2015 League General Discussion Thread


  • I don’t think so…. isolated incident - I appreciate the suggestion - considered it, but felt it presents other problems

  • '22 '20 '19 '18 '17 '16 '15 '14 '12

    Ok, just so I am clear, for an Axis win, they need to hold 8/6 VCs for an entire round from when the condition is achieved.  So G10 to G11, or It10 to It11 and if the allies manage to capture one VC in the interm and then even lose it back to the Axis, the victory condition is reset.

    And tripple A has this wrong.

    Thanks


  • @Karl7:

    Ok, just so I am clear, for an Axis win, they need to hold 8/6 VCs for an entire round from when the condition is achieved.  So G10 to G11, or It10 to It11 and if the allies manage to capture one VC in the interm and then even lose it back to the Axis, the victory condition is reset.

    And tripple A has this wrong.

    Thanks

    I am not sure, but I think it depends on when the axis take the vc back. For example. If and when the axis grab the 6th vc on J10 and the axis loses a vc on I10 and grab a 6th vc back during the G11 turn, then its still a win for the axis. However if it is Japan that needs to grab the vc back, then you are right. Basically the vc win condition checks if you have the required amount of vc to win the game and checks if you still have it when it is your next turn with that country. Might be wrong, but I think this is the way it is.


  • Please see my answer in the FAQ thread

    When the Axis have met victory conditions, to win, they must maintain that number of cities or more in that theater AT ALL TIMES for a complete round of play

  • '22 '20 '19 '18 '17 '16 '15 '14 '12

    @Gamerman01:

    Please see my answer in the FAQ thread

    When the Axis have met victory conditions, to win, they must maintain that number of cities or more in that theater AT ALL TIMES for a complete round of play

    ts

    can you post a link to you response?

    the ambiguity is if is the allies snatch a VC back if only for a turn during a round. Example: Ger gets 8 on its turn, USA takes 1 back, Italy gets it back – my understanding (now) is that this resets the Victory condition.  So The Axis would have to hold the 8 VCs until Italy’s next turn.

    That is correct, right?

    The rule book actually I think is too clear on that and could use an example to illustrate that.

  • '22 '20 '19 '18 '17 '16 '15 '14 '12

    @Gamerman01:

    Please see my answer in the FAQ thread

    When the Axis have met victory conditions, to win, they must maintain that number of cities or more in that theater AT ALL TIMES for a complete round of play

    Right but a complete round of play from what?  The beginning of the round, or the turn in the round that the 8 or 6 were taken?

  • '22 '20 '19 '18 '17 '16 '15 '14 '12

    @Karl7:

    @Gamerman01:

    Please see my answer in the FAQ thread

    When the Axis have met victory conditions, to win, they must maintain that number of cities or more in that theater AT ALL TIMES for a complete round of play

    Right but a complete round of play from what?  The beginning of the round, or the turn in the round that the 8 or 6 were taken?

    This very frustrating:

    So, the rule is this:

    The axis must hold 8 or 6, VCs depending on the theater, from the time an Axis power takes the final requisite VC and first meets the condition until that power moves again for the Axis to win without losing any of the necessary VCs between that time.

    Right?


  • Yes

    @Karl7:

    @Karl7:

    @Gamerman01:

    Please see my answer in the FAQ thread

    When the Axis have met victory conditions, to win, they must maintain that number of cities or more in that theater AT ALL TIMES for a complete round of play

    Right but a complete round of play from what?  The beginning of the round, or the turn in the round that the 8 or 6 were taken?

    This very frustrating:

    So, the rule is this:

    The axis must hold 8 or 6, VCs depending on the theater, from the time an Axis power takes the final requisite VC and first meets the condition until that power moves again for the Axis to win without losing any of the necessary VCs between that time.

    Right?


  • I didn’t mean an old response to the FAQ thread.  I responded to your question today in the FAQ thread, and I was directing you to go see that.

  • '22 '20 '19 '18 '17 '16 '15 '14 '12

    @Gamerman01:

    I didn’t mean an old response to the FAQ thread.  I responded to your question today in the FAQ thread, and I was directing you to go see that.

    AH, good.  THanks!


  • Can someone clarify the league rule for bidding placement for me?  The rules clearly state that bids can only be placed in a territory or SZ that already has a unit from that power.  However, I see several league games that start with an ANZAC infantry in New Guinea.  What gives?


  • It is not a league rule, it is a default.

    That way, if players don’t agree, there is a standard.  Also, players don’t have to specify the guidelines they want to play by every time, because there is a default.

    Upon mutual agreement, players can play pretty much however they want - whatever house rules they want, for example.


  • @Gamerman01:

    It is not a league rule, it is a default.

    That way, if players don’t agree, there is a standard.  Also, players don’t have to specify the guidelines they want to play by every time, because there is a default.

    Upon mutual agreement, players can play pretty much however they want - whatever house rules they want, for example.

    So if I want a game where each nation doesn’t have its own capital, but starts elsewhere. That is possible? :P


  • Yes.  Is that the craziest thing you could come up with ?  :-)

  • '22 '20 '19 '18 '17 '16 '15 '14 '12

    Is it not the rule/custom that if there is an “over roll” that you subtract from the dice results from the right?

    Thanks


  • That is the method many players use, but there is no rule or official statement.  It should be established with your opponent.

    Do you need a moderator?

  • '22 '20 '19 '18 '17 '16 '15 '14 '12

    @Gamerman01:

    That is the method many players use, but there is no rule or official statement.  It should be established with your opponent.

    Do you need a moderator?

    no, we worked it out under that rule.  I just wanted to be sure I had it right.

    Haven’t had to deal with an “over-roll” since the bad old battle map days.  Can’t say I miss that old program. Can you imagine going back to moving all those little tiles!? :-P


  • Yeah - but it did have it’s advantages.  You could place the things exactly where you wanted them.  Zone 89 still bugs me - how Triple A tucks the units away where they’re easy to miss…

  • '19 '18 '17 '16 '15

    Question on rules gentlemen, may be easy for most of you, but it has been the first time that happened to me.

    I attacked Russia in Italia 2, and placed german land troops together with them in G2 + german ships on SZ125 with Germany NOT declaring war to Russia.

    Russia attacked the land territories and eliminated just the italians, now I have russian troops on the same land territory that Germany, but the land is owned by Russia. And Russia met the 5 extra IPC for Archangel.

    Was Triple A acting correctly?

    Thank you

    Juan


  • It’s a TripleA bug. You aren’t allowed to do a land attack on a territory containing friendly units, so the Russian move is illegal.

Suggested Topics

  • 23
  • 266
  • 93
  • 92
  • 279
  • 57
  • 452
  • 209
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures

61

Online

17.8k

Users

40.4k

Topics

1.8m

Posts