Last night an american destroyer ended up in the Agean sea zone, the italy can build into. Did we understand correctly that it can both cost italy a dollar then blockade germany for a buck if germany owns yugoslavia and greece?
Of course it can. It makes no difference that originally it was a neutral territory. Its current status is a territory of the United States and therefore, with an IPC value of two,it can be a location where a minor industrial complex can be placed.
if the brits have a ship in sz 119, (the one left of Scotland) by T2 you can plug the canal at 112 T3 and hold up sea lion til T4 giving the US time to counter
Each power starts the game with a number of IPCs equal to its starting income level. No IPCs are received for any National Objectives that may be satisfied at the start of the game.
Interesting about the American landings. Do you think the Italy first strategy would have gotten better results?
That would have worked better than the landings on France. Italy was earning some 30 IPCs and was preparing to defend S. Italy from the US (it was sending a DD to block the US fleet from moving into the Med) but the US could have gained access easy. Another thing that he should have done would be to force passage through the Danish Straits by taking Denmark with the UK then sending an US fleet through it. Then Norway would be impossible to take back (bye bye Sweden NO).
The rules for scrambling specifically state that you may only scramble if combat is occurs in the sea zone surrounding the island with the air base. This combat may be either a straight naval battle if defending naval units exist in the sea zone or just an amphibious attack launched from the sea zone if there are no existing defending naval units.