On the Pacific side of our 1939 game, Japan moved all its fleet south and then on Japan#2 took India and Borneo. Now without oil the U.K. on its 2nd move rolled one die for the oil loss. It was four IPCs. We were not sure if we were supposed to do the oil loss roll then or do it on the next U.K. turn. As you can see in the photo I moved the U.S. fleet towards Japan just to give them something to worry about. Because of this Japanese action the U.S. is now at war with all the axis. We moved the U.S.income up two turns so that it is now 25IPCs. Not sure yet if its supposed to be 25 or 30 IPCs. I was hoping that IL could answer some of these questions.
OK, The turn where you begin with no oil center under your control, causes an oil loss of one D6 each turn. The income you collect from the previous turn is not effected, but future turns it is.
Japan has a 3 turn reserve of oil. ON turn 4 she must attack at least one oil or face an oil loss roll.
Usually UK takes Persia, which has oil, or Saudi Arabia. They do this right before they feel the japanese will attack. Historically UK did attack Persia and was allies with Saudi Arabia.
Remember attacking these for the first time gets the conqueror a oil roll to boost income for that one turn. If the axis take it they too get to roll one time, one roll for each IPC.
Also, the US income if fixed as per the rules. Japan can attack early, but she will lose because she cant get enough done in China without a bigger commitment. China will be very hard to defeat, unless Japan spends 2-3 turns just fighting them.
If you attack early the US income schedule is boosted by two turns, so you played it right.
In Europe, note the following:
By attacking Holland and not France on the first turn, Italy is technically still neutral unless they attacked UK or France as well.
If you take out Holland you should also kill Poland and Norway. The next turn France will fall. if it didn’t the attacks were not done correctly.
France on her turn has the option of extending the Maginot line to the channel for another 8 IPC build. You probably want to do this and cost the Germans more loses.
Also, Spain cant just go axis. see rules below:
Neutrals:
Spain, Sweden, and the Soviet Union until at war all contribute 1 IPC each (3 total) to the German treasury starting on turn 1, as long as they remain neutral. German air units may fly over Sweden, Spain, Chile and Argentina as well as the Minor Axis Allies even while neutral. German land units can move into all the minor axis neutrals and this is the only exception.
The Dutch are pro-allied but start the game neutral until attacked. Allied air units may fly over their territories. Venezuela, Brazil, Saudi Arabia are considered pro-allied. Air units may fly over. Attacks on any neutral immediately make them become allies of the other side. The only way to collect their income is by conquest and occupation. IPC are only awarded to the side that has invaded and defeated them rather than being an ‘ally’. But the exception again is the four German minor allies. Belligerent neutrals cannot leave their home nation nor attack out of it. All they can do is defend home territories, with the exceptions of: Spain, Turkey, Brazil, and Argentina.