@The_Good_Captain The rule applies in all sea battles where there are sea units allied to the attacker present, regardless of the type(s) of defending German sea units. The rule mentions only German subs because the author failed to take into account the possibility that the situation could also exist with German surface units if they were mobilized in a hostile sea zone. This oversight was corrected in the Axis & Allies Pacific Rulebook.
Amphib Assaults
-
Quick question.
When doing an Amphib Assault, do transports ships leave with the attacking ships (off the battleboard) after they’ve dumped off the land units?
Or do the transport ships stick around with the land units (open for defensive counterattacks)?
-
transports have absolutely no value in the combat phase of a land battle. The may not attack, they may not be hit, and they may not be attacked.
The only exception to this is if they are dropping off troops in an occupied seazone in which case they may take hits (killing the troops).