A lot of posters seemed stunned at this scenario, never scene it ever happen or even could happen. Now that I mulled it over last night and looked at the rules and so forth it is very obvious to me why no one has ever scene this scenario. Because the scenario makes no logical sense.
Italy DOW on Russia and moves in 2 tanks into Eastern Poland.
Russia is now at war with Italy and can DOW on Germany at the start of their next turn, turn 3.
Germany on Turn 3 does not DOW on Russia and just non combats into Eastern Poland.
Russia at the start of Turn 3 DOW on Germany and off we go.There is no logical reason why Russia would not DOW on Germany at the start of Turn 3, none.
Heck you could argue that it makes no logical sense that Germany did not DOW on Russia at the start of G3 since Italy brought Russia into the war and Russia WILL DOW on Germany on R3.
Hi PainState,
From my perspective, if I was planning on doing a G3 Barbarossa AND I wanted to drive towards the south, then yes, it makes sense to not DOW. My stack will be together except for the minimum required mobile units and maybe 1 AAA in Poland so Russia doesn’t attack Poland to get their NO for occupying an Axis territory. But E. Poland will be real strong because the German air will be there and maybe bombers will also be in range of a raid on the Moscow factory. Also, 5 IPCs is more income than I’d probably get as Germany on the 1st turn.
There are a few disadvantages of course. 1, Russian blockers can’t be attacked. 2, the Scandinavian units are behind. But for me that’s ok, I just use them to lay siege anyways. I never expect to get Moscow on turn 6 anymore. I assume that the UK/Anzac and that lone French fighter are going to get to Moscow.Â
Seeking confirmation of DJensen's listing of NO's
-
Someone who has the actual E40 rulebook, please confirm or edit:
-
Germany - Egypt ground unit is worth 5, not 3.
-
UK - 5 IPC’s for no German subs on the entire board (previously reported as no G/I subs in Atlantic)
-
UK - control all of ANZAC and UK original territories (previously reported as all Canada and ANZAC territories)
4) USSR - Z125 has to be free of Axis ships. Is this surface warships, or are subs included? Is it really Z125, the zone off the west coast of Norway, or is it Z127, the zone north of Arc?
- US - (Europe only) 5 when the UK takes certain European territories (really the UK, or should it be US, or UK/US?) Seems odd.
-
-
Well, in answer to number 5, DJensen has both the US and the UK as having the same NO there for the Europe game only.
“UK.2 – Collect a one time 5 IPC payment the first time the UK liberates one of: Normandy/Bordeaux, Holland/Belgium, or Western Germany”
“USA.2 – Collect a one time 5 IPC payment the first tim the UK liberates one of: Normandy/Bordeaux, Holland/Belgium, or Western Germany”
1 and 2 the changes don’t make a whole lot of difference I guess, but 3 and 4 I find really weird.
-
Where did Djensen post the Europe NOs? I’ve only seen the Global NOs.
-
Where did Djensen post the Europe NOs? I’ve only seen the Global NOs.
They’re both on the latest preview (#5) on the home page.
-
Krieg corrected the US one about Normandy/Bordeux
It is supposed to be if the US has it.
-
Krieg corrected the US one about Normandy/Bordeux
It is supposed to be if the US has it.
Thanks - that’s the kind of thing I was asking for.