@Krieghund:
OK. I’m not sure what the actual game situation really is here, so I’ll just address the rules question. The rule is that transports may load in a hostile sea zone only if they started the turn in the sea zone and it just became hostile as a result of a declaration of war in that turn. Beyond that, all normal rules applying to units beginning the turn in a hostile sea zone apply.
For example, if a German transport and a Soviet battleship share sea zone 115 at the beginning of G2, then Germany declares war on the USSR at the beginning of the Combat Move phase, Germany may load units from Finland onto the transport for an amphibous assault on Novgorod despite the presence of the Soviet battleship. However, those same units may not unload into Novgorod unless the Soviet battleship is sunk, clearing the sea zone of enemy surface warships and making it friendly to Germany.
And, presumably, take the loaded infantry and use them in an amphibious assault assuming a clear path (no enemy warships in the way.)
I knew it was SOMETHING, I just couldnt remember what it was. So yea, I was not permitted to move the transport through SZ 14 to get to SZ 113 and pick up the guys in Denmark. Didn’t turn out to be a huge deal, what was more of a huge deal was SOMEONE ROLLING MY DICE FOR ME! (that is the epitome of being rude, in my book. Defender is one thing, rolling my attacking dice is RUDE! It is almost unforgivable!)