@WILD:
Ok I’m trying to see the light here, please indulge (sz are just hypothetical and DD could be any surface war ship)
Scenario: You have a DD at a naval base sz#1 (gets 3 moves) There is a tpt in the sz#2 next to it (no NB gets 2 moves). You move the DD 1 space into sz #2 (paired up DD & tpt). You now move both DD & tpt 1 space into sz #3 that has 1 enemy sub.
Things you can do at this time to avoid the sub sneak attack on your tpt.
A) Keep both DD & tpt in sz#3, you could either keep them floating or offload for amp assault (if coastal).
B) Move both DD & tpt 1 more space to sz #4 (both units would be at their max movement)
C) Attack the sub in sz #3 w/DD (see below)
Things you can’t do:
D) Split up your 2 units by placing DD in sz #4, and tpt in sz #5.
E) Leave your tpt in sz #3, and move your DD to sz #4. (even if you bring in a replacement escort from a different sz at the same time)
F) Leave the DD in sz#3 (to patrol for subs) and move the tpt alone to sz#4 (not 100% on this one). From what I gathered the DD would have to have been there at the beginning of the turn, not moved there.
Things that need answers:
C) Attack the sub w/DD (from above):
a) Does it sub stall your tpt in the combat move if you attack w/DD, and both ships are stuck there regardless of the out come? (I would think this is right, at least its what happened in the past)
b) Does this nullify the sneak attack and allow your tpt(s) to move safely to the next sz alone? If it does work that way you could tie up 4-5 subs w/one DD allowing safe passage (doesn’t sound right)
**Also if you came in with a CR as the escort the sub could submerge in the attack before the battle. If it submerges what happens? Can the tpt continue on safely? (I would think not because all movement stops if there’s a battle attempt). I would think that if a sub submerges in combat it would not get pop shots in non combat, allowing tpts to move through alone safely in non combat, but I’m not sure anymore.
My understanding is that the transport and DD are not tied together, the transport simply depends on it for defense. If you stop the DD for combat at the end of the combat move phase, then the sub gets a free shot at a roll of 2 during the combat move AND then engages your DD at a roll of 1. Your DD either moves with the transport, ignoring the sub, or else the sub takes it shots on the transport while your DD searches for it (and finds it eventually at the end of the combat move phase upon which it’s the combat phase and you start rollin dice).
As far as I can tell, the sub sneak hit on transports is NOT a combat attack, it occurs during the combat MOVE phase, similar to Kamikazes which explains the hit on a 2 instead of a 1.
If the transport EVER moves without that escort it will be fired on in that sub zone.
However…
Item E is incorrect. Per the wording of the new rule you CAN continue to move the DD to seazone 4 or 5 and leave the transport in seazone 3. The destroyer went with the tranny for every move but is free to end in a different seazone after the transport completed its move. But if the sub doesn’t die or other friendly ships show up by other routes, the transports are going to the bottom of the sea on the subs next turn unless otherwise destroyed. This effectively allows you to pass the transport to another convoy.