2016 League General Discussion Thread


  • @Me1945:

    @Gamerman01:

    Do not assume that you would have to play 2nd edition in the league playoffs in 2017.  The balanced mod is already quite popular and by the time it is next January, your opponent would probably want to play balanced mod in the playoff.  But I can’t guarantee it, no

    Is 2nd edition still the default rules for the 2016 league play off unless both players agree with bm?

    Nope. BM is now the default for the playoffs.


  • Yes, it has to be that way since this year’s league rules have been set.

    Like every year, we will re-evaluate all league rules at the end of the year for next year


  • i was jus kiddin. hehe


  • badum-tish

  • '21 '20 '19 '18 '17 '16

    I thought it’s not allowed to attack with a fig and not bring a carrier to land it and loose the fig instead. So for instance my tr in sz 62 is being attacked from sz 42 by a fighter and my opponent chooses to not bring a carrier and land it but looses the fighter in the sz

  • '15

    if, in the ncm, it is possible to send a carrier to get the plane, you have to send the carrier.  Triple A will let you just splash the plane, but that’s against the rules.

  • '21 '20 '19 '18 '17 '16

    Anyone else, my opponent says the following “The rule is that a plane can be sent to a sea zone where it theoretically can be recovered”

  • '15

    Tell your opponent to keep reading.  Planes must be retrieved if possible.


  • Page 22 of the Europe rulebook:
    “You must have a carrier move, remain in place, or
    be mobilized (new carriers only) to pick up a fighter
    or tactical bomber that would end its noncombat
    movement in a sea zone. You can’t deliberately move
    an air unit out of range of a potential safe landing
    space.”

  • '15

    Nice!  Beat me to the cite.

  • '21 '20 '19 '18 '17 '16

    Thanks for the help guys!


  • The quote from Page 22 of the European rule book appears to be open to multiple, contradictory interpretations.

    I agree that, clearly, a carrier move to the plane’s SZ, in place in that SZ, or could be mobilized in the at SZ is needed that COULD recover a plane. The rule does not specify that the carrier MUST recover the plane. Moreover, my interpretation of the last sentence (“You can�t deliberately move an air unit out of range of a potential safe landing space”) means you cannot move the plane BEYOND the range of a carrier’s move, where a carrier will not be, or where a carrier cannot be built. A plane can be moved to SZ where there is a POTENTIAL safe landing spot (not a guaranteed safe landing space).

    I suspect the moderators need to rule on this one.

  • '15 '14

    It has been ruled before. Carriers MUST pick up the planes. I understand the point of the rulebook being ambiguous.

    You must have a carrier move, remain in place, or
    be mobilized (new carriers only) to pick up a fighter
    or tactical bomber that would end its noncombat
    movement in a sea zone

    Having a move could refer to the potential to pick up the plane and not being forced to do so, however the entire league plays for ages with the “must rule”


  • @ArtofWar1947:

    The rule does not specify that the carrier MUST recover the plane.

    “You must have a carrier move…”

  • '15 '14

    Ah, I found it. The solution is presented on page 31 when describing Aircraft carries.

    In fact, a
    carrier must move if it�s able, or remain in place, in order
    to provide a landing space for an air unit that would not
    otherwise have one.

    So this makes it crystal clear that the carrier MUST pick up planes if it can.

  • '22 '16

    What are the rules with placing units?  If you are able too dont you have to place all the units you purchased on a turn?  I know you can get refunded if you are limited by factory capacity but if you have the capacity dont they have to be placed?  Thanks.

  • '19 '17 '16

    @majikforce:

    What are the rules with placing units?  If you are able too dont you have to place all the units you purchased on a turn?  I know you can get refunded if you are limited by factory capacity but if you have the capacity dont they have to be placed?  Thanks.

    Been mentioned before that this rule is only for inadvertent over purchasing. You can’t deliberately over purchase then place/return based on how your attacks go.

    So the inference is that yes you have to place if you can. Indeed, if Triple-A didn’t have the limitations with US facilities being upgraded it could block over purchasing completely.


  • Right

  • '15

    downloaded a new java update and now none of my TripleA versions will launch, anyone know how to fix this?  Already tried re-downloading the latest version and re-installing, didn’t help.

  • '15

    still can’t get the java thing to work but I used the windows launch instead, opened a weird dialog box under the game but worked fine.

Suggested Topics

  • 31
  • 61
  • 32
  • 26
  • 97
  • 130
  • 155
  • 186
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures

110

Online

17.8k

Users

40.4k

Topics

1.8m

Posts