function exactly the same as G40 (except for the different attack/defense values)?
    9. Are the following linked?
    Quebec – Nova Scotia
    Labrador – Newfoundland
    Belfast – Scotland
    Greece – Corintine
    Sicily – Taranto
    11. The Pripet Marshes are semi-impassable, I’m assuming that means that aircraft can fly over?

    Thanks again for all your answers!

    Also, just noticed that there is no border between Nova Scotia and Quebec.

  • '14

    @Sgt.:

    Starting up another game and a player had almost as many questions as I had.

    1. If a minor axis power is conquered, does the conquering power collect the IPCs in the bank?yes
    2. What territory in Finland has to be captured before it is considered “conquered”?Helsinki
    3. The US is limited to moving in a US held seazone prior to going to war. Does a US convoy zone count?The U.S. units have to end their turn in a U.S. held territory or sea zone, this includes convoy boxes.
    4. If Holland is not captured on Round 1 can the UK still non-com into the DEI and capture the territories?Only if the Dutch have entered the war.
    5. “Rule II 1. Industrial Complex states that Pro-Allied countries cannot place IC’s in their country, when activated they are absorbed into the occupying countries’ army and income.” Is that referring to Yugoslavia losing it’s factory if liberated by an Ally before and Axis? Or does that mean that you can’t build IC’s in Pro-Allied countries after liberating them? But can you build factories in Pro-Axis countries? What about allied powers’ territories that have been liberated while their capital is controlled by the enemy, can you build factories there?Remember that Pro-Allied, Pro-Axis, and Minor Axis coutries are in a neutral state until activated. For game balancing purposes once the Pro-allied territories are entered by the allies they are considerd part of the allied army. The territory is not an  original territory so an IC cannot be placed. Pro Axis and Minor Axis on the other hand can have an IC placed in their territory. This rule is strictly to help balance the game.
    6. If Japan declares war on Russia can it no longer play it’s turn before Russia on the turn it declares war? Once Japan and Russia are at war Japan has to make its turn after Russia.
    7. When Germany first attacks Russia it can select one territory to surprise attack, can it select a sea zone? No, just a territory.
    8. Do the strat bombing rules function exactly the same as G40 (except for the different attack/defense values)?yes
    9. Are the following linked?
    Quebec – Nova Scotia no
    Labrador – Newfoundlandno
    Belfast – Scotlandno
    Greece – Corintineno
    Sicily – Tarantono
    11. The Pripet Marshes are semi-impassable, I’m assuming that means that aircraft can fly over?yes

    Thanks again for all your answers!

    Also, just noticed that there is no border between Nova Scotia and Quebec.

Suggested Topics

  • 2
  • 15
  • 21
  • 1
  • 73
  • 5
  • 11
  • 10
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures

183

Online

17.7k

Users

40.3k

Topics

1.7m

Posts