@nishav said in China liberates Hong Kong:
Per these two sentences in the Chinese rules, China cannot build in Kwangtung under any circumstances because it has a British mark on the board, not a Kuomintang marker, right?
Correct!
It is indeed a bit confusing that they have their own symbol, but at the same time really just being a pro ALLIED neutral in Pacific40 (with some special rules) and a GERMAN (already conquered) territory in Europe40.
Pretty much why I’ve always said that the roundels on the territories should all be from 1939, so you can simply place control markers according to the various starting set-ups.
For 1939 Netherlands should have the Dutch roundel as depicted, for a 1940 start it would be the inverted orange triangle symbol adopted to avoid confusion with the British and French red-white-blue colours.