Why not ask if you need a transport to cross the Tasman sea. Heck, people can swim the English Channel so therefore no transport should be required, right?
Fair dinkum. This has got to be one of the weirdest A&A questions I’ve heard.
I recall that as well Bold, BUT, you could just do the same trick again, and max out your mobilization to prevent you from placing a unit that is sure to be destroyed.
Also, it’s unreasonable to build units as Russia in advance, and then place them the next turn after you lose your capital. I think Krieghund’s ruling should be followed, it just turns into Liquid cash.
The rulebook already clearly says you turn them in for cash. Page 22
wheat says page 23 - now which one of you is right or is there more than 1 rule book, or is it stated more than once in the rulebook?
It’s on page 22 in the 1st edition and page 23 in the 2nd edition.
Man, if you would give me a second….
I edited it before I saw your post. I have a hard copy of 1st edition rulebook because I bought the 1st edition game. The 2nd edition rulebook has almost the same numbering, but at some point gets off a little.
Ya’ll are gonna have to wait for Krieghund. I don’t see that intentional over-purchase is disallowed.
Re-reading Krieghund’s reponse, he says “if for some reason you have purchased more units”
STILL room for interpretation! Can you over-buy intentionally, or NOT?!
I’m guessing intentional over-buy is not allowed, and that if you were playing face to face, you could stop your opponent during the purchase phase, but what do I know? No rule against intentionally over-buying, and Krieghund hasn’t yet said there is.
very important issue to clear up - should we assume krieg is reading this thread or post to the official FAQ thread?
He’ll see it because he posted to it, I’m sure
tripleA does not allow you to build more units than you have production capacity i believe so that’s helpful.
How about you test it, and go from “believe” to “know”? :-)
Yes, if it is illegal to deliberately over-buy, that will be helpful in automatically controlling that.
well, it would not automatically control the issue, but it would put at least a potential roadblock up which would deter most players… :-P
How would it not automatically control it? Edit mode doesn’t count
yeah a player could do an entire move and then say, tripleA wouldn’t allow my legal move so i just edited through it. LOL
Sure, that’s not what I meant. It controls someone sneaking in this move.
Ya’ll are gonna have to wait for Krieghund. I don’t see that intentional over-purchase is disallowed.
Re-reading Krieghund’s reponse, he says “if for some reason you have purchased more units”
STILL room for interpretation! Can you over-buy intentionally, or NOT?!
I’m guessing intentional over-buy is not allowed, and that if you were playing face to face, you could stop your opponent during the purchase phase, but what do I know? No rule against intentionally over-buying, and Krieghund hasn’t yet said there is.
Need Krieghund to see this
tripleA does not allow you to build more units than you have production capacity i believe so that’s helpful.
Not true. TripleA only gives you a prompt saying you have more units than you can place. You can just click through if you want. This came up in a game of mine recently where Japan never actually declared war on the USA, and since the factories don’t become majors until after the buy, it told me I couldn’t place. I just said, w/e and clicked through, placed all my units just fine.
I just confirmed it with Japan as well. YOu can totally buy however many units you like in TripleA - it just warns you, and then saves them for later rounds when you don’t place.
there ya go. so it’s a minor roadblock at best.
There’s no rule that says you can’t intentionally over-purchase.
so there we have it. thanks krieg.
Two related questions:
1. If you over-purchase, can you choose not a mobilize carrier if one of your planes can’t land without it?
2. If you over-purchase, can you choose not to mobilize a carrier whose purchase was originally required to launch an attack (by creating a hypothetical landing zone)?
For the record, I will not be over-purchasing in my games, I just wish to know what my opponents can get away with.
More simply put, is there ever any exception to the part of the rules that reads “your choice of units” (page 23 rev.2 rulebook)?