Canal Question.
From LHTR 2.0 (page 6):
Canals
There are two canals on the game board, artificial waterways that connect two larger bodies of
water. The Panama Canal connects the Pacific Ocean (sea zone 20) to the Atlantic Ocean (sea
zone 19), while the Suez Canal connects the Mediterranean Sea (sea zone 15) to the Indian Ocean
(sea zone 34). A canal is not considered a space, so it doesn’t block land movement: Land units
can move freely between Trans-Jordan and Anglo-Egypt. Panama is one territory: no land
movement points are required to cross the canal within Panama.
If you want to move sea units through a canal, your side (but not necessarily your power) must
control it at the start of your turn (that is, you can’t use it the turn you capture it). The side that
controls Panama controls the Panama Canal. The side that controls both Anglo-Egypt and Trans-
Jordan controls the Suez Canal. If one side controls Anglo-Egypt and the other controls Trans-
Jordan, the Suez is closed to sea units.
What about air units? Tey are not directly addressed in the rule.
If a fighter is in sea zone 15 (Mediterranean) and wants to go in sea zone 34 (Indian Ocean) is it allowed to use the canal passing directly from sea zone 15 to sea zone 34? (As if it was a sea unit)
This move makes sense to me considering that the “canal is not considered a space, so it doesn’t block land movement”. So the aircraft should go through the canal? Is this correct? Or the fighter have to pass through Egypt or Trans-Jordan?
I have always moved the aircrafts in this way… but I am having the doubt if this is really correct!