2015 League General Discussion Thread


  • I didn’t mean an old response to the FAQ thread.  I responded to your question today in the FAQ thread, and I was directing you to go see that.

  • '22 '20 '19 '18 '17 '16 '15 '14 '12

    @Gamerman01:

    I didn’t mean an old response to the FAQ thread.  I responded to your question today in the FAQ thread, and I was directing you to go see that.

    AH, good.  THanks!


  • Can someone clarify the league rule for bidding placement for me?  The rules clearly state that bids can only be placed in a territory or SZ that already has a unit from that power.  However, I see several league games that start with an ANZAC infantry in New Guinea.  What gives?


  • It is not a league rule, it is a default.

    That way, if players don’t agree, there is a standard.  Also, players don’t have to specify the guidelines they want to play by every time, because there is a default.

    Upon mutual agreement, players can play pretty much however they want - whatever house rules they want, for example.


  • @Gamerman01:

    It is not a league rule, it is a default.

    That way, if players don’t agree, there is a standard.  Also, players don’t have to specify the guidelines they want to play by every time, because there is a default.

    Upon mutual agreement, players can play pretty much however they want - whatever house rules they want, for example.

    So if I want a game where each nation doesn’t have its own capital, but starts elsewhere. That is possible? :P


  • Yes.  Is that the craziest thing you could come up with ?  :-)

  • '22 '20 '19 '18 '17 '16 '15 '14 '12

    Is it not the rule/custom that if there is an “over roll” that you subtract from the dice results from the right?

    Thanks


  • That is the method many players use, but there is no rule or official statement.  It should be established with your opponent.

    Do you need a moderator?

  • '22 '20 '19 '18 '17 '16 '15 '14 '12

    @Gamerman01:

    That is the method many players use, but there is no rule or official statement.  It should be established with your opponent.

    Do you need a moderator?

    no, we worked it out under that rule.  I just wanted to be sure I had it right.

    Haven’t had to deal with an “over-roll” since the bad old battle map days.  Can’t say I miss that old program. Can you imagine going back to moving all those little tiles!? :-P


  • Yeah - but it did have it’s advantages.  You could place the things exactly where you wanted them.  Zone 89 still bugs me - how Triple A tucks the units away where they’re easy to miss…

  • '19 '18 '17 '16 '15

    Question on rules gentlemen, may be easy for most of you, but it has been the first time that happened to me.

    I attacked Russia in Italia 2, and placed german land troops together with them in G2 + german ships on SZ125 with Germany NOT declaring war to Russia.

    Russia attacked the land territories and eliminated just the italians, now I have russian troops on the same land territory that Germany, but the land is owned by Russia. And Russia met the 5 extra IPC for Archangel.

    Was Triple A acting correctly?

    Thank you

    Juan


  • It’s a TripleA bug. You aren’t allowed to do a land attack on a territory containing friendly units, so the Russian move is illegal.


  • You can’t invade a land territory without being at war with the territory owner and each owner of units there.  You can do that at sea, but not land.

    So in your situation, Russia cannot attack a territory with German units in it without declaring war on Germany.  You can’t “eliminate just the Italians”, and you can never have Russian troops in the same territory as Germans after the combat phase  :lol:

  • '19 '18 '17 '16 '15

    Thank you both, I expected that answer but it is always good checking with you. I also think that Russia should not have met the extra 5 IPC.


  • @Gamerman01:

    You can’t invade a land territory without being at war with the territory owner and each owner of units there.  You can do that at sea, but not land.

    So in your situation, Russia cannot attack a territory with German units in it without declaring war on Germany.  You can’t “eliminate just the Italians”, and you can never have Russian troops in the same territory as Germans after the combat phase  :lol:

    I agree with Gamerman01 and bmnielsen, however, the diplomacy is not exactly logical.

    If London is occupied by Germany Russia is allowed to declare war on Germany.

    But if a territory originally owned by Russia is controlled by Italy, and Germany - while still at peace with Russia - sends units into that territory Russia is not allowed to act upon it? Pfff…

    Either Germany should be forced to declare war on Russia before sending units into that Italian controlled territory or Russia should be allowed to declare war on Germany(if the German units still remain in that territory at the beginning of Russia´s turn).


  • Dude, Russia can declare war on Germany no matter what Germany does, once Italy is at war with Russia.  Russia can also declare on Italy if Russia is at war with Germany.

    As far as a +5, Russia gets +5 if at war with either Euro-Axis, there is no German (or Italian) sub in 125, no Allies in Russia originals, and Russia controls Arch.


  • lol… alright  :roll:


  • I just recall playing a game recently with no option to DOW with Russia

  • '17 '16 '15

    @Gamerman01:

    and you can never have Russian troops in the same territory as Germans after the combat phase  :lol:

    They probably wouldn’t get along very well anyways :)

  • '22 '20 '19 '18 '17 '16 '15 '14 '12

    OK… will someone please tell me how to read the marti results?

    I know that having played over 200 games, you’d think I’d know how.  But as far as I can tell there is no continuity between the results and the order of the units the marti email designates.

    to wit:

    XPAD2 Game 21 Dicer’s Creed vs Team Garl:Germans roll dice for 6 bombers, 2 fighters and 2 tactical_bombers in 91 Sea Zone, round 2

    Your dice are: 4,5,5,5,5,3,1,5,4,1
    Have a nice day.

    You attribute the order of units to the dice going right from left, it would seem to say the roller got 5 hits.

    You do it from the left, it would say you got 5 hits.

    But in reality the roller only got 4.

    :oops: :-P

Suggested Topics

  • 23
  • 266
  • 92
  • 124
  • 279
  • 57
  • 209
  • 4.1k
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures

58

Online

17.8k

Users

40.4k

Topics

1.8m

Posts