• D_mus,
    What if the 2 hit BB survives … so that your forces are split. The BAL sz TRN is toast as is the W SPA sz SUB!
    Or if the UK sz attack fails … shorting you 1 TRN. The Kreigsmarine is in dire straights. :cry:

    I believe I would build the CV and TRN (or maybe a SUB, depending on what air force Germany had left and what Navy I thought they would have when I was done. :evil:


  • F_k,
    I can see D_B_'s idea.
    Use the 2 INF to take HAW with a BB and you likely still have 2 INF (or 1 INF)
    (1 INF) Take NZ on the next turn.
    (2 INF) Take Alaska if no FTRs/ARM in range. (and the US player doesn’t build in W US move units to W CAN, E CAN and then shuffle them to W EUR.)

    But I use the IND-Africa IJN move myself most of the time.


  • Wait a minute–land units get a counter vs. a BB bombardment? That’s not how we’ve ever played! At first we played that the bombardment casualties are normal casualties that get a counter, but only vs. the land units in the attack. Then when I got the computer game it was obvious that we were wrong & BB bombard casualties got NO counter. Now you’re telling me the original was right all along??? If that’s true then I’m really p***ed at the computer game, which I thought was more-or-less official, at least barring bugs & it’s ignorance of the Suez Canal rule!

    :evil: :evil: :evil:

    Ozone27


  • D_B_,
    No. No one will correct you!
    We are all gods*!
    Gods are perfekt as you nkow.

    *Except for F_k and F_S who have rejected their godhood!
    Or are you one of those A[whatever]ists, too, D_B_ ? :P


  • You’re not the only one fooled by the cd O_27, but read p.15 on 2nd ed. rules.

    God’s cool Xi! 8)


  • I know I am! :roll:


  • @Dirt:

    Ok. Hit where the US cannot counter on its turn. If there are no landing spots, then turn around and go home. The point is to distract the US anyway and with 2BBs US has to put up better defence in the Pacific.

    After US1, with not much distraction (say 5 IPCs for a tank), there is not too much space left to do that. I would say: there is none left.
    The US will start their “shuttle service” with Infs built in Eastern US. Not big change to the overall strategy.
    So, once you have landed/tried to land somewhere, you will need to replenish those Infs that you lost in that attack.

    @F_alk:

    Sure, but why the pacific? Why not… India?

    Yes, yes. The point is to use the BBs, especially their bombardment.

    But with a single (or two) shots before the amph assault, you would prefer to take on countries that do not have more than one or two defending units. 2 Infs attacking 1 Inf have the odds on their side, but are very likely to lose 1 Inf themselves. So, you kind of depend on the shots, which happen exactly once: nothing to rely too much on, i would say, unless you want to strafe.

    Having the Med UK BB means almost one extra casualty per amph asslt from UK (and it do get to fire back). But in 2HBB trying kill the BB could mean one extra German plane loss (I’m guessing you send a plane to kill the Med BB too?). Thats almost one extra casualty per round of defending. I would rather keep the plane and suffer bombardment.

    I guess you don’t believe in buying a TRN on G1?

    First: if i send my BB on the the british one on G1, there is no cannon fodder with the UK ship, that means two succesful attacks and its over. Assume i take the Tranny, the BB and a fighter to attack, that ship should be dead at the expense of the Tranny.

    So, i like to build Trannies for Germany, but usually i don’t play 2H BBs, so for that my “standard G1” has to be modified anyway.

    For your “per round of defending” and “per amph assault”:
    The first only is important if there are more defending forces with it, or you attack with just a few pieces. The second can become costly, when the UK starts to assault with 1 Inf each round (sey W.E.). He will lose that one, but chances are that i lose up to two Infs as Germany. Plus: I always have to put an “extra” Inf to EE. So, i have to commit units worth 6 IPCs just because of that threat, plus i have to replace any losses. That can turn up to be as much worth as a fighter in a single round.
    I really prefer to see that british BB dead on G1.


  • @F_alk:

    After US1, with not much distraction (say 5 IPCs for a tank), there is not too much space left to do that. I would say: there is none left.

    Yes, make the US “fill in the blanks” in North America. :)
    @F_alk:

    Sure, but why the pacific? Why not… India? The Indian Ocean, South and North Atlantic are much more fun for teh Japanese fleet

    I can see BBs attacking India and retaking Africa, but would you really send your fleet to North Atlantic? I guess you were just exaggerating or being sarcastic? :-?
    @F_alk:

    So, i like to build Trannies for Germany, but usually i don’t play 2H BBs, so for that my “standard G1” has to be modified anyway.

    Do you build the trannie on G1? With you BB moved it will be killed by UK1 bomber no?
    @F_alk:

    For your “per round of defending” and “per amph assault”:
    The first only is important if there are more defending forces with it, or you attack with just a few pieces. The second can become costly, when the UK starts to assault with 1 Inf each round (sey W.E.). He will lose that one, but chances are that i lose up to two Infs as Germany. Plus: I always have to put an “extra” Inf to EE. So, i have to commit units worth 6 IPCs just because of that threat, plus i have to replace any losses. That can turn up to be as much worth as a fighter in a single round.
    I really prefer to see that british BB dead on G1.

    Yeah, I’m filp-flopping on this issue (see my earlier post). You’re right, losing 1 INF per turn could end up costing more than saving a plane. With 1HBB I’ll definitely kill the Med BB. In 2HBB it’s more problematic, and in the cd it won’t let you take Gib after killing the BB. :o


  • @Dirt:

    @F_alk:

    After US1, with not much distraction (say 5 IPCs for a tank), there is not too much space left to do that. I would say: there is none left.

    Yes, make the US “fill in the blanks” in North America. :)

    That’s a delay of 1 turn. I doubt that in many situations this turns out to be the one decisive turn.

    I can see BBs attacking India and retaking Africa, but would you really send your fleet to North Atlantic? I guess you were just exaggerating or being sarcastic? :-?

    Not really. It might turn longer, but it is the only force to threaten the allied navy in the Atlantic. Depending on your way tehre, you can threat Brasil, or go through the Med.

    @F_alk:

    Do you build the trannie on G1? With you BB moved it will be killed by UK1 bomber no?

    Depends: I like to take Gibraltar on G1 as well (sacrifing a plane if i need to in the battle with the BB). The bomber then has to land either in syria or egypt. Do it, i still have one tranny to reach you there :). So: yes, i can lose the newly built tranny, but the UK will lose more if they want to take it.

    Yeah, I’m filp-flopping on this issue (see my earlier post). You’re right, losing 1 INF per turn could end up costing more than saving a plane. With 1HBB I’ll definitely kill the Med BB. In 2HBB it’s more problematic, and in the cd it won’t let you take Gib after killing the BB. :o

    Not? What a stupid bug. Can you any amph assault through a sea zone you had to fight your way through?


  • @F_alk:

    The bomber then has to land either in syria or egypt. Do it, i still have one tranny to reach you there . So: yes, i can lose the newly built tranny, but the UK will lose more if they want to take it.

    The bomber can land in Syria. Then bring troops from India and Egypt (leave 1 INF in Egypt to block a blitz). Then you can only get the bomber with 2 INFs, BB and planes. Plus the Allies can take risks and absorb the losses better while they are in better economic situation. :x
    @F_alk:

    Not? What a stupid bug. Can you any amph assault through a sea zone you had to fight your way through?

    I think this happens in general when you fight the sea battle and try to land on enemy controlled territory. You can do it in the combat movement, but you’re stuck in the combat phase. :evil: But it seems someone has develop a dice cheat for cd. That put the end to cd playing :cry: but we don’t have to put up with the bugs anymore. :)

Suggested Topics

  • 12
  • 10
  • 4
  • 8
  • 3
  • 10
  • 6
  • 16
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures

76

Online

17.8k

Users

40.5k

Topics

1.8m

Posts