@Jacob16 No scramble
2014 G40 league rules
-
If the USSR while at peace with Japan moves into Korea when occupied by the USA who is at war with Japan, what happens if Japan attacks Korea?
-
I believe the USSR can’t move units into Pacific map territories outside of original Soviet territory without being at war with Japan (even if tripleA allows it, that’s not how the rules work).
-
Just noticed my answer was slower than the FAQ, sorry for being redundant :lol:
-
And as I added in the FAQ, in case this is what you were wondering, if the USSR DID declare war on Japan and moved into USA controlled Korea, if Japan attacks Korea, nothing happens, because the rule says only if Japan attacks soviet-controlled territories that border Mongolia. Korea does not border Mongolia. Korea is only part of the Mongolia rules for when the USSR attacks Korea, it always nullifies the pact - the Mongolians will never instant join USSR in the future if USSR attacks Korea.
-
As a general rule, I always remember this:
The first nation of these two (Japan and UdSSR) that attacks a territory bordering Mongolia and belonging to the other power triggers the Mongolia rule. Additionally, Russia triggers it, by attacking Korea.
-
There is an error then with Tripple A. It allowed me to move USSR into US occupied Korea without formal DOW.
-
There is an error then with Tripple A. It allowed me to move USSR into US occupied Korea without formal DOW.
another one for the list!
-
I need a ruling then.
In my game against Whackamatt I moved the USSR 18inf, 2art into Korea controlled by US and occupied by 4inf, 1art of US and 1 ANZAC ftr for purpose of fortifying them.
Whackamatt deftly then attack after the USSR move killing the US troops but not attacking and in fact leaving in the new Japanese controlled Korean territory the USSR troops.
It’s pretty crazy: http://www.axisandallies.org/forums/index.php?topic=32316.45
So, I think its obvious the the US moved into Korea for the purpose of being fortified by the USSR. Also it is obvious that the USSR moved into Korea expecting that combat may ensue, thus war with Japan.
Now, I moved the USSR troops on their NCM, not realizing or checking on the peace status. If the move had been blocked by the need for DOW I would have edited it and notified Whack. The move by the USSR into Korea and a state of war with Japan had no bearing on the Eastern Front.
So, can I require Whack to redo the Japan Korea attack (or non-attack) with a DOW between Japan and the USSR? Or should some other move be made?
Right now as you can see the game “as is” is illegal with Soviet and Japanese troops both occupying Japan.
-
Never mind on ruling. Whack and I worked it out.
But that definitely is a bug that needs to be fixed!
-
I’m no mod and don’t have anything to decide, but I really and sincerely hope, that Whack will redo the Attack. In my opinion, UdSSR and Japan should just be at war from the beginning, no matter what, in the current version of the game.
At the moment there is absolutely no effect whatsoever whether you DOW or not, so it can and should be just set to war from the beginning. -
People,
YOU MUST BE AT WAR WITH ALL POWERS who are present in a land territory to attack it!
TripleA screws this up royally. You can not ever attack some but not all units in a territory. It is only in SEA ZONES that you can ignore units of powers with which you are not at warAnd Karl, there is a huge list of errors in Triple A and none of them are getting fixed. You need to familiarize yourself with this list:
https://docs.google.com/document/d/1cS3hFwoBP0rWr3208jw1LAtCvHYa9Ji9uU8PwbCMIwM/editItem #12 is applicable to your situation
-
If I am using the common LL system of 1 LL each etc, and if me and my opponent both use our LL’s with my opponent using his last in sequence, do I have to use my second LL in order to trigger my opponent getting his? I.E. can I block the second set of LL’s by not using my second one?
-
If I am using the common LL system of 1 LL each etc, and if me and my opponent both use our LL’s with my opponent using his last in sequence, do I have to use my second LL in order to trigger my opponent getting his? I.E. can I block the second set of LL’s by not using my second one?
there is no common lowluck system of 1 lowluck roll each in the league. if you and your opponent have made a special agreement, then play by the terms of that agreement.
-
Yep
-
Never mind on ruling. Whack and I worked it out.
But that definitely is a bug that needs to be fixed!
Rules from the PDFs, linked in the league rules, trump rules permitted by any gaming platform such as Battlemap, TripleA, MapView (if it even exists anymore) etc. This is not meant to be harsh or mean, but rules are rules.
If a situation like the one Karl7 mentioned about Korea (US and USSR being attacked by Japan, etc.) you need to notify the league moderators as soon as possible so we can record the instance and have it for future reference, then attempt to work out an agreement between each other. Unfortunately, situations like that, as mentioned, could have been in the works for multiple moves and turns, so if you cannot reach an agreement, then the league moderators will have to make a ruling.
League moderators will ask both players to describe their strategy up to that point (including a general synopsis of moves leading up to that point and the purpose of said moves) so we can attempt to figure out a solution that will be fair. If we feel that one player is attempting to use the situation unfairly, we may conclude that one player has forfeited the game - so attempt to be as fair minded as possible in your synopsis and refrain from name calling and other such statements.
Unfortunately, league moderators may or may not rule that turns may have to be redone to resolve the issue. Please note, we would only make such a ruling if we see no other alternative. We really do want to have as minimal an impact as possible in games we make rulings on (hence why we would like you to report violations of the rules by your gaming platforms as soon as you find them. That way we can have a list available in an effort to prevent future issues!)
-
I’d like to propose a general amnesty for the 72 hour rule for week of Christmas and perhaps the new year. This saves people from having to book off game time over what is a pretty busy holiday time.
I’m not saying no turns be played, just that anyone going over the 72 hour turn limit would be immune to a formal bump; a clock suspension for the 2 weeks of the holidays.
-
@PGMatt:
I’d like to propose a general amnesty for the 72 hour rule for week of Christmas and perhaps the new year. This saves people from having to book off game time over what is a pretty busy holiday time.
I’m not saying no turns be played, just that anyone going over the 72 hour turn limit would be immune to a formal bump; a clock suspension for the 2 weeks of the holidays.
this should go without saying really. it’s Christmas people! :wink: :-)
-
Hi,
In my game with JuanSpain, we have a discussion about the rules, and we have agreed that we will accept your decision.
Before starting the game, we agreed don’t use the edit mode to correct strategic human mistakes of non-combat movements. We only use edit mode in very exceptional cases, if the machine does not allow something obviously legal.He is Germany and moved his turn completely and posted turn summary in the forum. In this turn, he didn’t make combat moves, only non-combat movement and placed units that he bought. Then he realized that there were english subs in Canada, that he haven’t seen before, and he want to repeat their turn to change his non-combat movement. He say that it doesn’t affect the game and it’s allowed by the rules.
I’m not agreed with him. I think we have very much time to think our movements and see whole map, but once you’ve made a decision and moved, and posted turn summary in forum, if you made a mistake you should take it. I think that human errors are also part of the game. This german non-combat movement affect the war and english movements.
Please, we need to know your decision as moderators of the game about if he can repeat his turn. We will accept your decision. Thanks.
-
OK Senor_Ralpa, I have read your post and can help you guys out with this disagreement.
You can just send a private message to a moderator (Cmdr Jennifer or me) in the future - otherwise you risk the “peanut gallery” chiming in with all their opinions :-)The first thing I’m going to do is look at your game thread to see if there is evidence of this pre-game agreement between you two. If it was done by private messages, you guys should forward those to me so I can read them.
The first thing I need to determine is whether JuanSpain actually agreed to not using edit mode (or going back and changing) for oversights/human error. :-) -
Alright, there is no pregame agreement written in the game thread, so I guess you two agreed by private message or some other means (telephone??).
Can you provide evidence of this agreement?
I only know basic Spanish, so you may need to translate for me.