OK, USA flies 2 FIG, 1 BOM over Germany as part of a land/sea/air operation against Berlin. They have Superfortresses.
As per game rules, the first step is “conduct opening fire”, in this case that will include AA fire against the incoming US aircraft.
Versus the 2 FIGs 2 dice are rolled. Any 1’s rolled mean a FIG shot down
Versus the Superfortress 2 dice are rolled. If the total of those two dice is 3 or less, the superfortress is shot down.
Combat proceeds as normal.
Again in Revised, it is NOT the choice of the attacker what type of aircraft are lost to AA fire. The FIGs and BOMs are targetted SEPERATELY. So any hits that are rolled against the FIGs are taken by the FIGs, and any hits rollled against the BOMs are taken by the BOMs and cannot be taken on FIGs