If it was a destroyer, there is no surprise attack, and the destroyer should fire first.
True, but that doesn’t change the fact that both attacking ships would be lost if both subs hit. :wink:
Ok… here the scenario…
Rd2 Britian moves its battleship and purchases (Carrier / 2 Destroyers) to seas zone occupied by German sub. When the US goes later in RD2 they attempt to attack the sub with a bomber (sighting that a “friendly” destroyer is in the seazone). Is this the correct interpertation of the rules?
No.
There can be no multinational attacks (pag 21 of the manual) thus the UK destroyer does not count when you attack the German submarine with the US since it can’t participate on the attack.
This scenario is described on the Submarine Section of the AA50 FAQ.
Hobbes is correct. The destroyer must be in the battle, not just in the sea zone.