Part Three:
Victory ConditionsObviously a bunch of mechanics tend to fall apart (particularly pertaining to neutrals and influence and such) if any of the NATO powers is completely wiped off of the map…
So that’s basically the win condition for the USSR – to eliminate (at least) one of the NATO powers. 2nd option is just taking the US capitol. 3rd option is for USSR to be controlling at least 3 continents. All 3 victory conditions require that the USSR still controls their own capitol.
NATO VC’s are:
a) controlling 5 continents, including all NATO capitols
b) controlling all 4 capitols
Most of the caveats pertaining to capitols were, obviously, added in with the Reinvention version of this mod. I felt it helps to make them important, the same way that they are in E&W.
Basic assumption for these win conditions (pertaining to continents) would be that NATO controls everything except Asia, and USSR would control Europe, Asia, and one other (likely Africa or Australia.) Neutral contributions would count towards control of continents, so they are not necessarily required to be conquered.
Neutral NotesFun fact: Reinvention only ships with 5 colours of armies, unlike the typical 6 you could expect in earlier versions.
In case it needed to be said, all neutral armies are meant to be represented using the black armies; the black capitol is not used in the E&W scenario.
The territories for neutrals (I would hope) are pretty obvious, too…
As in E&W, if a neutral is attacked and not completely destroyed, their remaining armies are replaced with those of the power they become aligned with (i.e. USSR, if attacked by NATO; if attacked by USSR, OAS joins US, Arab League and Indonesia join WE, China joins UK.)
Liberating CapitolsAs per the normal Reinvention ruleset, you get 1 army for any capitols you control. My sense is that in the E&W mod, a capitol owned by one NATO partner but liberated by another NATO partner should still contribute its 1 army to the original owner… but I’m willing to have my mind changed on that, depending on playtesting/feedback.
Trading in CardsI’ve always liked the rule that you can get 2 additional armies on (at least one) of the territories corresponding to the cards you trade in, if you control that territory. In the Reinvention rules, you can basically turn in as few as 1 and as many as 5 cards at a time; for this reason, I feel like a good compromise is just to say, “you gain 1 free additional army on any territories you control, corresponding to the cards you trade in.”





