A lot of posters seemed stunned at this scenario, never scene it ever happen or even could happen. Now that I mulled it over last night and looked at the rules and so forth it is very obvious to me why no one has ever scene this scenario. Because the scenario makes no logical sense.
Italy DOW on Russia and moves in 2 tanks into Eastern Poland.
Russia is now at war with Italy and can DOW on Germany at the start of their next turn, turn 3.
Germany on Turn 3 does not DOW on Russia and just non combats into Eastern Poland.
Russia at the start of Turn 3 DOW on Germany and off we go.There is no logical reason why Russia would not DOW on Germany at the start of Turn 3, none.
Heck you could argue that it makes no logical sense that Germany did not DOW on Russia at the start of G3 since Italy brought Russia into the war and Russia WILL DOW on Germany on R3.
Hi PainState,
From my perspective, if I was planning on doing a G3 Barbarossa AND I wanted to drive towards the south, then yes, it makes sense to not DOW. My stack will be together except for the minimum required mobile units and maybe 1 AAA in Poland so Russia doesn’t attack Poland to get their NO for occupying an Axis territory. But E. Poland will be real strong because the German air will be there and maybe bombers will also be in range of a raid on the Moscow factory. Also, 5 IPCs is more income than I’d probably get as Germany on the 1st turn.
There are a few disadvantages of course. 1, Russian blockers can’t be attacked. 2, the Scandinavian units are behind. But for me that’s ok, I just use them to lay siege anyways. I never expect to get Moscow on turn 6 anymore. I assume that the UK/Anzac and that lone French fighter are going to get to Moscow.Â
Just some rule clarifications and questions
-
Using Alpha 3 or is there another update?
In strategic bombing raids, do strategic and tactical bombers that intend to bomb factories/bases roll in the escort roll assuming there are fighters to defend. Also, do interceptors have the choice of intercepting or does it happen regardless.
About straights and canals: If for example Italy owns Gibraltar and France owns Morocco. If on the American turn they take over Gibraltar and liberate, can UK use it on their turn or must they have owned it since the beginning of the round?
Apologies in advance if these questions have been asked multiple times already. -
Morning JapanPlayer.
Interception is a defensive player’s option. He does not have to intercept. (Often it is not worthwhile.) Indeed, Both Tacs and Strategic Bombers get to shoot on a roll of one, if defending Fighters intercept.Canals: yes, if the US captures Gibraltar, UK units can sail through the Straits.
To pass through one, control of the Strait is determined at the beginning of the Power’s Turn. -
Using Alpha 3 or is there another update?
Alpha3 is outdated as it was the predecessor of the 2nd Edition ruleset.
Please see
http://www.axisandallies.org/forums/index.php?topic=28703.msg1018689#msg1018689
for the latest rules. -
Thank you for sending me the newest rules and answering my questions.
-
About straights and canals: If for example Italy owns Gibraltar and France owns Morocco. If on the American turn they take over Gibraltar and liberate, can UK use it on their turn or must they have owned it since the beginning of the round?
Apologies in advance if these questions have been asked multiple times already.Just to point out, it isn’t necessary to also have control of Morocco to pass through this straight, only Gibraltar. Also only surface ships are restricted at Gib, subs are free to pass though this straight regardless of who controls it.
-
I see and thank you for that clarification.
Also, can China build artillery their first turn? -
Yes, if the criteria are met.
Japan has probably taken Yunan though, thus denying it. -
Thank you