This rule was actually changed from the way it was in Revised in order to prevent air units from getting an extra movement. In Revised, when a carrier was mobilized fighters were allowed to be moved from the territory containing the IC onto the carrier. Under that rule, a fighter could move from New South Wales and attack Japanese-held Western Australia, then fly back to New South Wales in noncombat movement, then be moved onto a new carrier in sea zone 62 in the Mobilize New Units phase, resulting in five spaces of movement.
Prewar Boat movement?
-
I just want to make sure I got a ship movement rule right.
May the US Destroyer @ Philippines move to SZ 35-45-55-54 on turn 1 when ANZAC ships start in 54?
May this same Destroyer @ Queensland move SZ 54-49-30-26 on turn 2?
Both questions assume war has not been declared by anyone (except Japan vs China).
Does anything change if UK/ANZAC goes to war with Japan but not the US?
The question is really moot because this same Destroyer can move SZ 35-45-46-49 in turn 1 and then make it to Hawaii on turn 2 in two steps. The details are only an illustration so I can verify that ports are inactive for “future allies” (e.g. nations that will later fight on the same team) but ships may occupy the same sea zone before open hostilities begin. Thanks.
-
May the US Destroyer @ Philippines move to SZ 35-45-55-54 on turn 1 when ANZAC ships start in 54?
Yes.
May this same Destroyer @ Queensland move SZ 54-49-30-26 on turn 2?
No.
Does anything change if UK/ANZAC goes to war with Japan but not the US?
No.
The question is really moot because this same Destroyer can move SZ 35-45-46-49 in turn 1 and then make it to Hawaii on turn 2 in two steps. The details are only an illustration so I can verify that ports are inactive for “future allies” (e.g. nations that will later fight on the same team) but ships may occupy the same sea zone before open hostilities begin. Thanks.
All true.