I have stated on these threads that I am not a big fan of House rules, but one dawned on me as I played a 1944 battle Americans versus Germans and I used 4 U-S Paratroopers.
As we know, the U-S or Japanese player can place these paratroopers in any hex he wants (except pond hexes) at the end of his movement phase as long as the unit doesn’t “land” adjacent to an enemy. This is one reason why the unit is 9 points– this is a great advantage.
To add a little unpredictability to what was by no means an easy task in the 1940s…
At the end of your movement phase, you may place Paratroopers.
For each paratrooper unit, roll one die.
Result of 1 to 5: You may place the paratrooper as outlined in the unit’s special ability as printed on the stat card.
Result of 6. Miss Drop!
The opposing player places the paratrooper wherever he wants! (except in a pond hex, unless you want to really get crazy and drown the unit, as many paratroopers did in flooded marshes and the Channel during Normandy).
So, to get back on topic, if you roll a six when deploying a paratrooper unit, the enemy player decides in which hex it lands. This can be ANY hex, including one adjacent to an enemy unit. We all remember St. Mere Eglise. (Adjacent means same or bordering hex).
Once the “miss drop” paratrooper lands, any enemy units may make defensive fire that ignores cover to disrupt the unit, and this face-up disrupted marker doesn’t come off until the start of the next casualty phase.
The miss-drop paratrooper unfortunately falls in on several squads of enemy infantry, who open fire and disrupt him, immediately reducing his effectiveness in the following assault phase. Of course, all rules for defensive fire apply (one defensive fire attack per phase per unit, no defensive fire by disrupted units, and units with special three 6’s attack can kill the miss-drop paratrooper immediately (ie. Marines M2-2 flamethrower).
If you really want to get nuts, the opposing player can choose to drop the miss-drop paratrooper in a pond and drown him, or you can “land” the miss-drop paratrooper in a forest hex and disrupt him. The latter would only apply if you have created a rule re: paratroopers not being able to land in a forest hexes. Since when can paratroopers land in a forest???
Any thoughts?
This all may be misguided given the unit is worth a whopping 9 points, and you should get your bang for your buck.
But it seems ridiculous that you can land a paratrooper exactly where you want him.