You’re right that this rule is ambigious in this rule book. But to me the intention of the game makers is very clear. That shows not from this rule book, but from all rule books after this version. For example in the rule book from 1943 2nd, They state specifically that all strategic bombing raids take place first. This resolves any argument about who pays the IPC’s to the bank, the attacker or the defender! Since they solved this in the next rule book, i think it is quite obvious what they intended and tried to correct.
Capital trading
-
Correct.
-
Wow.
I always thought, for example, that Karellia only could supply IPC’s to Russia or an Axis power that controlled it, but I guess I was wrong.
-
thanks switch, i thaught that the allies can take any Russian territory no matter do they have to attack Germany or Japan for it, i should read rulebook more carefully :-)
-
The rules for getting paid for territory that originally belong to a member of your side…
1. Your ally’s capital must have fallen to the enemy
2. Territory must be held by your enemy
3. You take that territory from the enemy.As soon as your allied capital is liberated, any and all of their original territory that you may have taken control of immediately revert back to your ally’s control.
You also get to use any IC’s or AA guns that would be in those non-capital territories if you take them from the enemy as noted above (but again, only so long as your ally’s capital remains controlled by the enemy).
-
So let’s paint this picture…
Russia has fallen and Germany controls Karelia
UK takes Karelia from Germany (and gets paid for it).
UK moves the AA gun from Karelia to Norway (also UK controlled)
Moscow is liberated
Therefore Karelia returns to Russian control-> Who owns the AA gun in Norway???
-
UK.
Reverse scenario…
UK moves their own AA gun to Norway then to Karelia. Moscow gets liberated.
The AA gun goes to Moscow (as would an IC, all “grey” units in the territory)
-
Actually, an AA tactic I use is to let the Germans capture the British AA Gun then liberate it with Russia so I have 3 Russian AA Guns for no cost. :)
I think it safe to assume that if England and America kill off Germany, that S. Europe will be in the hands of one player, and Germany the other. So that’s probably 8 infantry, 8 armor a round going into Europe. (sorry, but I just wouldn’t go straight infantry…infantry is just so easy to put on the ground with transports and tanks have all that extra movement…you know?)
-
as far as i know, when i looked this up at some point to solve a dispute about when an AA gets to be moved, when an AA is “liberated”, it is returned to the control of the original nation. I think its actually written somewhere.
Mateo -
Yea, like someone’s going to remember who originally owned that AA Gun 13 rounds ago. :) That’s why, if that is a rule and I don’t remember it at this point, no one uses that rule.
BTW, I’m not saying you are wrong. I’m just saying I do not, personally, on my own recognizance, remember that being a rule. I always thought the gun went to who ever took it, since that was generally the enemy or the nation who originally owned the gun, it was irrellevant.
-
If AA’s belonged to nations instead of territories, there would be yellow, red, dark gray, sea foam green, and dark green AA guns.
They are not, they are light gray, the same as IC’s, so they go with the territory.
-
Page 25, description of Antiaircraft Gun.
“Usable by Invading Forces: If a territory is captured, any antiaircraft guns there are also captured. They can be used by the capturing player in future combats. Antiaircraft guns are never destroyed, except when a transport carrying one is sunk. If you move an antiaircraft gun into a friendly territory, place one of your control markers under it. If you liberate a territory containg a captured antiaircraft gun, control reverts to the original owner.”
I find to do this - if an AA gun is captured, the owner’s control marker is put on bottom, and another control marker is placed on top. If the AA gun is liberated, then the top control marker is removed.
-
The final sentence was deleted in LHTR.
-
Yeah, it is by territory for LHTR. I just play OOB/FAQ. For reference for those reading the thread
"Liberating a Territory - If you capture a territory that was originally controlled by another member of your side, you “liberate” the territory. You do not take control of it; instead, the original controller regains the territory and its income. Antiaircraft guns or industrial complexes in that territory revert to the original controller of the territory.
If the original controller’s capital is in enemy hands at the end of the turn in which you would otherwise have liberated the terirtory, you capture the territory, collect income from the newly captured territory and can use any industrial complex there until the original controller’s capital is liberated. You also take ownership of any antiaircraft gun in that territory."
cookie liberation front!
-
That does kinda suck though. I like the LHTR better. :) But then, there’s a lot of good fixes in LHTR, probably why they came up with it.
And, btw, I do have color coded AA Guns and Industrial Complexes. (Single Smoke Stack ones no less!) 2 For America, 2 For Russia, 2/3(AA) for Germany, 1 for Japan, 1 For England.