It doesn’t matter if the land unit survives to retreat or not. Just its having moved into the territory establishes the retreat path.
AA-gun question.
- 
					
					
					
					
 I in invade Western Europe with England and bring an AA-gun. Next turn Germany retakes Western Europe. What about the aa-gun. Is he allowed to move the aa-gun back to Germany og southern Europe in the same turn he invaded Western Europe? 
- 
					
					
					
					
 You cannot move an AA gun you captured on the same turn. 
- 
					
					
					
					
 The logic being: The AA Gun was technically involved in a Combat (even if it did not fire at planes during the combat), so it cannot make a Non-combat move. The only pieces that defy this general rule are planes (explicitly excepted in the rulebook) and Panzerblitzing German tanks (German National Advantage - also explicitly excepted.) This might also be explained as a common behaviour of the grey pieces - AA Guns and Complexes - in that if they are captured or liberated, the new owner doesn’t assume functional control of them until the end of the turn during which their capture or liberation occurred. I actually like this justification better than the one above. ~Josh 
- 
					
					
					
					
 The above posters are correct, the AA cannot be moved in the same turn it is captured. Another “rule rationalization” reason for it: 
 No land units are permitted to retreat from a combat zone after the battle is over.




 
		 
		








