A few questions to ask. a&a europe 1940


  • @SgtPepper:

    Oh and, well, is there any difference between pro-axis and pro-allied?

    To expand a bit on Private Panic’s answer: An Axis power entering a pro-Axis territory can take control of that territory’s standing army; likewise, an Allied power entering a pro-Allied territory can take control of that territory’s standing army.  Basically, it’s a way of getting some free infantry units.  The standing armies are represented by the infantryman silhouettes on the map; the number next to each silhouette indicates the size of the standing army.  If an Axis power enters a pro-Allied territory, or if an Allied power enters a pro-Axis territory, that territory’s standing army acts as an enemy force that has to be fought, not as a friendly force that can be taken over and controlled.  All of this basically represents the fact that, in the period between the Global game’s start date (June 1940) and the Anglo-Soviet invasion of Iran (August 1941), a number of countries were drawn into the war, or jumped (or were pushed) into one particular camp.


  • Thank you both. It’s getting clearer and clearer. :)

  • '17 '16 '15

    @SgtPepper:

    Thanks for the answer!
    Agree, rules are rules :)

    I think the reason for that was when the rules first came out you could only scramble from a AB on a island. I may be wrong on that but it’s the way I remember it.

    I haven’t heard of anybody houseruling so you can scramble to adjacent land TTs but wouldn’t be surprised if people have. I think they would be too overpowered. A AB in E Poland would be pretty badass.


  • I’ve just thought of German air forces moving to Iraq. Will they then get Iraq army or it is essential to move infantry?


  • @SgtPepper:

    I’ve just thought of German air forces moving to Iraq. Will they then get Iraq army or it is essential to move infantry?

    No - only land forces (infantry or other) can occupy a territory. Nice try though! :-D


  • I will add that it can’t be an AA. Has to be one of the three ground  units with an attack value.


  • I’m terribly sorry, but questions still appearing in my mind.
    Can mechanized infantry move 2 without tanks(no blitz)? Cuz it is said their move is 2, however, what sense of combining tanks with mech then�
    Can tanks move to transport and then land during the same turn?
    I mean I created tanks in London, then moved them to the ships and during the same move tried to invade Normandy.


  • Is not a problem Sgt Pepper. Ask as many as you need to.

    Mech can move two, providing the first territory is friendly.
    If the first territory is Hostile, then it would not be able to move to a second space, unless it was paired with a Tank through both territories.
    One Mech can be paired up in this way with one Tank (2 Tanks  2 Mech,  3 and 3 etc).

    If the Transport  is owned by your power, it  can indeed pick up a Tank and drop it off in the same turn, as long as the Tank has not moved before getting on the TT. It also cannot move any further on land when it unloads.
    It sounds like your example is correct.


  • No problem with the questions SgtPepper. You are making me feel like an expert! :wink:

    MI can move two, but they cannot blitz unless accompanied by a tank. That means they can move through a friendly territory before ending their turn in a friendly or hostile territory. But they cannot move through an empty hostile territory to another hostile enemy territory unless accompanied by a blitzing tank.

    Tanks and MI (and other land units) need to be in the coastal territory at the start of the turn in order to transport. They cannot move territories and transport in the same turn.

    All land units can load from a coastal territory, move one or two SZ on a transport and land in a coastal territory in the same move, provided that no multinational forces are involved.

    Your London to Normandy tanks would appear to be an example of the latter, in which case that is fine.


  • You just beat me to it witt! Fortunately we said the same thing! :-D


  • Great! Thx. :)
    During my first game I was controlling all allied forces and was forgetting from time to time about move order. Used to move allied forces at the same “move” . However, it was much easier to attempt coastal attack with joint forces. :)


  • Well, do we count in Berlin,Warsaw and Rome in 7 victory cities that axis must control in order to win?


  • Also if I attack a territory with an infantry and a defender has a tank, an interceptor and a bomber, will aircraft participate in defending?
    2. If i use bombers, will enemy bomber participate in defending?
    3. May defender surrender, or just his aircraft? Or there is no any chance?


  • @SgtPepper:

    Well, do we count in Berlin,Warsaw and Rome in 7 victory cities that axis must control in order to win?

    Every Victory City on the board counts, even ones you begin with.
    You need to hold the required number for a full turn from when you captured the last one. If Germany held 7 by the end of  G7, for example, then you need to hold the same number until the beginning of G8. If the Allies capture one or more in the meantime, then Victory is invalid.


  • @SgtPepper:

    Also if I attack a territory with an infantry and a defender has a tank, an interceptor and a bomber, will aircraft participate in defending?
    2. If i use bombers, will enemy bomber participate in defending?
    3. May defender surrender, or just his aircraft? Or there is no any chance?

    1. All units defend.
    2. Do you mean in a Strategic Bombing Raid (SBR)? If so, no.
    If you mean in a regular Attack, then yes. Defending  Bombers only hit on a roll of one.
    3. No units surrender. Defending units are all  eliminated or the attacker fails and loses his units or decides to retreat, if permissible. (Amphibious attacking units cannot retreat, but have to fight to the death.)
    Please ask again, if unclear. Why did you ask about surrender? What did you mean?


  • I’ll add a little to wittman’s response above if I may.

    As he says all units defend, so if a tank, fighter (you call it an interceptor?) and bomber are in a territory that is attacked by land and/or air then all the units in that territory participate in the resulting combat. This is regardless of whether you are attacking with land forces only, air forces only, or a combined land and air force.

    Fighters can be used as interceptors in the case of a Strategic Bombing Raid (SBR). An SBR is an attack on a factory, air base or naval base, not on the territory nor units within it. However the defender can decide to launch his fighters to intercept the attacking air force in the event of an SBR, in which case these defending intercepting fighters (and only these) take part in combat.

    Turning to the surrender question. Again merely to add to wittman’s reply. The concept of defenders surrendering does not exist in the game. The defenders’ only option is to keep fighting for as long as they are being attacked - i.e. until they are wiped out, until the attackers are wiped out, or the attacker retreats. Attackers may retreat at the end of any attack and defence full combat roll.


  • Thanks again! Everything is clear.
    Well, retreat is better word than surrender and a fighter is better than an interceptor.
    A&A forum improves eng skills.  :-D


  • My friend was really angry today then he realized that ships may not bombard shore without amphibious assault.
    Is it right?


  • Yes - you are right. One ship may bombard for each sea-borne land unit, provided there is no naval battle in the sz.


  • May fighters attack all kind of units? May bombers bomb fighters? (I mean attack territory only with fighters on it and may they cause damage during routine battle?)Do air units attack only once in battle or every…part of a battle?

Suggested Topics

  • 2
  • 6
  • 6
  • 2
  • 3
  • 17
  • 4
  • 6
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures

38

Online

17.7k

Users

40.4k

Topics

1.8m

Posts